We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun time”
Review of da Conch Shack

da Conch Shack
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Da Conch Shack: da famous beach restaurant of TCI. Fresh seafood and so much more. Great food, friendly service, beautiful beach setting. Live music Wednesday evenings. Not to be missed.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a cool little place right on the ocean. Nothing fancy, just a lot of fun. If the Island Boys are playing, they are worth seeing. A fun band. Food was pretty good. Staff was nice. It is a fun time

2  Thank Panic1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,162 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We went to Da Conch shack for dessert and was told after we finished that their credit card machine was down. The waitress the sent a man over to us that could show us where there is an ATM. The man ended up being a police officer. After going to an ATM and a local bank, with the police officer with us in our vehicle), we ended up driving back to the resort on the other side of the island because the ATM's would not work. After returning about an hour later, no apologies, no compensation for our time, gas. Very unhappy with that service and will not be returning to Da Conch shack during any of my future visits.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotogman, Owner at da Conch Shack, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi Cathy, thank you for taking the time to review da Conch Shack. We pride ourselves on making our guests happy so were concerned that you had an issue with the credit card machine being down.
The credit card machine was down because one of the island's major banks had an issue with its underwater cable (or so we were told). Almost all restaurants on the island experienced the same issue we did. This was a problem that could not be anticipated. When you asked if there was an ATM you could visit, staff went out of their way to ask a frequent customer and off-duty police officer if he would assist you. They did not want you getting lost. The officer was kind enough to volunteer on his own time to assist you. As you then found out when the ATM was not working, the problem was island-wide and not with our machine.
We are sorry these circumstances upset you.
We pride ourselves on making our customers happy and we like a challenge. If you would care to return we would be happy to give you a glass (or pitcher!) of rum punch with our compliments and hope that it will make you feel better about the bank problem.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of first stops on our recent visits. The outdoor seating right on the incredible beach is just amazing. The food portions were generous, food delicious and service spot on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank USA_191414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had lunch at "da Conch Shack"during our visit to Turks and Caicos in July 2013. This restaurant is off the beaten path and we got there from the hotel with our rental car. We had some of the best conch we have ever eaten and we have had conch all over the Bahamas. The beach setting is fun as you sit at a picnic table and enjoy the delicious fresh or fried conch. There is an employee of the restaurant that is extracting fresh conch from the conch shells that is something to see. He was very friendly and liked to pose for photos as he worked. Make sure to have a delicious rum drink with your meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CarolF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotogman, Owner at da Conch Shack, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the review, Carol. We read and appreciate all of our tripadvisor reviews (we love to hear we got it right but are also always trying to improve) but it is especially gratifying to get high marks from a conch expert! We hope you enjoyed your time in Turks and hope to see you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

ou must go for a few hours. there is no way you can not go here. you will leave with a major couch shell. The food and drinks are almost as good as this hidden, but well known treasure.

1  Thank Jaxsmilegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Conch Shack also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to da Conch Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing