We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music the best part”
Review of da Conch Shack

da Conch Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Da Conch Shack: da famous beach restaurant of TCI. Fresh seafood and so much more. Great food, friendly service, beautiful beach setting. Live music Wednesday evenings. Not to be missed.
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Music the best part”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading so much about da Conch Shack, we decided to go there on our last night in Turks and Caicos when they have live music (Thursday nights). As they don't take reservations, we showed up and they were very very busy. They put us at a table right next to the bar, which was terrible. When parties are waiting for a table, they hang out at the bar which was all over us at our table. Our waiter was fun and spirited, but the food was very mediocre and overpriced. This place is all about table turnover, but many people around us seemed to love it...maybe it's the Rum punch. The biggest rub was that the check included the gratuity, but the credit card slip was asking for a tip on top of the included tip. Very insulting. The only good thing was the 3-piece band, a Caribbean style group covering great music. I suggest avoiding this tourist trap and go someplace else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,791
    976
    270
    65
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WICKED AWESOME ATMOSPHRE SOSO FOOD”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've lived in many different beach communties over the course of my life, and been to 100's of beach bars but this may be the best atmosphere. Went on a thursday for dinner and the live band. Thier rum punch was okay, not the best we had, but we may also have been rum punched out. The guy cracking the conch was awesome and allowed the Mrs, to pull the conch out of the shell which she loved. We have cracked conch, conch fritters, and they were decent but not the best on the island. The band rocked. Not sure what the deal was with the expat who seemed to be the manager. he seemed really stressed out and just wanted to turn the tables over. Worth the trip for the atmosphere, and a few drinks, but head to sailing paradise for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 50state50brews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would go back to Provo for this”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think I would take da Conch Shack even over Coco Bistro. The location right on the beach, tables on the sand, amazing food and great rum punch is just unbeatable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“poor part of town”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was ok. The part of town it is in is kinda scary. We didn't eat there but combed the beach. we did buy some stuff from a couple of the locals on the beach really cheap

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rickseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was a very laid back relaxed place to eat. The best part was the live band. The food was okay, but almost everything was fried. The quality of the food could have been better. We wound up getting all of our drinks from the bar because we had a hard time getting them from the wait staff.
We went with a big group so we enjoyed ourselves, but there have to be better casual dining places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l8krgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Conch Shack also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Five Cays Settlement, Providenciales
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to da Conch Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing