We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Special”
Review of Coco Bistro

Coco Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set amidst the largest palm grove on the island of Providenciales in the Turks and Caicos Islands, Coco Bistro is a food lover's fantasy in a one-of-a-kind setting. Located in the heart of Grace Bay, within walking distance from most resorts, Coco Bistro serves fresh local cuisine under a starlit sky and swaying coconut palms. Complementing the delightful island ambience is a culinary experience considered among the best in Turks and Caicos. Starting with the freshest local ingredients and enhanced by the skills and imagination of executive chef/owner, Stuart Gray, Coco Bistro stands out as a 'must visit' by visitors and residents. Gray has earned a reputation for consistently creating, fresh, flavorful Caribbean cuisine and his personal attention to every detail ensures an exceptional dining experience.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Special”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A wonderful restaurant. Great food and fabulous ambience. We ate at many fine restaurants on the island, but in my view this was the best. Reserve well in advance!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,491
    867
    346
    81
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay at Grace Bay”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The setting is great. Beautiful, charming - sorta reminds me of Edith's in Cabo. The hype is oversold. The food is pricey and does not live up to its reputation. We didn't make reservations and we seldom do because we're on vacation and don't want to hurry up and relax to get to our next meal.

We went in shoulder season and there were plenty of empty tables that never filled up. Yet the concierge and everybody else told us they don't do walk-ins. Again, the hype....

Bottom line: food was not that spectacular. But I'd go back for the ambiance as long as I'm not seated next to a business dinner where the guy pitched his deal for two long hours.

Hype everywhere in such an idyllic setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bchloverCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Brilliant food, beautiful ambiance, superb experience! We didn't have reservations and wound up waiting but well worth it. Wouldn't think twice about going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rielp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

After reading reviews online prior to our trip to Turks & Caicos, I chose to make reservations in advance for this dining experience. It was definitely a wise choice as the restaurant is always booked solid. Dining under the palms with the flickering tiki lights was serene. It was a bit warm around 7pm so dress light. There are insects this time of day so put on some bug spray prior to arrival or chose to dine indoors. Steven was accommodating even after we missed our original reservation and arrived the following evening. He was very personable, making his rounds to check in with everyone as they dined at his lovely restaurant. There is an impressive wine list here and the food was amazing. Make sure you save room for dessert, it's not to be skipped! A++

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What's with all the hype?”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

To be told there is a three week waiting list to get a table was shocking. The food is average for the price you pay, the wines were pretty average too.

We expected way more from such a hyped up restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raveera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Bistro also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Coco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing