We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms were great, very clean, updated, spacious and located close to everything. I actually liked that we were not directly on the beach! We walked by everyone elses pool and restaurant but no one walked by ours. It had a nice tucked away feel. Having the kitchenette was very helpful. We would walk to the supermarket close by and get snacks. We didnt take advantage of it, but they have two weber grills that we could have made our dinner on.

I would love to come back here with my family one day. This was the perfect babymoon! I am 4 months pregnant and felt safe and well taken care of at all times. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. I very much recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for a nice quiet stay, doesnt mind a 600 ft walk to the beach and prefers a more intimate place.

Room Tip: We had a studio and it was perfect for a couple, very spacious, quiet. 50 ft from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 743 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great stay at Villa Del Mar, and would highly recommend this hotel-particularly to a value conscious vacationer. We traveled as a couple but recognized this hotel would be perfect for families.

Pros: Very nice rooms with updated decor and travertine floors; extremely spacious-our 2 bedroom suite could have slept 6; nicely kept pools and grounds; staff is very gracious.

Cons: This property is not ON the beach, however it is very close, just across the street; lots of lizards on the property (I rather like the wildlife, but just be aware in case you have lizard-phobia); a little bit further outside of town than some of the other resorts-we were able to explore into Provo on bicycles, but it would be a little far on foot. If you can put up with these little issues, you will probably save $1000 or more by choosing this hotel. It was well worth it for us. (Everything on TCI ends up being about 25% higher after they factor in taxes and fees.)

Be aware that some of the photos of this resort on TripAdvisor are actually photos of the neighboring (expensive) resort, Grace Bay.

Also worthy of mention is the exceptional concierge service we received from Lynco, the front desk attendant. He really helped us maximize our time on the island, and is an asset to the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As many others have said and which I will repeat, the main reason for staying at Villa del Mar is simply the cost compared to other hotels nearby. Obviously it's not directly on the beach but if you have 2 functioning feet, you'll be fine walking the 600ft from your room, across a non busy street and through the Grace Bay Resort to the beach.

We had a wonderful 1st floor 2 bedroom suite next to the front of the hotel. The room had everything a family could need. Fully stocked kitchen, pull out sofa and most importantly, a washer and dryer which the resort replenished detergent for daily.

The resort was mostly quiet with only the occasional siting of people by either of the pools. We never heard anyone above or to the side of us or outside even during the manager happy hour on Fridays. Breakfast was served poolside daily from 7:30 to 9:30. The offerings were basic (coffee, juice, toast, cereal, bagels) but met the needs.

The hotel is a short walk from multiple restaurants and an IGA Graceway Gourmet grocery store which is probably just about 2/3 a mile away (good store, had everything you'd need for your stay, obviously pricey but your on an island so there's no comparing prices to the US).

There is a casino a short walk away from the hotel but unfortunately we weren't able to hit it before leaving.

A special thanks to the folks at Grace Bay club. We ate there several times for dinner and lunch and had drinks at their pool side bar and all were wonderful. We met a wonderful family there whose daughters gladly accepted our daughter into their bunch for playtime at the pool and beach.

On additional side note, there are multiple resorts that offer dinner on the beach. We went to the Seven Seas Resort for a dinner beach brunch on Sunday evening. Cost was $55 a person.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livingfortravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

While not directly on the beach, it is so close that it just doesn't matter. The 2 bedroom was very spacious and very clean. The pools were great and the Tiki bar with Captain Bill was terrific. The twins on the beach were extremely helpful in booking excursions and just making sure our time on Grace Bay was relaxing. Could not have asked for a nicer stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Going to Villa Del Mar for the 4th time is most definitely like going home. It was great to see new faces and familiar faces. This time we got married there and the staff like always was so accomodating and helpfull. Our two year old had a blast with everyone and enjoyed the pool. Thanks to Tendra, Lerone & Kerone, all the maintenance staff and the housekeeping staff. It was great seeing Nadine again. Complimentary breakfast was great. Quality and Standard remains the same. Love this hotel and love Provodenciales!

Room Tip: Anything on third and fourth floor is good. I have never stayed on any other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee14515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We found Villa del Mar at the last minute, after a planned rental in Providenciales turned out to be...not as advertised, to put it mildly. Surfing the net, we found a great deal on a 2-BR condo at Villa Del Mar, and immediately booked and checked in. (Fortunately, this is low season and there was lots of availability.) We selected Villa del Mar for its location, space and price and we couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk staff is extremely gracious and helpful, the grounds and pool are lovely. We enjoyed their complimentary welcoming rum punch at the bar. A304 is a corner unit, light and spacious, with a full kitchen. While Villa Del Mar is not right on the beach, it is a very short walk, with all the beach amenities available. On an island where prices can be outrageous, this is a good option, with the space of a condo, amenities of a resort, located near shops and restaurants, quiet and beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katgalmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My teenage sons and I spent 8 nights at the Villa del Mar. We had a 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor. As other reviewers have said, the hotel was spotless, the staff was very pleasant, the full kitchen was invaluable, and it was extremely lose to the beach. The only difference between this hotel and those directly on the beach was, I believe, the size of the swimming pools. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the sofa bed in the living room was a bit springy.

I have to give a special shout out to the Villa del Mar and its general manager, Tendra, who couldn't have been nicer. When my son became dehydrated from the heat and activity, she not only sent a car to pick us up from the hospital but even offered to let a driver use her own car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaSinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.2 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,486 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,987 reviews
2.1 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $224 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing