We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luxury value...just a notch below Grace Bay's top resorts”
Review of West Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Bay Club
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good luxury value...just a notch below Grace Bay's top resorts”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my 10th trip to the island, having previously stayed at many top resorts on Provo (Grace Bay Club, Seven Stars, The Somerset, and The Veranda before it was sold to Beaches). Since we needed a three bedroom unit for this stay during a peak spring break week, West Bay Club afforded a far better value than some of the properties we've frequented. For about half the rate of the top properties we were able to get an ocean view three bedroom suite. In fact, the room they gave us was actually a one bedroom ocean view suite connected to a two bedroom ocean view suite which meant we had TWO full kitchens and two washer/dryers. My kids and mother essentially had their own apartment as did my husband and I. Nice! The suite was well equipped, well cleaned with great views. My main complaint is that there was a slightly musty odor in the one bedroom apartment section. I am guessing that it had not been recently occupied or air conditioned. Also, the kitchen knives were rusty and need to be replaced. The washer/dryer worked very well...among the best I have ever used while traveling and I am bit of a laundry junkie. Housekeeping was terrific, but there is no turn down service like at the top resorts. This did not bother us at all since it is often an annoyance to be interrupted while getting ready for dinner or bed. We had a couple minor problems working the safes and the repairman was there within minutes of calling the front desk.

The beachfront at West Bay Club is wonderful. It is set on one of the widest and most low density section of Grace Bay. Although it was a high occupancy period, there was never a shortage of beach or pool chairs, though they did seem to be constantly short on towels (especially at the pool). The beach attendants, particularly Eduardo, were great. He took the family out on the Hobie Cat and I watched him patiently teach many a guest to windsurf. Kayaks, SUPs, snorkel gear and plenty of beach toys were readily available at no extra charge. We took full advantage of the great equipment. Unfortunately, the weather was very windy during our week so we did not get to snorkel. There is sea grass in this stretch of beach, unlike the crystal clear waters on the more eastern resorts. This did not bother us at all and, in fact, would have made for great snorkeling during a less windy period. My daughter found a sea star near the grass on our first day, before the winds picked up. The offshore reef is only a 5 minute walk away, so West Bay Club is prime spot for avid snorkelers. There is a beach bar right on the sand for cocktails, but they do not provide drinking water. For that, we needed to walk to the bar by the pool. Not a big deal, but his is an easy fix, West Bay Club!

The pool is small but never felt crowded and was actually quite pretty. Comfortable, cushioned loungers were always available, though towels were hit or miss. Since the pool is set back from the beach it was a good spot on the exceptionally windy days. They had some fun floats in the pool for the kids to play with too. Unfortunately, I do not think the pool is heated, so if it is chilly, the water will be cold.

The West Bay Club's weakest area is food and beverage. As previously mentioned, we could not get a cup or bottle of water at the beach bar. The continental breakfast is limited and boring and the coffee is weak. The wait staff is lovely, especially Rose, but the restaurant service for lunch and dinner can be excruciatingly slow, even when we were the only ones there! The lunch food was okay but the one dinner we had there was downright bad. The orders were mixed up, the fish was horribly overcooked, the service was slow and the food was absurdly overpriced considering the quality. If staying at The West Bay Club, one should rent a car, as we did, to enjoy the island's terrific offsite restaurants.

While there is no Kids Club onsite, the lounge provides many board games for families to use. Since we were there during Easter it would have been nice if the resort had organized an egg hunt or something for the kids, but they did nothing special. If the weather is not good, the island has limited options for activities and excursions as everything is ocean based.

Overall, we had an excellent stay at The West Bay Club and found it to be a good value, though a notch less luxurious, compared to the other properties on Provo we've tried. Next time we need a two or three bedroom unit, I would definitely return to The West Bay Club if we are able to get a similar rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    197
    37
    8
    11
See reviews for
261
598
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Brook, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

WBC is perfection (size, amenities, location-Grace Bay, and the staff)! Traveling out of the country with children (one with very severe food allergies) can be a little nerve wracking, but my husband called Roxanne at WBC and she put us at ease! We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse Mar 16-23 and the weather was amazing (no rain)! There are two IGA stores (the bigger one is very close, and the gourmet one with specialty items is 10 min away)! Breakfast is included and served until 10am, and we stocked the kitchen with lunch items so we could just have sandwiches or hotdogs on the beach! Water sports are also included (hobie cat, kayaks, YOLO boards, and snorkeling equipment)! The guys on the beach (Charles, Edwardo, Wildy, & William) are fantastic and get your chairs ready in a snap (no need to go save chairs because there are plenty) and they help entertain your kids too (volleyball, soccer, etc)! Snorkeling at Bight Reef is a short walk down the beach and while you are there 'Somewhere Bar' is a great lunch spot! My seven year old loved the WBC beach bar and the virgin daiquiris! There is also a place to grill out on the beach if you wanted to do that! We went out almost every night- Coco Bistro (call way ahead), and Mango Reef (live music & lobster curry) were our favorites! Asha and the other girls at the front will help you make reservations if you want! The whole resort is luxurious, but small enough that you feel like everyone knows you! I felt like we were in 'Cheers' by the second day! I was also comfortable with my boys (7 and 13) going back and forth to the room! The pool is not large, but I love the design and it is a great late afternoon activity (with chairs and hammock all around the pool deck)! Spa Tropique is on site and the island indulgence with Elaine was excellent! Customer Service is the top priority here and it shows! This was our favorite family trip ever and we will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mtnbrookdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I will say first: I am suspicious of many of the reviews written here. I based our final decision about where we'd stay on TCI based on the abundance of exuberant kudos here. The reality was somewhat different. This was the first time ever I've really questioned the usefulness of TripAdvisor.

So--it was a lovely resort. The rooms ARE very clean, really pretty, very convenient for our family of four. The view alone, with the amazingly blue water and wide sky, was restful.
The beach IS gorgeous and the staff there absolutely responsive, friendly, and helpful. Ditto for housekeeping. Front desk staff is also very nice and fairly helpful.

But if you are traveling with kids, this may not be the place for you. We never once went in the pool. It is really small and cold. (More on TCI weather, below.) There isn't even a ping-pong table, no videos to speak of, no movie channels--nothing. We knew other people from our hometown there, and they used the babysitting service once and said it was okay, but we didn't. Therefore, my husband and I had very little time alone and/or together.

It was the restaurant, breakfast, food service that was terrible to the point of comical. Tired from our travels, we ate lunch there the first day. It took an hour for our food to arrive, and we had to ask maybe 4 times where our drinks were. Ditto for the only other time we ever ate there again. In both instances (and often at breakfast), the service was awful. The chefs at the outdoor kitchen argued incessantly. People around us gave up and left instead of waiting. The food itself--if you ever got it--was merely okay. The breakfast got very old, very fast. Getting coffee or anything a la carte was a joke. (When my pancakes finally arrived after 40 minutes, they were raw inside.) (Though it's true--it's an added value. Outside food on this island, including for groceries, is jaw-droppingly expensive.)

We ended up going to another hotel to swim in their heated pool and use their hot tub. We ate lunch at the Gansevoort probably 4 times. Excellent food. Expensive, but no more so than other good lunch spots. We ate "off-campus" every night. Highly recommend Caicos Cafe. (I'm from the NYC area and am very picky about my food! This restaurant rates up there with excellent NYC ones.) Had dinner and breakfast at Somewhere Cafe (Coral Gardens, down the beach). Fun place. Yummy pastries. Decent food.

Had a fabulous massage at The Gaansvoort. Tried to book one at the WBC "spa," but they messed up my reservation, so I never went back (though they did offer me a free massage in return).

Weather: Never topped 80, sunny every day, BUT could get windy. One day, we were not allowed to swim, and it was impossible to be on the beach because of the wind. Because of that breeze, the water could be cool on first entry. (It is not as warm as, say, St. Martin's water.)

We did take a couple of snorkeling excursions, which were fun, but crowded. (Try to rent a private tour. Coral Gardens down the beach has a Dive Shop where you can get a good bead on what's available.) Iguana Island was hot, but kinda fun.

Having said all that, I am missing TCI. When we go back, it will probably be to Beaches, where our kids can have more things to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ASM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It’s cold up here in the Northeast as I reminisce about my trip to the West Bay Club a year ago, this week…..ahhhhhhhhh…….(xylophone bells – can you heard them?)

Our plane ride (US Air) from Philly to Provo was on time and uneventful (the way we like it). It's not that we're affraid of flying, it's just the crashing we don't like.

We scheduled our trip from Wednesday to Wednesday having read some of the other reviewers horror stories on trip advisor about "Airport Saturdays". Thank you TA reviewers!! When we arrived on Wednesday there were hardly any lines to speak about both coming in and departing. Customs was a breeze and we easily found our way to the Gracie Bay Car Rental counter and were in our van in no time. The West Bay Club is about a 10 minute ride from the airport and the map and direction that we were given made things easy. Driving on the other side of the rode took a little getting use to, but the left hand turn signal / windshield wipers debacle lasted all week....you'll see!

We arrived at the West Bay Club (WBC) and were greeted with cool towels, island rum punches and friendly smiles. Everyone we met from the front desk staff to the guys on the beach were all so helpful and friendly!

We rented a 4 bedroom 3rd floor suite for our party of 9 (6 Adults and 3 kids) and it was just perfect. The views from our 2 patios couldn’t have been better. Turquoise water and that warm island breeze . We quickly unpacked our bags and heading down to the beach. The WBC sits on the widest stretch of beach on Grace Bay so there was plenty of room for everyone to spread out. The beach never felt crowded and there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas and several beach attendants to help…Great crew…Wildly, Eduardo…you guys are the best!

Our kids loved their daily swim in the pool on our way back from a hard day at the beach. The infinity pool was clean, refreshing and provided a nice happy hour setting each afternoon prior to dinner..

Our 4 bedroom suite was finely appointed, clean and everyone had plenty of room to spread out. Bathrooms were large and there was a washer and dryer that made laundry very convenient. The kitchen was stocked with plates, cutlery, glasses, blender, coffee machine, pots and pans, spices. Couldn’t think of anything that we needed other than food and alcohol which were only a 5 minute car ride away. We ate breakfast in our room, but the kids enjoyed going down to the buffet to butter their own bagels.

We went out to dinner just about every night:

Coco Bistro – Great menu and dinner under the Palm Trees. It was very crowed so book early or you will have trouble getting in.

Mango Reef – Went as a group and thought the food was good…not great. One of the largest menus on the island. Something for everyone. Loved the atmosphere out on the deck and live music.

Somewhere - 3 times – We love mexican and went mostly because it was a quick walk down the beach, but also because e they have amazing fish tacos and the best margaritas.

The Deck at Seven Stars – a combination of great food and incredible atmosphere. Our favorite hangout spot and where we’d end up most nights.Live music as well with a few fire pits stoaked at night!!

Sharkbites – Our last night – It was a burger and chicken sandwich joint. Very casual and
kid friendly..

Las Brisas – 2 lunches - Great sandwiches, really cool poolside bar overlooking Chalk Sound’s sea green water. Amazing!! Our favorite lunch spot

We also banana boated, parasailed and snorkeled. One of the advantages of staying at the WBC is that Bight Reef is a few hundred yards down the beach. Great corals and all kinds of fish swimming around. Also a surprisingly strong current. We also visited Taylor Bay and Sapodilla Bay…beautiful shallow water beaches where you could walk out for a 1/4 mile and never get your shoulder wet.

I can’t say enough good things about this resort. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: secure a higher floor to have a better view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This resort is first class. The beach where it is located is literally just steps away and consists of pure white sand, turquoise waters, and very few other people. The service is top notch and the staff are very friendly. The restaurant on the property is excellent.
My family stayed in one of the 2 bdrm suites on the 4th floor....lovely & spacious with a beautiful full kitchen. Plenty of closet space too. The balcony is huge with tables & chairs for lounging and surf watching. And everything is absolutely perfectly clean.
The pool area is gorgeous and uncrowded with attentive service. There are attentive and friendly staff on the beach as well to make sure you are provided with lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels and a drink. The resort is just minutes from the airport. A breakfast buffet was included but we just enjoyed a light breakfast in our own kitchen....a wonderful grocery store is just down the road and we stocked our kitchen with everything we wanted to eat. If you want someone to grocery shop for you prior to your arrival, they will do that too!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a wide open view of the beach...literally right outside. There were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a gorgeous setting! WBC has the best part of the Grace Bay beach, wide, quiet, turquoise waters. The staff was always friendly and helpful, greeting us with a rum punch on arrival. Our 1 bedroom suite was very clean and nicely furnished with a pretty beach view from the balcony. The rooms were large with complete kitchen,washer/dryer and 11/2baths. The attendants on the beach could not have been nicer or more helpful, assisting with paddel boards, kayaks and Hobie Cats, towels, chairs, umbrellas and watermelon, a bar and food service. They need new beach lounges as theirs are getting a bit old aren't very comfortable. The food at the WBC is pretty good though the service is slow. But honestly, where did we have to go?? The eating area is fine, but could use an update. Go to the Fish Fry close by on Thurs. night. What fun! We had a very relaxing time here and would return in an instant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic week at the West Bay Club. From the moment we arrived, the staff was welcoming, inviting, and full of great suggestions for restaurants and things to do on the island. We loved that it was a short drive from the airport to WBC and it was so nice to be greeted by rum punch upon arrival at the hotel.
We had a studio room which was perfect for us - modern, clean, plenty of space, and a kitchenette with a sink, mini fridge, and microwave. The hotel is only 5 years old so everything felt really new.
The beach at WBC is absolutely worth the price of admission! The sand is soft, the beach staff keeps it super clean by picking up any seaweed that gathers on the sand, and the water is crystal clear. Walking up and down the beach, we were really happy to find that WBC had the most space for guests to spread out and relax on comfortable chairs (that were set up with towels each day by the great beach staff - William is awesome!). The Gansevoort, which is right next door to WBC, is significantly more expensive for exactly the same beach space. The other resorts seemed to have guests' chairs really close together with a lot of chaos while WBC was quiet, calm, and relaxing. The beach staff is great and suggested different water sports (all non-motorized water sports at the hotel are free). There is a bar on the beach, as well as near the pool, that was really convenient.
The staff at the WBC gave us great restaurant suggestions and was always happy to call a cab for us (thank you, Asha!), confirm reservations, etc. Thanks to the incredible staff, the perfect location, and that incredible beach, we will absolutely return to the West Bay Club as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MATraveler617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,422 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,552 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Club

Property: West Bay Club
Address: Lower Bight Rd | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#8 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — West Bay Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Bay Club blends the warmth and comfort of home with the amenities and service of the finest resorts at our celebrated location on the widest stretch and tranquil west end of Turks & Caicos' award-winning Grace Bay Beach. Our all-oceanfront suites and serene setting combine to create the perfect environment for relaxation. Personalized, handmade experiences are crafted each day by our devoted staff, so guests' visits to our luxury boutique property become cherished, lifelong memories. Suites all include oceanfront terraces, full kitchens, ensuite baths and expansive living space, making West Bay Club's luxurious, comfortable accommodations the ideal backdrop for a Caribbean getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your West Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Club Hotel Providenciales
West Bay Hotel
West Bay Resort
West Bay Club Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing