We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Value for money in paradise”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited Grace Bay on our honeymoon last year and loved it so much we decided to go back this year. We booked Coral Gardens as we had seen it from the outside last year, really enjoyed eating at Somewhere cafe and based on trip advisor reviews. We booked the one bedroom run of the house suite through Expedia. The suite was absolutely huge, definately big enough for 2 people. The facilities in the suite were good with a full kitchen provided. Bed was really comfortable. The terrace was great, we loved to sit out and watch the sun go down with a drink in the evening, and in the day if we wanted to sit on the terrace the pool was only a few steps away. The pool area was quiet so it was like having our own private pool at times! Having said that even though I normally only stay round the pool we did spend a lot of time on the beach this time. Jerome was great, very helpful in getting us sunbeds and reccomending trips. Coral Gardens provide a mobile phone which you can top up at reception in case you want to make restaurant reservations or call taxi's, however they were also happy to do this for you when reception was open. The only one minor downside as reception opened at 9am and closed at 7pm. When we checked in with Rochelle she had also put a bottle of rum in our room for us which was a lovely touch! Rochelle was fantastic throughout our trip. She was really helpful in making reservations, calling taxi's and giving us reccomendations and was just really friendly and approachable. As another reviewer has said I think Coral Gardens is one of the original Grace Bay resorts and therefore is not as flashy or modern as some of the other more expensive resorts, however if you are looking for a functional, spacious place to stay, on the best bit of beach with fantastic staff then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There is a derilict buiding to the left of the resort (as you face the sea) so ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank t0ri_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    153
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
129
192
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned from 6 nights at Coral Gardens. Location, location, location. 30 steps to some of the best snorkling in the world. Great spot for kids to snorkel and see thousands of fish. We stayed in 2112, a spacious 2 BR on first floor with a gorgeous garden view to the pool and ocean.Somewhere Cafe is a perfect compliment with it's island-mex food and live music most evenings. They only cavaeat is that the facilities are dated, and a bit rustic. This is great for a casual family or travelers, but I could see others really being turned off by the wear and tear on the building. The building must have been an early addition to the island's tourism. But everything was clean and in working order. Nice location in that you are near many great restaurants, but will need a car or cab, but far enough away from the big resorts (Beaches) to feel like you have your own beach. The beach attendant was great, as was the concierge. Both always wanting to please. Favorite restaurants included Bay Bistro, Cocoa Bistro (food A+, service D), Mango Reef, Da Conch Shack, and Somewhere Cafe. Much tastier food than we had experienced in the Caymans a few years ago. Food is very expensive, even groceries are really high (2 times higher than USA). Can't put a price on the memories we will have from this trip. Will return someday.

Room Tip: Stay away from the west bulding to avoid looking at development that was never finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beach-breez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from the Coral Gardens with my family of four. My wife and I and two daughters aged 9 and 11. We stayed it unit 1312 and they connect it to 1311 to make it a two bedroom condo. My family does one Caribbean trip a year as the wife and I are divers. The kids both love snorkeling and wanted to try snuba. Of the 20 or so locations I have stayed in the Caribbean this was our all around favorite. As for the condo itself it was in the building nearest to windsong. From what I can tell the two buildings neare to windsong are identical and are three stories high with each story having two beach view condos with full wraparound decks. As I said before you can also add the small garden view room to each to make them 2 bedroom. The views from these beachfront decks is incredible. The doors for these balconies slide back on themselves to where you can make the unit completely open air if you want. The unit 1312 is huge full kitchen with stainless steel appliances nice bathroom with standup shower garden tub with shower handle ,bedet,hair dryer soap shampoo towels sheets maid service pots pans etc. nice 50+ inch tv that we never turned on. Indoor and outdoor kitchen table. Nice comfortable king bed with many lighting options washer dryer and did I mention the view the view the view. If you were to stay in just 1311 it is basically like a hotel room with a king bed fully appointed bathroom there was a fridge and microwave in this room. It has a small balcony with a couple of chairs overlooking the spa not the beach. My kids loved this room and if you were on a budget and don't plan to spend a ton of time in your room it is a great option
As for the staff, the highlight is probably Jerome the guy who minds the beach chairs. Jerome will get to know your family's names. He sets out the chairs for you every morning he will grab you a drink if you ask he keeps people from destroying the reef he can help you schedule any kind of activity you want. He even kept a watch on our kids one day for a couple of hours while they played on the beach and the wife and I went for an activity. The maid service was great Front desk folks are ver nice and helpful. They give you a cellphone to use while on the island and you can buy a card for like 10 bucks
Outside of the incredible view the real strength of this property was the location. It is right in front of the best beach snorkeling reef on the island. All the folks from other resorts drive or walk to coral gardens to snorkel here. Jerome and the other staff do a good job of keeping others from taking the chairs and umbrellas reserved for coral gardens guests we always had chairs and umbrella available. It is also central to grace bay. There is a dive provo satellite office on site. We dove with them and it is a great outfit with the nicest dive boat I have ever been on in my 80 plus dives. Another highlight on site is the somewhere cafe which might be the best casual dining on the island. People come from all over to eat there and we liked it. Also if you do the snuba because you are at the best reef the snuba is done right outside your condo. Between snorkeling and snuba on "our" reef we saw tons of fish a turtle lobsters an eel a reef shark some large stingrays a small octopus small barracuda grouper. The reef does have buoys on it to stop people from hurting the reef anymore but there are still plenty things to see. The only frustrating thing about the whole trip was watching people stand on the reef destroying it (usually visitors not coral gardens guests) trying to hold kids who can't even swim face in the water. The beach crew does a good job calling them out but with all the signs and bouys it does get old watching people break the rules. The pool in our area was about a 30 by 15 rectangle. The majority of our days were lounging on beach chairs under the umbrella grabbing our mask and fins every couple of hours for a snorkel. This is definitely a site where you don't need a car as reef restaurant dive shop and great beach are all on site and it is close to other restaurants if you want to walk. I don't know how to post pictures but if you email me I can send a few.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank MartinsGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Some of the best snorkeling on the island is directly in front of the property of Coral Gardens. If you love being in the water, there's nothing better than stepping off the sand and seeing fish without going anywhere! There were some days you could actually stand on the sandy shores and see the fish right near your toes!

There is a protected reef area that has a circular rope & buoys marking the area. Folks are NOT allowed to swim through the reef - this is so the coral within the circle isn't damaged by folks kicking their feet or standing on coral. (Please be considerate about this- there are signs posted!)

But, there is really so much to see that you can literally swim the exterior perimeter of the rope line and see so much! During our week stay, we saw two stingrays, an octopus, Parrot fish, a sea turtle and tons of tropical fish! You don't have to go searching - literally, between the shoreline and about 25 feet out in the water you'll have plenty to see in the crystal blue water! You don't have to swim far, and you can even stand and see a lot of action!

At Coral Gardens, there are umbrellas lining the property and chairs set up by staff. The Somewhere Restaurant & Bar has some excellent Mexican food for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Make sure you're on the upstairs deck for the best views & pictures of the sunset!

This is more of a condo property, so there are some smaller garden rooms and some larger, ocean view suites. We spend so little time in the room, so we opted for the garden room. It was small (with a VERY uncomfortable bed). The hotel provided us a cell phone for calls (we'd have to pay for what we used). There was a small pool on the property.

Although we loved our trip, had a week's worth of amazing snorkeling and soaked in the sun, there were a few things that we would want others to know about:

-the bed in the garden room was like sleeping on a box spring without a mattress
-Not a lot of dining options within walking distance (Mango Reef was about a 1/2 hour walk)
-Rain was abundant - almost every day (and flooded streets)
-Lots of warnings about cars being robbed (we didn't rent a car)
-There was a renovation project next door that was deserted (when we visited in May 2011)

Overall, any trip with clear blue water, great snorkeling, sand & sun makes for a good trip. Just a few bumps in the road for us, but still worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VacayDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We originally booked a garden room, but this was far too small for 2 adults, so we upgraded to a one bedroom ocean front suite, and were really pleased we did. Full length glass doors open out onto a balcony with a view of the pristine beach a few steps away. TCI is very expensive, so the bonus was having a kitchen area, we ate in a few nights, enjoying a glass or 2 on the balcony watching the sun set. Not shabby at all. Recommend the ocean suite, the only trade off is a choice - either up a flight or 2 of stairs to get the best balcony views, or ground floor to walk straight out of your suite to the pool area and beach beyond. Either way I am sure you wont be disappointed.

The hotel is set within a national park area, so there is a coral reef right out front. Part of this is protected, so swim within the buoys and you will see all kinds of marine life. some idiots see the barrier and think it doesn't apply, wait for the staff to tannoy them to get out, rather than destroy the reef. For a guided tour speak to Jodie who will take you diving or snuba'ing and point out all the things you miss on your own. The beach is picture postcard perfect, white sand warm clear water, safe for all levels of ability to paddle about in.

The front office staff (Matt and Rochelle) really couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was superb, from advising on places to go, booking trips, arranging cabs, as well as swapping our room booking. We really couldn't fault the service.

Somewhere cafe (reviewed separately) is the onsite restaurant, food and service here was also good. All the staff were friendly and we enjoyed sitting there sheltering from the midday sun with whichever cocktail Michael dreamt up -try the Michael special mud slide, provided you don't have anything else to do that day :-))

only negative was that we had to go home - already planning a return trip :-)

Room Tip: Go for an ocean suite, to the right of the property as there is an unfinished property to the left w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AliGHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boring, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Somewhere bar had great service good food and drinks and really made up for the draw backs at coral gardens. (which are only visual if you reserve on the east side of the resort). We stayed in condo 4202. It was completely remodeled and we were very satisfied with the condition of the room. We were disappointed in the view but we knew of this going in from past posts on trip advisors. The pools were very small but because of the beach and wonderful swimming there we did not feel that this took away much. If you are looking for the experience of a nice pool I would not recommend Coral Gardens. The balcony was great I did like being on second floor, third floor would also be nice. Because of the vegetation around the pool bottom floor does not have a view of the ocean. We ate and had drinks at the Somewhere Bar and never had a bad experience. i would give them an excellent rating on their service as well as food and drinks. Hats off to Fritz and Fran the bartenders who did a great job and serving our needs. The coral reef does have a lot to see and will notice many others coming from other resorts on grace bay to snorkel here. We saw more here than we did on our snorkel trip to west caicos. The snorkel trip could have been better if the wind had not been so bad, 20 plus mph winds made it very difficult to snorkel two of the reefs. We walked each day not only to cut down on the cost of cabs but also because it was nice to just walk along and see the other resorts on grace bay. There are many other nicer hotels and condos but they come at a much higher cost. The full kitchen provided us the ability to cook breakfast and lunch when we wanted and then we ate dinner out each night. We took a cab to the grocery store, 12 dollars each way plus a fee for waiting if you chose to have them wait. We went to closer market rather than the grocery store at salt mills, it had everything we were looking for and more. Note if you are buying alcohol you do not want to go on Sunday because they do not sell any alcohol that day! Rooms were cleaned each day and we did think they did a great job and changing everything out and cleaning up. All in all a great trip we would love to take our kids back.

Room Tip: the larger 2 bedroom suites will not have the view of the abandoned concrete half finished resort ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 4ts125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed at Coral Gardens for a week May 6th-May 13th. Do not expect an ultra luxury resort but a relaxing small ocean front property with great staff. We really enjoyed the layed back vibe at this property and Matt(Property manager) and Rochelle go all out to be helpful and friendly. Before the end of the week you will feel that you have know both of them for a long time. We selected this property due to the reef just steps off the beach and were not disappointed. SomeWhere restarant on site was a great place to grab a bite to eat in a casual atmosphere. Yes there is an unfinshed building besides Coral Gardens and if you think this will distract you from the beautiful view out front then this is not the place for you. What a view of a gordeous beach......Wish I was still there. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.0 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,421 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#22 of 44 in Providenciales
1,733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,971 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Gardens on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Gardens on Grace Bay

Property: Coral Gardens on Grace Bay
Address: Penn's Rd | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Gardens on Grace Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Gardens Resort is located directly on Grace Bay Beach and miles of white sand and turquoise ocean. We are directly in front of the best snorkeling reef on the island "Alexandra Marine Park". We are a deluxe Boutique Resort consisting of three unique buildings built along the beach with lush gardens and two swimming pools. The resort is directly on Grace Bay Beach, which was voted as one of the world's Top 10 beaches by Conde Nast Magazine. We have spacious and fully equipped one, two or three bedroom condo suites, as well as Garden Rooms are tastefully decorated with Italian tile flooring and muted tropical colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Gardens on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Gardens Hotel Providenciales
Coral Gardens On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing