We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***** 5 Star Experiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“***** 5 Star Experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Absolutely amazing!! Friendly staff and great food. Our children are still talking about this experiance. Highly reccomend to everyone looking for a perfect getaway vacation!
We are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzzyWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    172
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
233
328
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at Villa Del Mar for six nights in August. Grace Bay beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever been on. It was quiet and clean, the water was beautiful and the sun hot! If you are looking for a great beach vacation, this is the location.

Pros:
*Nice Rooms - The room was furnished with very modern and new furniture and white clean bed linens. The AC was powerful and quiet, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We stayed in a studio, and our favorite parts about the room were the fact that shutters opened from the tub connecting the bedroom to the bathroom, and the giant balcony. We sat on that every morning and evening, for hours. We never had any problem with any noise from the pool either, and although I generally get eaten alive by bugs, it wasn't a problem with the breeze. The studio also had a kitchenette, which given the cost of food on the island was nice.
*Great Cleaning Staff - The room, even when we were tracking in sand, etc. everyday was cleaned meticulously. Even if dirty dishes were left, they were washed and put away.
*Price - Huge deal for this island, and a great value for the money.

Cons:
*Internet - No high speed internet, and the computer in the lobby essentially does not work. Not a problem for us, but something to consider.
*Staff - As other reviews have said, the staff is sort of hit or miss. They were friendly enough to us, but never really seemed to go out of their way. This didn't particularly bother us though, we sort of prefer to be left alone anyways.
*Beach Umbrellas - A few of the days there were no beach umbrellas for VDM. We usually would be at the beach for a little less than an hour, and someone would leave so we could use one.

Tips:
*We would have rented the one bedroom in retrospect for the full kitchen. The food on the island is overpriced, and not really good enough to be worth the cost. Plus, most days we were incredibly tired from all the sun, and would have preferred to just make something at the hotel. We wished we had dropped say 200 dollars on prepared meals (i.e. Dream Dinners) and brought these with us.
*Bring ice trays if you want ice for drinks.
*The water is ok to drink, but has a strange taste. There is an IGA about a five or eight minute walk away where you can stock up on water and other goods. VERY expensive though. In retrospect, if we had had extra room in a bag we would have taken snacks and things with us.
*Buy booze at the duty free on your way onto the island. Huge money saver.
*Don't eat at Anacoana across the street. Biggest waste of the most money. Mango Reef and Hemmingways, thumbs up. There is an ok pizza place where we ate pizza a few nights. Jimmy's Dive Bar is not good.

Overall, we really really enjoyed our vacation to TCI. We will certainly be returning, and Villa Del Mar definitely may be the hotel we come back to. A perfect vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pebbles1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Villa del Mar in Providencials, Turks and Caicos. Well, we checked into the property on Sunday, September 20th, and I must say the young lady was pleasant, but that was about it--- she did not explain anything to us, just said oh your driving, your building is right there. We were never offered any assistance with our luggage, or as in most places when you stay at a condo type property, they show you where the safe is, how to use the ac, washer, dryer or etc. Nope she just didn't do anything!!!!! Well, we did stay in a studio, which was lovely, and our cleaning person (Daisy) was so much on top of things!!!! Yes, another review said somthing about a smell, but they are working on the Grace Bay Club and heavy equipment is running with water and smells, that is what they were talking about. I am very, very anal about cleanliness and smells, and this room was definitely up-to-par!!! the furnishings were wonderful. Only problem is that the designer cannot be an island person, because after awhile things are going to rust and leave rust marks (ex. soap dish in bathroom). You don't use that type of thing on an island!!!! Too much humidity!!!!
Property is lovely, very well maintained.. except for one day the pool had not been cleaned, but we asked and they hopped right to it.

Yes internet service leaves a lot to be desired, even though they claim wifi, it is almost non existent!!!!!! We even sat on our balcony and had our laptop facing every which way and still had a real hard time receiving signal, and of course the computer that they had in lobby was malfunctioning. Yes the continental breakfast is lame, you pick 2 pastries and a juice, sometimes you had to ask for the sheet to fill out as it wasn't readily given to you.

We were there during off-season, and really off-season, as most of the restaurants were closed, and many people complained about that, but also properties were totally closed. The Turks and Caicos Tourist Board should post what is open and what is not!!!! We did not have any problem finding things, as we are familar with the island and would just find something else if the one we wanted was closed.

If you are going, bring along "off" or something like it, as the no-see-ums will definitely get you and get you good!!!!!!! I had spray and still got bitten alive. It didn't seem to bother my husband, but they did to me.

Washer and dryer are a good thing to have as you can go home with clean clothes, and I think that the next time we go back we will do the one bedroom so we can have an oven and stove if we want one. We had a studio and it was very spacious, and was great, but just in case we want to make something we can. As there are days that you are at the beach all day and just want to stay in and not go out, as you are wiped from the sun and water.

I thought we were going to get hit with additional charges upon check out, but we were fine with what we had been quoted, and the girl at the front desk was wonderful, as she had been all week. I had to ask her name, as there are two others one that I already mentioned (it must be the rude one that everyone mentions), and it sounded like an older one being the second one, and this young lady was the "nicest" of all of them, and her name was Nadhalia. I wish she had been on when we had checked in, rather than one of the others!!!!!! Nadhalia, was very nice, pleasant and helpful, and always had a smile on her face, and would give information if needed. The property should be proud to have her working the front desk and should try and have a couple of others with a personality like hers and not like theres!!!!!!!

You ask, would we go back, yes!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirleync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

The location is probably one of the best on Turks & Caicos and the hotel is just across from the Grace Bay Club and Grace Bay beach (beautiful beach). The rooms are lovely, but they smelled moldy, like they hadn't been aired out properly. We had our room changed (which took about 3 days), and that still wasn't a great improvement. This was definitely the biggest problem we had, since no matter how nice the room is the most important thing is that it's clean (and that it smells clean).
The continental breakfast which was supposed to be included with the room has been discontinued, so instead you have to fill out a form and return in by a certain time to get your 2 pastries and juice. If you don't, they don't bring it to you.
The people at the desk were sometimes very nice and other times not so nice. But this seems to be how people are on the island. They just all seem to be very bothered any time they have to do anything.
One of the best aspects about the hotel is that it's just across the street from the beach, but don't expect much beach service. The umbrellas available that were not broken were 1 or 2, If those 2 were taken you got a broken umbrella. I would rather have had the option of paying for the umbrella service and getting a functioning umbrella.
I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, but the island is beautiful and overall it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacanzeaicaraibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed in a penthouse suites which is outstanding, Everything was spotless. Kitchen was well equipped and manteined. Two fantastic bedroom and bathroom. HIgh quality linens and so on. Beware, if you book smaller apartment, it could be without fully equipped kitchen (just fridge and microwave!).
The breakfast was very poor indeed. Just a couple of pastries and some juice which is delivered all the morning in your room. Please, beware! If you forget to place the order the day before you'll miss your breakfast.
The beach is very close to the building. However, I saw better beach in other place of Carribean. The beach is rather dirty (cigarettes butts, straws, some plastic glasses and so on) and bad maintened. You could use some beach chairs and umbrella nearby those provided to the Grace Bay Club's guests. However, 3 or 4 umbrellas are available. The other one are reserved to Grace Bay Club's guests. On the beach, there is no service for Villa del Mar's guest. You have to help yourself.
Room service is just fair. Simple cleaning service and nothing more. Our floor was very dirty after the first few days and never cleaned up thoroughly. Same stuff for the stove top.
The receptionists could be better. They are very formal and they seem to be unhappy to do their job. I think some of them should change their job. In particular, one of them was always so nervous and sometimes rude. If you'll go to Villas del Mar, you will easily understand who I'm referring to. I also agree about some previous reviews about the manager. He is sometimes very rude, too. He is the kind of man If you are face to face with him, he says good bay, otherwise nothing. He could be more friendly with the customer.
Overall, Villas del Mar is great place for familiy vacation, but the service is below the average and, of course, below the standard of the apartments. Lastly, WiFi connection is a joke. It doesn't work! Pool is just fair and fitness center below the average (very small and bad equipped room).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Villa del Mar staff and facilities were amazing and treated us like we were Royality. We have traveled all over the caribbean and this was the perfect place to stay. Our group actually stayed in the Penthouse suite. It was priced very reasonable, rooms were spacious and clean, huge kitchen and patios. The beds were very comfortable, changed our linen every day! Pictures do not do this place justice. Relaxing swimming pools with incredible lounge chairs to read or soak up the sun. Grace Bay Beach just one block away, attendant greets you with cold bottled water and takes you to lounge chairs w/umbrella. Beach is perfect, white soft sand and gorgeous turquiose waters. Your wish is their command! Would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribblover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Villa del Mar and Turks and caicos excellent place to enjoy the sun
My wife and I stayed at Villa del Mar for 1 week and it was beautiful location, we stayed in a studio on the first floor, the staff and front desk was very friendly and welcoming housing keeping was excellent. The facility and grounds are impeccable and kept very clean. Our room was amazingly furnished with brand names and had a small kitchen with a toaster, microwave and washer and dryer, I have to say by far the nicest place I have stayed at yet.

There is an IGA about a 10-minute walk, if you want to save money you can purchase your groceries or snacks at a very reasonable price considering everything is imported.
Good place to have breakfast that won't cost much is a 2 minute walk across the street at sea side cafe, will cost you around 10 to 14$ tip not included. There was a hotel next to the sea side cafe called Grace Bay Club we found the breakfast very expensive compared to the sea side cafe, also they brought us coffee and water which we did not ask for and charged us 7$ each. Besides that everything else is fantastic.

The best part is the beach and water, white sand and crystal clear turquoise waters it speaks for it self, you can search images on goggle. We can't wait go back again and stay again at Villa Del mar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaveManMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#16 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
2.5 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#10 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing