We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at this luxurious hotel!”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience at this luxurious hotel!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We loved our stay at the Villa Del Mar! We had a ground level, studio unit across from one of the pools. The unit was clean, well furnished, and plush with nice amenities (dark wood furniture, stainless steel appliances, etc.). Although the Villa is not directly on the beach, you can access the Grace Bay Beach via a 2 min. walk through the Grace Bay Hotel. The morning breakfasts are sufficient (pastries, juices and some fruits), and the staff was fantastic. Lynco at the Front Desk set us up with a great snorkeling tour for a good price. Finally, the location makes Villa Del Mar a great choice. The hotel is within a 10 min. walk of the grocery store, and most of the restaurants. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    175
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
238
332
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The beach is just a short stroll across the street and VDM has a section that caters just to you..........you will quickly see why this beach is so highly rated. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast each day; prepared one meal on site but mostly enjoyed the wide variety of dining choices, all within easy walking distance of VDM. The sunset cruise was one of the highlights and suitable for a family with young children(we were 5 adults, a 4 year old and a 2 year old).

Room Tip: While there is no restaurant the pool side bar is well stocked. The complimentary breakfast offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Four-story units clustered around two palm-ringed pools, a hot tub, and a little bar; beach access is through the lovely Grace Bay Club across the street, and the walk is as short as it would be through some resorts. The suites are immaculate and give a small family some room to spread out.

On an island as expensive as Provo, it's great to have a kitchen, and on an island as long as Provo, it's great to be able to walk to the grocery store. Beach amenities are very good; as the hotel expands, I hope it will have enough beach space.

Staff are extremely kind and helpful. I miss it and I would go back every year.

Room Tip: I prefer to be on the second or third floor for maximum privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at VDM for 4 nights. We had a wonderful time at VDM. Here are the pro's of VDM:

-located across the street from the most beautiful beach
-plenty of chairs/umbrellas available at beach, and VDM staff at beach to provide towels, set up chairs, etc.
-2 pools and jacuzzi on premises
-small tiki bar next to the pool
-complimentary continental breakfast
-nice landscaping
-spacious, updated, modern rooms (king sized bed, sitting area with full sized couch, flat screen tv and DVD player, marble bathroom, good water pressure in shower, large porch overlooking the pool, washer/dryer in room, with laundry detergent, microwave, fridge, etc)
-10 minute walk to a large grocery store
-within walking distance to restaurants, shops, rental car, bike/scooter, etc

Finally, and most importantly, VDM has exceptional staff, including the GM, front desk, and house keeping.

-GM made a point to introduce himself to staff. He also set up a little happy hour get together at the Tiki Bar by the pool for guests to mingle.

-House keeping staff did a great job, too. Staff cleaned our dirty dishes! And every night after returning from the beach/pool, our room was spotless and had fresh sheets, towels, replenished soap, shampoo, etc.

-Ruth, who works at the front desk, is fantastic. She is attentive, responsive, helpful, and really nice. I temporarily lost my luggage due to issue with airline, United. I didn't have clothes or my belongings for 2 days. The general manager offered to help me get any provisions that I needed while I waited for my luggage to arrive. Ruth went above and beyond to help me track down my luggage; she persistently called the airline and when she wasn't able to speak with airline representative directly, she didn't give up. She called as many people as needed at the airport to track down my luggage. Ruth also arranged transportation to and from airport to pick up my luggage once it finally arrived.
Ruth also helped me call the airline in United States to change my flight arrangements.

Also, in addition to assisting with the luggage fiasco, Ruth arranged for transportation, and made us dinner reservations at Coco Bistro.

My only minor complaints (and by minor, I mean that these things did not affect our stay or our desire to come back in the future) are:
-more fruit options at breakfast (oranges and bananas are only offered) and yogurt instead of carbs like bagels, toast, cereal, breads, etc.
-bigger gym with more equipment (at the time of our stay, the only treadmill was not working).

Overall, VDM was excellent! Thanks for a great vacation!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sdj622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Before booking our vacation we read all the reviews on Trip Advisor. At first we we're a little skeptical about all the great reviews based on the hotel rate. However, we decided to roll the dice and we were not disappointed. As others have mentioned the beach is literally 3-5 minutes away and you just need to walk through the Grace Bay Resort.

We stayed on the 3rd floor in a studio with a mini-kitchen and washer and dryer. We didn't plan on using the washer and dryer, but they were surprisingly useful. The rooms are very nice and clean. The room had sliders that led out to a good size deck with chairs, table, and lounge chair. The pool and grounds were well maintained and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is in a good location and only a 5-10 minute walk to several restaurants, casino, and super market. The rooms have refrigerators and a microwave which can be used to store and cook food. Each day they have a drink special at the tiki bar and in the morning a descent breakfast is provided that has cereal, fruit, toast, croissant, juice, and coffee.

While on the beach you can reserve activities through the hotel or food and drink. However, you can walk to the Grace Bay Resort, Seaside Cafe, or a short walk to Julien's Wine Bar and Deli for excellent sandwiches. Also, while on the beach and at the hotel you'll have free internet service which was excellent for listening to music or reading.

Highly recommend this hotel and the reviews pretty well describe the resort. Only negatives is that there's no restaurant or spa on site and the fitness center is extremely small. Once they build a restaurant and larger fitness center this will easily be the #1 place to stay in Turks and Caicos.

Room Tip: There's free wifi on the beach and go to Julien's Wine and Deli Bar at the Caicos strip mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killer_and_the_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent the week of Thanksgiving at Villa del Mar and loved everything about it. As many Trip Advisor reviewers have said, you don't sacrifice anything by being across the street from the beach. The walk to the beach is very quick and easy. In fact, we spent many of our days going from the resort to the beach, back to the resort to enjoy the lovely pool, then back to the beach and then usually wrapped up our evenings back at the pool. The employees were friendly and helpful. We rented a two bedroom condo with a balcony. The condo was comfortable and nicely appointed. We took advantage of the full kitchen and cooked many of our meals in the condo. We also used the BBQs near the pool for a few pool side dinners. The resort has a small, intimate atmosphere. This was our first trip to Providenciales and we will be back next year and will definitely stay at Villa del Mar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Villa Del Mar is located just across the street from the world famous Grace Bay Beach which makes it very convenient for those morning walks. The staff is friendly, the units are nicely furnished and the continental breakfast is fresh and satisfying if you're not a big breakfast eater. Allan, the managing director, saw to it that my sister and I had everything we needed for our 5 day stay. There are roughly 48 units (condos), two pools, a really hot hot tub and a great atmosphere for families. Lots of families were here during our stay. What I liked also was the huge patios overlooking the pool and pool bar. At nights the exotic palm trees around the pool are uplit with a fabulous blue light!

Oh, did I mention there are about 60 chairs with umbrellas on the beach just for the guests at Villa Del Mar....complete with a Beach Captain (he gets drinks, towels, etc.).

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There are studios, 1 and 2 bedrooms. There are three buildings and each have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VoiceQueenViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing