We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking water color” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalk Sound

Chalk Sound
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful lagoon made up of brilliant blues and rocky cliffs.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking water color”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We rented a home on Chalk Sound and the colors of the water were ever-changing. I've never seen so many hues of blue and turquoise & each day & minute, it changes. Plan to go on a sunny day; otherwise, the colors are not that amazing! Drive up the road from Las Brisas and there are areas to stop and take pictures. Most of the homes have private access to Chalk Sound.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank twins1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    226
    62
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very scenic neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

There is one nice restaurant with a good view. There aren't many public accesses since there aren't many water accesses in general.

The scenery is very beautiful, with some elaborate homes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank emdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlton
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My Favorite Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My favorite day was the day we went to Chalk Sound. It was absolutely breath-taking.

When we go back, I would like to do the Pontoon Boat on this body of water.

We were only there for lunch so did not get to swim, etc. but it was a wonderful overlook/view for pictures and to see while having lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The reviews I read described the surreal turquoise color of the water. The reviews were so true. Never have I seen water so vibrant. What an incredible backdrop it made against the stormy sky we saw on one visit. Truly a must see on any visit to Providenciales.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teachertype22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm pretty sure we will never see anything again so beautiful. Don't give up, there are places to park and get out for pictures. Just magnificent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalk Sound also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Chalk Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing