We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite part of our trip to Provo!”
Review of Sun Charters

Sun Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The S/V ATABEYRA is a 69', traditionally rigged trading schooner that retired from cargo service almost 20 years ago. The vessel traded for years between Hispaniola and the Turks & Caicos Islands carrying such commodities as rum , beer, produce, plants, building materials and even a few critters. The ship has been refit as a charter vessel and now stays close to home in the sheltered waters of Grace Bay and the Caicos Cays of Turks and Caicos Islands. The S/V ATABEYRA is the perfect platform for learning hands on operation of traditional sailing craft, for exploring the exquisite undersea world and many islands that surround us or just lounging on her spacious, shaded decks. No vessel in the TCI charter fleet is as large or as versatile. Sun Charters and the ATABEYRA crew offer our guests a unique opportunity to get real sailing experience aboard the last of the tropical trading schooners. Being a gaff-rigged vessel carrying two headsails, there are lots of lines to pull, many sails to tend, and the skipper will even be happy to let you take the helm. Feel the past come alive as we sail through the uninhabited chain of Caicos Cays the same way it was done hundreds of years ago. The Cays were once the lair of the infamous lady pirates Anne Bonny and Mary Reid, and the waters and surrounding islands remain basically untouched since that time. The Crew of the Good Ship Atabeyra are proud that she is overwhelmingly the boat the residents choose when recreating in the Caicos Cays.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite part of our trip to Provo!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We signed up for a half day snorkeling trip and the sunset cruise, through the owners of our Villas, and we had an amazing time! We got lucky and there were only 5 of us total on the snorkeling trip, and we loved it! While snorkeling we saw some nerf sharks, a baracuda, and lots of other little fish. It was a nice casual swim. Then parked on the beach at Water Cay, and it was like having our own private beach to relax on. We even got to see an iguana on the island. On the trip back we also saw 2 dolphins. Capt Tibby and Junior were great too. We came back in the evening for the sunset cruise and enjoyed that as well, despite clouds ruining the sunset. My wife and I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    19
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best day on Provo”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had so much fun taking the 1/2 day snorkeling trip and the sunset cruise. I'm on Provo by myself for work, but the Captain and crew made me feel so welcome. This is more of a "real deal" experience than a pre-packaged tourist cookie cutter experience. Dolphins, iguanas (on completely deserted beach on Water Cay!), incredible reef life and completely laid-back atmosphere.

Bring a camera, a towel and maybe a snack. There were chips and salsa, water, soft drinks and plenty of rum punch. I'm taking the same trip next week!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sailing with dolphins!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We did the half day sail and snorkel last week and had a fantastic time. The crew was awesome, very friendly, helpful and engaging, and the sail was incredible; a great way to see the beautiful islands from the water and enjoy snorkeling on the barrier reef. The rum punch was awesome! Thanks for such a great day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Apollo427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was our 4th trip back to Provo, finally decided to get out on the water and this was a great pick. Snorkeling, relaxing on the ship being mezmorized by blue waters. Then you get to explore some on Pine Cay. The highlight of the trip was seeing 2 very young dolphins playing right up next to us with 5 dolphins in total! The rum punch is great!! Bring lots of sunscreen.. just in case!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrie1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is the best way to spend a day in Provo!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nothing could beat the experience we had on the Great Ship Atabeyra. Captain T, Junior and Lia were terrific and were open for doing anything we wanted. We rented the ship just for our group of 11 and the snorkeling, cruising and relaxing were better than expected. This is a great trip for kids as the crew is completely accommodating and were not hesitant in the least to get everyone engaged. A great day and we highly recommend it! Check out our Youtube....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDHz7zC_-TQ

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bddfc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Charters also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Leeward, Providenciales
 

Been to Sun Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing