We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was it a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
STL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“was it a dream”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I never write reviews but I certainly read them for advice. Unlike most of my travels I never take the time to let others know my experience. this time is different. We arrived on a Saturday at Gansevoort (our first time in Turks) and like most of our Caribbean experiences we were just happy to be there. 1st great impression was that we were welcomed and immediately checked in (phew!) Sometimes, even the nicest resorts have a delay - not this time. We were escorted to our room which was beautiful and exceeded our expectations. This pictures from the hotels website are accurate. Just a summary about the staff, everyone was so friendly and nice - never pushy or rude. Breakfast was fabulous! Never once did we feel service was slow there, at the bar, or at lunch. The rooms were so clean, I never saw ants, bugs, crumbs, anything to cause an ounce of concern. We took the time to walk down the whole strip of GraceBay and actually visit other hotels, pools, beaches. While we both felt that at the other end had a better beach / sea view, there was no doubt that we choose the best place to stay. Our disappointment is that we only stayed 5 nights and wish we would have booked longer. I convinced my husband that we should come back this year and spoke to the manager about ideas on how to return so soon. She was extremely helpful and gave us great advice, I will be reaching out to her soon.

If you have never been to Turks - GO. The beaches are amazing, everyone speaks english, they take the US dollar, food is fabulous and clean. To those who complain about the taxi fares, the fares are a bit ridiculous - but you are on vacation in the middle of nowhere and the locals have to make money. I wish there was a way to experience the local restaurants without the $40 roundtrips, but we will have a game plan for next time. We didn't pay the $75 for a beach bed because we have a tendency to swim, walk, go to the pool, have lunch, etc. However, I wish that the hotel for give it complimentary for maybe one day of your stay. It would have been great to experience without the fee.

Cheers to Gansevoort! I appreciate the amenities, the service, the food and the perfect most beautiful caribbean experience I have ever had. I simply cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvthesunStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear luvthesunstl,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed the beauty of Turks+Caicos as much as we do. Since you and your husband seem to be very active, you might also enjoy our variety of water activities such as scuba diving, riding a a catamount, snorkeling, paddle boarding and many more. We are sad to see you go, but we are excited to know that you'll be returning. Don't stay away too long!

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    288
    76
    24
    6
See reviews for
266
1,232
46
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Well, I have mixed feelings on this resort. It is NY/NJ/Conn people central, I guess people know of the style and scene of the Gansevoort in NYC, and come for that "scene". When I was there in mid April, it was dead quiet, could of been the timing, but no one was there, which was great for me to relax and do nothing. Visiting 7 Stars Resort and The Regent Palms, it was packed with tons going on, so please research these resorts if you are looking for more daily activities. On the flip side at night, there is very little to do, and if you are not the type of people to leave the resort, you may be disappointed. The rooms, the pool and the beach were top notch, 5 stars.The pool service was outstanding, room service the same, and housekeeping was amazing. I see no complaints that can be made on this front. The food, well, it is not terrible, but it is not up to the same level of service, or what one would expect from paying north of $700 a night hotel, if that makes sense? The bar and restaurant service, while again not terrible, is not exactly "done with a smile" or what one gets at a pricey resort. Maybe it's "Caribbean Time", but if the majority of your guest are paying those rates, you need better service. The buffett breakfast was great, enough choices for all age groups and kids. I would recommend to management some afternoon or evening bbq's or happy hour martini tasting, because at night the place was a ghost town. The Friday night disco/dj party, was a disappointment, as it was mostly locals.... I like the locals, but if you want that local vibe, one leaves the resort for the local bars. There also was an unfortunate incident where a young lady passed out, and was carried head over heels out of the restaurant and club, while basically everyone watched. I love the island, loved the pool and beach at the hotel, but it does need some attention to details and some creativity to keep people at the hotel, not leaving for other one's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear DogwoodTravelAgency,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us strive to provide the best service for our guests. We are working with the Stelle team to address your concerns and improve upon your dining experience and we apologize that it did not exceed your expectations. Should you choose to give us a second chance, we would love the opportunity to surpass your needs on every level of service. For any questions, please feel free to contact digital@TheGHG.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at Gansevoort in late March 2013 for "spring break" - our first and only trip to T+C (thus far). We were looking for a luxury hotel with a newer, modernistic feel, direct access to beautiful Grace Bay beach, immaculate grounds, and [hopefully] impeccable service. What was potentially most important to us was finding a hotel with an exclusive / intimate character (i.e., smaller size, manageable number of guests, not crowded) where the atmosphere exuded a pleasant combination of civility and solitude. Relied almost entirely on TripAdvisor member reviews and ultimately selected Gansevoort, which impressed and met or exceeded every expectation noted above. I'll provide a few notable takeaways (both good and mediocre) below but the main point is we would definitely stay here again. We enjoyed every minute of our 3+ days at the Gansevoort T+C.

1. Grace Bay is altogether wonderful but after walking the beach for approx one mile on either side of Gansevoort, we realized the Gansevoort is positioned in possibly the BEST area of this beach. This area provides approx 50 yards of ultra-soft sand from the ocean to the Gansevoort walkway. It's quite narrow and constricted in front of most other hotels and resorts along Grace Bay, which results in overly crowded environments with folks situated on top of each other. There is absolutely no risk of this happening at Gansevoort - you'll be assured as much privacy and personal space as you could expect.

2. The service is fantastic - from check-in to poolside to the beach and through check-out. Wish I could remember the names of certain outstanding employees but simply know that we never had an adverse experience. Only experience that was arguably unsatisfactory occurred when we dined at Stelle the first night (see #4). If you enjoy endless sun- and alcohol-bathing (like we do) you'll fully-appreciate the attentive and friendly staff. All we wanted to do was relax, establish a heavy buzz and forget to apply sunscreen. The staff and service allowed us to accomplish this each day.

3. The beach beds are sometimes attainable free-of-charge (esp in the afternoons, even during a "peak" season) and are always worth the $75 fee. Remember it can be windy in T+C, so the "headboard" provides some protection from the minor gusts of sand that can occasionally arise. Two people fit comfortably on these things, which allows for some useful interaction you can not experience lounging in separate chairs.

4. Overall, the food and drinks grade around a B or B+. If you're similar to us, you intend to go off-campus each day/night for lunch and/or dinner anyway, so all you really need is strong, flavorful drinks and generally appetizing food to get you through to the next "real" meal. Stelle (both the restaurant and bar) will likely satisfy but I wouldn't recommend saving a night to experience dinner here. The service was a little slower than acceptable and there was a stray cat annoyingly eavesdropping on everyone. I'm sorry, I hate cats...they're useless.

5. Just go ahead and get the ocean front room and be certain you are on the second floor or higher. If you opt for a less expensive room you will, undoubtedly, wish you had just spent more to enjoy a direct view of the ocean rather than an obstructed one (or one of the pool). The first floor is fine, I guess, but you will appreciate the view at a higher vantage point. We requested a higher room, were ushered into a first floor upon arrival, and immediately requested a higher floor. The staff accommodated...so no real issue.

6. I'm rating Gansevoort as "Very Good" simply because an "Excellent" rating would imply absolute flawlessness. While this property comes close, it's still a few minor items away from perfection. Lastly, I can't give Gansevoort a "5-star" value rating because we paid an exorbitant amount for only 3+ days. Not to be contradictory, this hotel does command a premium price and we did visit during a busy, peak time (Good Friday, Easter), but folks, be prepared to spend. This is applicable to the entire T+C islands...things ain't free down there, people.

Room Tip: Go ocean front on 2nd floor or higher. Access to a private terrace is also well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaytheBabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, GansevoortTC at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear PaytheBabies,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded and was able to take advantage of the privacy of our location. Did you know we have a variety of water activities at your disposal such as scuba diving, paddle surfing, snorkeling and many more. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

There is really little to complain about here...this is beautiful property with a super-easy trip from the NY area. But you'll hardly feel that you are on some removed tropical escape. You'll feel like you are in Miami. So if you like that urban/chic vibe where everyone is strutting their $300 bikinis and a bit of a party scene (during high season) then this is for you.
It's small, clean, sexy and contemporary. We went off-season in June and got an incredibly inexpensive package through Jet-Blue. The resort was so mellow in June - no one even charged us for the oversized beach couches that go for $100/day in season. It was a hilarious mix of honeymooners (at least half the guests, with ALL women reading Shades of Gray) and older sleazy types with younger arm candy babes. There seemed to be a wedding every Saturday night as when we arrived Sunday morning, the wedding crew was just heading to the airport and when we left on Thursday morning, the next wedding crew had already arrived for a series of prenuptial dinners. (Keep that in mind if you are traveling over a Saturday night.) The restaurant was fine for breakfast and they offered some core fusion classes in the morning that seemed to be really popular. We literally did nothing but lay around, swim, and eat so that was perfect for us. There was one couple with a young child at the pool and they seemed terribly out of place. There is absolutely nothing to see or do on Turks and Caicos and I would't waste time taking their ridiculous $30 cab rides to another mediocre seafood restaurant. This is NOT a place for foodies. All in all, a perfect, easy, inexpensive couples getaway for 3-4 nights. Personally, I like a more tropical and exotic beach environment like Brazil or Mexico so this wasn't my cup of tea and I wouldn't go back because it was a little too cheesy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyN104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Abby,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Turks+Caicos is a high-demand location for weddings because of its romantic scenery and our event planners help make the special occasion even more memorable. We are glad you enjoyed your stay was able to use our beach beds free of charge! It was a pleasure having you.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

3 hour plane ride from NJ,fantastic 10 min from airport,on the beach30 min after landing,Gansevoort is a wonderful property are 5 nt stay was perfect the beach & pool outstanding, my wife and i enjoyed it very much,also did not see many children which is always a plus when on vacation,the breakfest buffet was great Lucy would start making my eggwhite & spinach omelet as soon as i walked in every morning, Fantastic,Terri & Matt,LIVINGSTON NJ

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyblue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear mattblue59,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay. Lucy will be thrilled to know that her service caught your attention and made your stay even more pleasurable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon, especially since we're only 3 hour plane ride away!

Best,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for just over 2 weeks and had the time of our lives. Excellent service by all the staff, not only in the restaurant and surrounding areas but also on the beach! Nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a spa studio room which was enormous! facing the beach and it had a jacuzzi in the middle of the room. Many cupboards, draws, you couldn't wish for more! Hotel was extremely clean in all areas.
The beach was fabulous with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.

Room Tip: If you dont mind not having a balcony choose a spa studio room, you will have loads of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniceC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear BerniceC16,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience. It was a pleasure having you and two weeks is not long enough! We couldn't be happier that your enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you were able to indulge in one of Exhale Spa's facials or massages to complete the relaxing vacation. If not, there is always next time.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Gansevoort is a beautiful property with service to match. The room was immaculate and kept that way our entire stay. 2 services daily with turn down included. The view from the room was amazing with our own swaying Plam tree to frame the perfect carribean view. The breakfast buffet with eggs to order was delicious. The staff looks to your every need, omni present when you need a drink and even to rearrange your poolside lounge chair when your feet get exposed to the sun! We never felt crowded and a chair poolside or on the beach was always available.
My wife and I will return.

Room Tip: reserve a beachfront, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear A P,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful reviewWe are pleased that you had a relaxing visit and utilized our pool area to soak in some sun. Did you know we have pool pods available for an even more private lounging experience? We look forward to you next visit, hopefully soon than later!

Sincerely,
@GansevoortTC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,422 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
2.5 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,736 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Turks + Caicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Property: Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Address: Grace Bay Beach, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Turks + Caicos 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos brings a signature approach to luxury lifestyle that redefines the destination resort experience. Each of the 91 guestrooms offers sweeping ocean views positioned and designed to pay homage to the unspoiled island. The resort blends Caribbean cool with sophisticated style to create a sense of place for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Turks + Caicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Turks Caicos Providenciales
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing