We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Relaxing Fun Trip for Glow Worms”
Review of Sun Charters

Sun Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The S/V ATABEYRA is a 69', traditionally rigged trading schooner that retired from cargo service almost 20 years ago. The vessel traded for years between Hispaniola and the Turks & Caicos Islands carrying such commodities as rum , beer, produce, plants, building materials and even a few critters. The ship has been refit as a charter vessel and now stays close to home in the sheltered waters of Grace Bay and the Caicos Cays of Turks and Caicos Islands. The S/V ATABEYRA is the perfect platform for learning hands on operation of traditional sailing craft, for exploring the exquisite undersea world and many islands that surround us or just lounging on her spacious, shaded decks. No vessel in the TCI charter fleet is as large or as versatile. Sun Charters and the ATABEYRA crew offer our guests a unique opportunity to get real sailing experience aboard the last of the tropical trading schooners. Being a gaff-rigged vessel carrying two headsails, there are lots of lines to pull, many sails to tend, and the skipper will even be happy to let you take the helm. Feel the past come alive as we sail through the uninhabited chain of Caicos Cays the same way it was done hundreds of years ago. The Cays were once the lair of the infamous lady pirates Anne Bonny and Mary Reid, and the waters and surrounding islands remain basically untouched since that time. The Crew of the Good Ship Atabeyra are proud that she is overwhelmingly the boat the residents choose when recreating in the Caicos Cays.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value, Relaxing Fun Trip for Glow Worms”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The captain was friendly with almost everyone on the boat. The deckhands were equally as nice and with great attitudes. It was a full boat, but enough room for everyone to sit comfortably. The first hour and a half was sailing back and forth to Grace Bay getting to see the Sunset. "Happy juice" and other drinks were plentiful, along with chips and salsa and a comfortable head.

Sailing back in between the Cays to see the glow worms, we were very lucky. We saw so many and had encore appearances even on our way back to port. Probably the best value we had on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank emdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    19
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect sail into the sunset”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great sunset cruise on our trip a week ago. The captain, Tibi, and his assistant Junior were very personable. The boat was beautiful and immaculate with ample, cushioned seating. We were able to stretch out easily. Our son helped Junior hoist one of the sails. We knew it had to be a great cruise when we discovered that several families on the boat were locals, who had been on this same cruise many times before. Great price at $30.00 pp. Wonderful pineapple run punch. Lovely last night of our vacation!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teachertype22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Glow worm tour - not to be missed”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were very lucky that our stay in providenciales coincided with the glow worm tour - 4 days after the full moon. The tour began with a cruise out to watch the sunset and then moved on to the glow worm locale. The staff were excellent hosts providing refreshments and information with effortless ease. The glow worms themselves provided a show which lasted for 25 minutes and to which the word spectacular does not do justice. If you have the chance to do this and pass up on it then you are nonsense.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only way to cruise the waters!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

WOW! I almost did not do this cruise, so glad I did. Scheduling your cruise can be challenging as this boat does private charters. But trust me if you want an AMAZING day in the water, with great service this is what you want. David- your crew is amazing and your refurbished rum runner boat is like cruising the strip in a classic car. Well be back!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamielLASVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sunset Cruise, Glow Worm and Snorkel Cruise in TCI”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Last night we took the Good Ship Atabeyra on a sunset cruise (Friday). The captain Tibi and his helper Junior welcomed the guests and provided a fun loving relaxing experience. The glow worms last week were awesome a must see while in TCI.The ship quietly slipping through the waters in the evening is an incredible experience. We also spend a half day snorkel cruise with the ship it was awesome, we saw the largest parrot fish out on the reef. Then the captain sailed us over to the sunken ship to contiue our snorkel adventure ... too awesome for words.I highly recommend this for families or couples. This cruise gets a 10 out of 5 star rating from me.
Brenda

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Charters also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Leeward, Providenciales
 

Been to Sun Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing