We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grace Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grace Bay Club
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
holiday_mouse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We booked Christmas Dinner at the GBC.
Received a phone call, cancelling the booking just 20 minutes before our reservation, we were just heading out the door and very much looking forward to Turkey.
What an utter disgrace. We contacted the duty manager, as the oik who called could barely communicate - no alternative, no apology, nothing. Christmas day was ruined, thanks to the totally appalling service and standards of the Grace Bay Club. Utterly embarrasing.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    205
    77
    42
    33
See reviews for
456
877
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville,Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

Our vacation at Grace Bay Club was off to a great start until the credit cards that we gave to put on file were declined. My partner and I travel often and are no strangers to putting a card on file. We were told after the fact ( this was told by the front desk manager after we called from home in the US)that a hold was put on the card totaling $150 per person/per night (6 nights) and the additional night that was left to pay for plus applicable taxes. Had this been communicated up front, a credit card that had a limit to cover this hold would have been presented. A little frustrated but not enough to ruin our vacation. The room was spacious with a spectacular view. Imagine waking up each morning to a sun filled living space and turquoise blue water as far as the eye could see. Our dining experience was just okay. I expected more dining options and a better selection for the amount of money paid for the meal plan ($99/ per person daily + applicable taxes). Breakfast was complimentary and was presented buffet style with the option for a few made to order breakfast selections. We were not informed that there was only one option for dinner as one restaurant was closed. Did a lot of dining at the Mango Reef restaurant located at the Royal West Indies Resort for lunch (awesome Caribbean food). Would definately stay on island again but will try a different resort. Check out day went okay (few issues with the bill). The nightmare came after arriving home. Was informed of 5 holds still on my credit card that totaled over $11,000.00 (the first was for the arrival, the other 4 left me baffled). Any holds were to drop off after taking care of final resort bill, as explained by the front desk associate. Our bill was taken care of the day we checked out but a final hold was put on my credit card for over $7000.00 the day after leaving the island. The days following were a major headache because it was not taken care of in a timely fashion. My travel agent got involved and as of today (almost 2 weeks later) it is still not fixed. It is unfortunate this gave a negative vibe to our trip because the place was to our liking. Do not let this review stop you from going to Grace Bay Club. Just be aware that you will encounter issues during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scolem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

We decided on Grace Bay Club for our honeymoon and were absolutely thrilled with our decision! From the minute we arrived we were immediately greeted, taken care of, and introduced to our personal concierges (Franklyn & Godfrey), who did anything and everything for us for the remainder of the week. Like any hotel, it's not home so of course there were things that were slightly less than perfect, (i.e. screaming baby in the room next door, loud walker in the room upstairs), but these were absolutely not things that I would blame on the hotel itself or their staff. And in fact, I have no doubt that had we asked to be moved to a different room they would have done so with no problem.

The continental breakfast was not your average continental breakfast. It was amazing, with tons of options! The Rouge Grill and Anacaona were excellent restaurants on the property as well. Our concierges helped us with transportation, reservations for dinners and other excursions, and even with getting us a new TV remote when our was somehow misplaced.

By far the best part of our experience though was coming back to our room one night when our concierges had a little surprise waiting for us. They had turned down the lights in our room, lit candles, filled a bubble bath, had a bottle of champagne waiting at the edge of the bathtub, chocolate covered strawberries, towels in the shape of two swans kissing forming a heart, a hand-written congratulatory card, and written across the bed in leaves and flower petals was "Happy Moon." It was such a sweet gesture and really made us feel like they wanted to do anything they could to make our honeymoon that much more memorable.....and it definitely worked.

We love Grace Bay Club and hope to return on our 1st Anniversary and will definitely be recommending to friends!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aanderso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

Pros:
- KidsTown, Morgan is fantastic. We were amazed. I didn't expect our children to go as we usually like spending time as a family but the program was amazing and the kids were begging to go. We had to tell them half days only so we could get family time. They did all sorts of stuff such as snorkeling, hobbie cat sailing, cooking with the Exec Chef Kevin, excursions etc. etc. They also had a camp out one evening with scavenger hunts on the beach and eating at around the fireplace. Kids loved it and we could go to adult only section for first romantic dinner since our kids were born.
- very sensitive on guests with food allergies. Great a place we can relax.
- beautiful beach - almost compares to Pink Sands and probably the best part of the Grace Bay
- Beautiful setting
- Fantastic Concierge Service. We mostly had Franklyn and he is super friendly and amazing. Our other concierge Godfrey was also nice but not as over eager to help as Franklyn. Franklyn really seemed to make it his mission that we were happy all the time.
- Griffin on the beach and at Kids Pool is the best "beach boy" ever. Helpful, attentive, running non stop
- Prasad the guest services director did everything possible to make stay pleasant
- arrive with fruit basket (enough fruit for entire stay) and sparkling wine in room
- kitchen fully equipped with anything you may need in a kitchen
- spacious rooms
- fantastic massages and spa services
- cute afternoon tea display with homemade cookies
- get a cell phone to reach your concierge any time anywhere on the island
- free shuttle around Grace Bay
- they provide plenty of water anywhere (rooms, beach, restaurant etc)
- would come back if they would have real free standing villas or cabanas

Cons:

- rooms very noisy. heard every flush and footstep from people above. Noise from restaurant and bar as well.
- we had been sold a villa on the beach with direct access to the sea, and it turned out to be small apartments and facing the back of the kitchen with the noise of the aircondition. They did move us after 1 night and two days on stand by.
- one night they had a wedding and we could hear every wedding speech inside our room
- not very environmentally conscious. Every day we returned to the room fully lit and new towels in spite that we hanged them up. We ended up folding them again to safe the environment.
- the water was so plenty given out that some guests just got bottles drank one sip and ordered a new bottle 10 min later. Shame on environment especially since the hotel doesn't recycle. Could be cool if each guest got a reuseable bottle that we can fill up and keep as a memory instead. Probably would be the same price wise and would safe a lot of plastic on the environment
- they advertise kids eat free but only allow them junk food. Please more healthy choices for kids. It is far from all kids who can live on junk for an entire week. In fact our youngest got a bad stomach after 3 days because he is not used to eating so much junk and fatty stuff. When we ordered the food the kids wanted and like we were charged for it. So it is really not kids eat free.
- prices a bit over the top compared to standard
- billing a mess. we pointed out mistakes the day before but still not fixed at check out. Took a few days after homecoming where we had to work on it before it got settled (and we actually pointed out that they had forgotten charges and they were creditting us for our room fees. There was also a few overcharges but GraceBay were the ones to loose out had we not pointed it out. Have to give them that they were changing billing system.
- some furniture were dilapidated. We fell through a 4-poster sun bed on our first day
- some guests dumped their kids to roam around freely. They were not so well behaved and we fully understand why some people may not like kids on their vacation when observing at these kids. They were rude to staff, spoiled, noisy and rough with each other. Although kids are welcome I would recommend a kids u. 15 should be accompanied by adults. These little kids age 3 and up would go to breakfast alone, go to KidsTown and just leave KidsTown if they didn't like what was going on, they would go to the beach alone etc.
- came home feeling relieved. It was overall too noisy
- lady at kids pool bar was grumpy and slow (every day to every guest - we just stopped going)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Air,Elevator,shades,safe, service, all did not work. They were out of breakfast,utensils,chairs every morning. They are no all the way. They need to take lessons from Four Seasons as it relates to service. Dont Waste your trip on this place! Too bad because the beach is nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank str8shtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

Pros: We were graciously welcomed to the resort. The facility was great. The room was awesome with great views of grace bay. The food and drinks were excellent. Our concierge associate Marvin was a huge help. One beach/pool attendant Griffin did what ever it took to make guests happy. The pools were very clean.

Cons: The service was so slow that it was almost unbearable. By the third day my wife and I would bring water with us to breakfast because we knew we wouldn't get served water before our omelet (from the omelet station) was done cooking. It also took major efforts to get coffee, salt/pepper, tabasco the check etc. It seemed as if the staff was annoyed that they had to do their job. Housekeeping might have been even worse. On multiple occasions housekeeping left us 1 towel and did not fulfill simple request like leaving us new wine glasses and caffeinated coffee (we tipped them $5 every day).

Important note: This hotel is located in surrounded by more modestly priced resorts. The music from Club Med was kind of annoying.

Overall, for the money we spent I feel like the experience should have been excellent on all levels. This hotel did not live up to our expectations and we would not return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We traveled as a family of 3 with our almost 2 year old son along with another couple who has a 5 month old. We stayed in a 2 bedroom luxury suite and loved our accommodations. The view was amazing and the suite was tastefully decorated and VERY spacious.

The beach is impeccable! Soft, white sand and beautiful turquoise waters. Lots of beach chairs and cabanas available and towel and bar service was great.

Our son LOVED the pool and the hot tub. There was a lot of shallow areas around the pool which made it perfect for him to splash around and not have us worry about him constantly.

We hired a nanny named Doreen who is trained as an Early Childhood Educator and she was very punctual, cheery, and amazing with both children. We had no worries while we were out the nights she cared for them.

We loved our complimentary breakfast at the Grill Rouge. There was lots of variety and the the fruit and juices were always fresh. The chocolate pancakes were delicious!

Anacaona Restaurant was a beautiful setting to have our romantic dinner. The food was really good and the ambiance was memorable.

Prasad who is the Director of Guest Services was helpful, friendly, and very attentive to our every need. If you have any problems, you should talk to him.

My friend and I did a body wrap and facial at Anani spa and it was heaven. Our husbands did a fishing outing which was arranged by the front desk and they had a once in a lifetime experience.

We loved our stay so much that we are planning to make it an annual trip!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmogirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Bay Club

Property: Grace Bay Club
Address: Grace Bay Road | PO Box 128, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#8 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grace Bay Club 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world renowned Grace Bay Club, first luxury all-suite resort in Turks and Caicos, offers guests a haven for uninterrupted relaxation. The resort, with the largest beach front access - 1100 feet, features all ocean front suites. Divided into three separate sections that caters to discerning travelers of all tastes, it includes the adults-only Hotel area with private restaurant, bar, and swimming pool; family-friendly Villas with their own restaurant, bar, and pool; and the uber-luxe Estate, with a complete set of exclusive amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grace Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grace Bay Club Hotel Providenciales
Grace Bay Hotel
Hotel Grace Bay
Grace Bay Club Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing