We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Second Stay Was Great Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Club
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second Stay Was Great Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just wanted to thank Asha, Eduardo, and the rest of the crew for making our return trip sensational.
I will echo much of what I wrote the first time around - this is such a phenomenal destination for a family with young children, like our own. The snorkeling could not be easier - and it's not just Smith Reef, there are unparalleled extremely kid friendly snorkeling options the opposite direction as well. The fact that the resort does not overwhelm the size of the pool, and the shade, make the pool easy to use any time of day (or evening).
It was great to see many returning guests from last year, and I think that's a testament to the fact that the West Bay Club is a phenomenal property. The rooms are great, the views sensational, the beach the best on the island, and the water options so easy. My kids are already begging us to book a 3rd trip...
Thanks again to the staff, and we hope to return soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    178
    32
    7
    11
See reviews for
221
530
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our stay at the West Bay Club was truly the perfect vacation! First of all, T&C is beautiful. Pristine beaches, beautiful ocean views everywhere, amazing scuba diving. Here's my take on the stay: Grace Bay Beach is awesome, but is very touristy and the "main strip" can get crowded. Summer is the low season, but the "main strip" resorts were still pretty full from what I could tell. West Bay Club (and the Gansevoort which is right next door) are located on the west part of grace bay beach (hence "west bay" club). They are isolated from the "main strip" resorts so to me it almost felt like we had grace bay to ourselves. West bay club was only at ~20% capacity when we stayed which helped. I recommend a luxury suite that has a kitchen. we bought groceries from the local IGA which saved a lot of money on lunches and dinner (we only went out for dinner 2 nights during a full 5 day stay, all other meals we made). beach is beautiful at west bay club, breakfast is continental and complimentary (coffee, eggs, fruits, don't expect gourmet). everyone is laid back and very friendly. the only knock would be that the pool facilities are nowhere near as nice as gansevoort (next door) but we didn't go to the caribbean to hang at the pool so it didn't matter to us. overall a great experience and i would not hesitate to go back to west bay club.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the time of my arrival to the time of my departure I felt I was in a dream. This was the most comfortable luxurious stay I've had in years. The staff are very good at anticipating your needs and accommodating them to the fullest. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Let your heart make the choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonJ374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have to admit I read a fair amount of salty reports about the West Bay Club just before we went. Those folks were all wrong!!
The staff were tremendous and the food at the Atlantic Bar and Grill was great. We ate there several times with our three kids (11,9,5). The food at each meal was great and folks could not have been more helpful.
Breakfast was included in the room and it was great. They cooked eggs for everyone at their outdoor kitchen and the service was great.
The room was over the top. Nobody need a 3K sq ft room on vacation but it was beautiful. The view from the fifth floor was probably the best we have ever had. The beach and the water were beautiful. We walked just down the beach to the reef to snorkel and the staff on the beach got us all set up with a half day snorkely trip and some parasailing!
We will absolutely be back the next chance we get.

Room Tip: Room was HUGE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd year in a row staying at The West Bay Club. The property is on one of the widest and quietest areas of beach in Grace Bay. One of the reason's we keep on returning is the quaintness of the property. It's small yet still has a restaurant and bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive. Eduardo and the rest of the beach crew were great and always friendly and helpful. Tristan and James and JoSue were wonderful at the bar and also very helpful as well as everyone at the front desk.

We always stay in a one bedroom unit and it has always been impeccably clean and fully stocked with everything we needed. We can't wait to return next year!

For more casual restaurants we like to visit the Conch Shack and Somewhere. For a little nicer evening Magnolia's, Bay Bistro, Hemingway's and Mango's are all great as well.

We booked a 1/2 day snorkeling trip with Provo Sports and they did a great job taking us to Iguana Island and then onto snorkeling and lunch on the beach. Also visited Mudjin Harbour on Middle Caicos and had a great time. It's about a half hour ferry ride to North Caicos and then we rented a jeep and explored North and Middle Caicos. The staff was very helpful and set both of these trips up for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here a week in early June and were very disappointed. No one (with the exception of Eduardo) went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast service was awful. The girl was so slow setting things up with an uncaring manner. Boy, back in the states, she would be fired! Always texting or playing games on her phone. I had given the front desk postcards to mail, and 6 weeks later, they finally arrived. I'm sure they sat there never bothering to take care of them like they said they would. I would say that overall, they could care less if you stayed here. Got the impression too that we were bothering them when we needed assistance. Loved the island but not this resort! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestgirl242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dlunderwood, Manager at West Bay Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for staying at The West Bay Club, we do appreciate you taking time to post a review. Our guest comments are very important to us and I am disappointed to hear that our service levels didn’t meet your expectation. The appropriate department heads were notified and further action, including training will follow. Please be assured that this is not the standard for our service levels and I sincerely apologize for your experience.
Most of our guests are returning guests that also recommend The West Bay Club to their friends and the majority of posted comments are of how wonderful our staff is.
However if The West Bay Club team members training is something we can polish, the efficiency of the local post office is beyond our control. Because of that we do not encourage guests to use this service but rather use the on line e cards located on our website.
Once again we at The West Bay Club regret that your stay was not as enjoyable as you expected but we can assure you that we will work hard to improve and given the opportunity hope to restore your faith in TCI and The West Bay Club.
Best regards,
Roxana Underwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After reading articles praising the beaches in Providenciales, not to mention the glowing reviews on this site, we booked a week at the West Bay Club on their website. This became relevant during our check-out, as the wording on their site regarding their cancellation policies was different on our copy (from when we originally booked) compared to the copy that the front desk gave us on our last day. Our copy had the wording "7 days prior to arrival the balance will be charged" which meant we wouldn't have to deal with paying the balance (after already paying a 3 night deposit) while trying to check out. However, the copy Angela gave us did not have the wording regarding the balance payment, so were ended up having to pay the balance at check-out after all. The fact that this was changed from the time we booked in March to our stay in July was very troubling, as this was not a cheap vacation. I state this upfront as this was only one of "little surprises" that marked our stay.
As for the hotel, I learned that boutique is the new way of saying economy/efficiency, but with nicer appliances. It's similar to how dealerships say "pre-owned" instead of "used" when trying to sell cars. Anyway, the hotel room was clean and cute: the one bedroom suite had a king-sized bed with a very soft mattress cover, built-in closets, a mini-balcony overlooking the pool, flat-screen tv's, cable (although reception could've been better), wi-fi, tidy kitchen with glass tile (loved this look!) small fridge, microwave, oven, dishwasher, toaster, blender, etc. The living/dining area was very airy, especially if you opened both sliding glass doors.
Now, that airiness that was so refreshing was due to the ever-present wind gusts. I'm surprised it's not mentioned by more reviewers, as it made a huge impression on us during our stay, and is one of the reasons we won't be going back. It even seemed like the hotel designers tried to maximize the wind by installing vents in the stairwells, which felt good as you were going back to your room after a hot day. But, when we were lounging at the pool, the harsh winds were really noticeable. They were even more noticeable while swimming in the ocean, as the current was very strong. They could've advertised the health benefits of having your very own reverse current "pool" right at the beach! Those wind gusts could even be heard on the videos we took while site-seeing. Also, while walking on the beach, I joked to my husband that it felt like my legs were getting sandblasted. Note for possible spa procedure?
As for the service at the hotel, well, it has room for improvement. The concierge service was never mentioned, although it did look like there was an area for it, but I never saw anyone actually at the desk. The rum punch drinks were a nice touch to welcome us, however, a shuttle service would have been much nicer. Really, really consider this! The daily breakfasts consisted of coffee, some juices, some cereals, bagels, tiny stale-tasting pastries, and eventually, some scrambled eggs in a warmer. The first night we ate at their restaurant and encountered our first sticker-shock: a dirty banana priced at $18. Whoa! The next day I ordered a "skinny b****" based on the bartender's recommendation and it cost almost $16. I think the cheapest alcoholic drink we had during the entire trip was $4.50 for a Turks Head at a local restaurant.
I know there are those who'll laugh at my sticker-shock and dismiss it as naiveté. It's just odd to be paying hilariously high prices on tropical drinks and then step outside of the hotel grounds to see the real world. So yeah, I'm likely to tick off the foodies, but I don't give a crap about finding the island's best fish taco when I have doubts about my safety.
And, one last thing I'd like to suggest to the hotel: please consider purchasing disposable snorkel mouthpieces. I know the beach guys wash them in a big plastic tub, but still, I was glad I brought my own to use.
Overall, it was a learning experience for us that we won't forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#3 of 43 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 43 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Club

Property: West Bay Club
Address: Lower Bight Rd | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#11 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Bay Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Bay Club blends the warmth and comfort of home with the amenities and service of the finest resorts at our celebrated location on the widest stretch and tranquil west end of Turks & Caicos' award-winning Grace Bay Beach. Our all-oceanfront suites and serene setting combine to create the perfect environment for relaxation. Personalized, handmade experiences are crafted each day by our devoted staff, so guests' visits to our luxury boutique property become cherished, lifelong memories. Suites all include oceanfront terraces, full kitchens, ensuite baths and expansive living space, making West Bay Club's luxurious, comfortable accommodations the ideal backdrop for a Caribbean getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your West Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Club Hotel Providenciales
West Bay Hotel
West Bay Resort
West Bay Club Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing