We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in a beautiful place.”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I arrived home August 30th after spending six nights at Villa Del Mar. We had a wonderful time! The hotel is secluded and there's little traffic around. The beach is literally across the street. Yes, you do have to walk through the grounds of another hotel; however, no one knows what resort you're staying at and, honestly, no one cares.

We originally booked a studio suite. However, I smelled mold when I entered the room and later noticed there was mold. I'm allergic to mold and had prescription medication and the EpiPen to prove it. The concierge was very understanding and we were moved to a two bedroom suite. It is very difficult to keep mold from growing in such hot and humid conditions and I wouldn't mind staying in the room if I wasn't allergic to mold considering it's not long term. We were upgraded and didn't have to pay a cent more!

At the beach you will be greeted by the attendant, who is sweet and attentive. He will guide you to all the places and things worth experiencing. Even though various resorts share the beach, there were no crowds! The beach is absolutely beautiful! The weather is HOT! Hotter than heat waves in the U.S. Carry plenty of sunscreen and water wherever you go. My husband and I had a book-bag that we placed water bottles inside and carried everywhere we went.

Everything is expensive and you are better off going to IGA or Graceway supermarket, not far from the resort, and buy food to take. For example, we bought cheese, ham, water, orange juice, butter, bread, fruits, and ate mostly in. We ate once at CoCo Bistro, which was very expensive, twice at Sharkbite, typical American prices and food, and Jimmy's Dive Bar, also typical American food and prices. We highly recommend Jimmy's Dive Bar and Sharkbite if you're looking for affordable prices.

We visited Taylor Bay, Sapodilla Bay, Turtle Cove, and a few other hidden treasures. Taylor Bay was absolutely amazing and beautiful. It's a long stretch of beach with water that hits you at the knees for miles. However, it is secluded and poses the danger of locals robbing tourists. But, be aware of you surroundings. It was worth taking a ride on Chalk Sound Drive and discovering little inlets. There is a high point on Chalk Sound Drive in which you can see the island and take beautiful pictures. We did not go to Malcolm Road due to several robberies occurring there.

Definitely rent a car! You will have to drive on the left side but you get used to it quickly. Stop signs are almost non existent there (locals don't stop at stop signs unless necessary!). When you rent a car, you will be given the option of either filling up on gas before returning the car, or the rental company charging you for a full tank of gas. Don't agree to this! You will not spend a whole tank of gas. We were there for six nights and drove every single day and the tank was at half before we returned the car. Gas prices range from $5.50 to $6 a gallon.

Everyone at the hotel were very nice and helpful. We could not have asked for a better vacation. The price was reasonable compared to other resorts. If you are looking to spend time at the beach and explore the island, I don't see why you need to pay $1k to 2k more on other resorts when Villa Del Mar has all you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    176
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
239
332
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After searching a while for a reasonably priced place near the beach in Provo, we settled on Villa del Mar - and we were very happy with the decision.
It's worth noting every beach in TCI must have public access by law; there are no private beaches. Even though VDM is not right in the beach, it has a direct access right outside the front door. The walk from our room to the water was less than five minutes, including the time to get ourselves set up with beach chairs and umbrellas in the Villa del Mar area on the beach.
In addition to easy beach access, there also were two pools and a hot tub for guests, free breakfast every morning and extremely good customer service from the front desk, bartender, cleaning crew - just about everyone.
It's also worth noting how convenient dining options are: We walked to (and enjoyed) Seaside Cafe, Upstairs and Coco Bistro. We could have walked to Turks Kabob also, but ended up driving that evening. And the nearby Graceway Gourmet also was great to have around and within walking distance.
This place worked out perfectly for our needs and was very ready to help with anything else we needed help with.

Room Tip: In the off season, we loved having a ground floor room - just walk right out the door and into the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights back in July this year. As other reviewers had commented before, you cannot beat the location and value of this place. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Closed to everything you need. Restaurants, bars, spa, supermarket, deli, ice-cream place, you name it you got it and they are all within walking distance. The breakfast is not much but nice enough for most everybody unless you have some special needs and will definitely save you more than a few bucks as everything is somewhat expensive there. The staff at the front desk, breakfast area, housekeeping etc are all very pleasant and helpful. We didn't think we will need a car but soon found out after we arrived that in fact we could use one. The front desk recommended a rental company and the car was dropped off at the villa. The guy with the rental company even drove us to the airport at the end of the rental. We were able to explore the island and went to places for lunches and dinners which would have cost another small fortune for taxi or car services. As far as driving on the left, trust me, you'll get used to it quickly. Roads are not very well marked and the map you get is not really updated so driving after dark is a little challenging. Grace Bay is one of the best beaches we've seen and we've seen more than a few so enjoy. If you like Grace Bay, you might also want to check out Taylor Bay Beach which is located southwest of Grace Bay about half hour by car, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Buildings overlooking the main pool is convenient but could be noisy. We stayed in the one overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momopepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms were great, very clean, updated, spacious and located close to everything. I actually liked that we were not directly on the beach! We walked by everyone elses pool and restaurant but no one walked by ours. It had a nice tucked away feel. Having the kitchenette was very helpful. We would walk to the supermarket close by and get snacks. We didnt take advantage of it, but they have two weber grills that we could have made our dinner on.

I would love to come back here with my family one day. This was the perfect babymoon! I am 4 months pregnant and felt safe and well taken care of at all times. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. I very much recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for a nice quiet stay, doesnt mind a 600 ft walk to the beach and prefers a more intimate place.

Room Tip: We had a studio and it was perfect for a couple, very spacious, quiet. 50 ft from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Villa Del Mar, and would highly recommend this hotel-particularly to a value conscious vacationer. We traveled as a couple but recognized this hotel would be perfect for families.

Pros: Very nice rooms with updated decor and travertine floors; extremely spacious-our 2 bedroom suite could have slept 6; nicely kept pools and grounds; staff is very gracious.

Cons: This property is not ON the beach, however it is very close, just across the street; lots of lizards on the property (I rather like the wildlife, but just be aware in case you have lizard-phobia); a little bit further outside of town than some of the other resorts-we were able to explore into Provo on bicycles, but it would be a little far on foot. If you can put up with these little issues, you will probably save $1000 or more by choosing this hotel. It was well worth it for us. (Everything on TCI ends up being about 25% higher after they factor in taxes and fees.)

Be aware that some of the photos of this resort on TripAdvisor are actually photos of the neighboring (expensive) resort, Grace Bay.

Also worthy of mention is the exceptional concierge service we received from Lynco, the front desk attendant. He really helped us maximize our time on the island, and is an asset to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As many others have said and which I will repeat, the main reason for staying at Villa del Mar is simply the cost compared to other hotels nearby. Obviously it's not directly on the beach but if you have 2 functioning feet, you'll be fine walking the 600ft from your room, across a non busy street and through the Grace Bay Resort to the beach.

We had a wonderful 1st floor 2 bedroom suite next to the front of the hotel. The room had everything a family could need. Fully stocked kitchen, pull out sofa and most importantly, a washer and dryer which the resort replenished detergent for daily.

The resort was mostly quiet with only the occasional siting of people by either of the pools. We never heard anyone above or to the side of us or outside even during the manager happy hour on Fridays. Breakfast was served poolside daily from 7:30 to 9:30. The offerings were basic (coffee, juice, toast, cereal, bagels) but met the needs.

The hotel is a short walk from multiple restaurants and an IGA Graceway Gourmet grocery store which is probably just about 2/3 a mile away (good store, had everything you'd need for your stay, obviously pricey but your on an island so there's no comparing prices to the US).

There is a casino a short walk away from the hotel but unfortunately we weren't able to hit it before leaving.

A special thanks to the folks at Grace Bay club. We ate there several times for dinner and lunch and had drinks at their pool side bar and all were wonderful. We met a wonderful family there whose daughters gladly accepted our daughter into their bunch for playtime at the pool and beach.

On additional side note, there are multiple resorts that offer dinner on the beach. We went to the Seven Seas Resort for a dinner beach brunch on Sunday evening. Cost was $55 a person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livingfortravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

While not directly on the beach, it is so close that it just doesn't matter. The 2 bedroom was very spacious and very clean. The pools were great and the Tiki bar with Captain Bill was terrific. The twins on the beach were extremely helpful in booking excursions and just making sure our time on Grace Bay was relaxing. Could not have asked for a nicer stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing