We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of The Regent Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Regent Grand
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
cp2mom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Great, friendly staff. Very clean...attentive to all needs of the guests. Perfect for families due to your large washer/dryer and full kitchen! The most spectacular, turquoise beach ever seen. Fantastic restaurants! The prettiest pool in the island!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    83
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
290
342
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Be aware that this is a "boutique resort" or what I like to call a "do it yourself" resort. Let me preface by saying that the staff is lovely. They try very hard to please you, however, there is not much service. There is a small bar near the pool with NO waitstaff just one bartender. The ocean is beautiful (as all of Grace Bay is) but there are limited umbrellas and chairs set up and if they are taken...good luck finding someone to put one up for you. I was almost blown in to the ocean trying to set one up myself. Again, no waitstaff by the beach either. My husband and I stayed at the Regent Palms last year and had a fantastic time! Although the service is not stellar, there is a great pool bar, food, beach staff to help with towels and chairs or to get you a drink by the beach...there is none of this at the Grand. At the Grand for breakfast you are served a small cardboard box with a small croissant and a little cup of fruit. Maybe some small kiddie juice and yogart as well. Pretty disappointing. At the Palms they had a huge buffet with all kinds of assorted fruits, breads etc. Coffee and teas brewing all day...none of this at the Grand. Email is a great way to communicate on the island and at the Grand there is no media room, just a lap top they lend you that you can use in the foyer's front entrance of the hotel.
For the price we paid I expected much more than we got. Keep in mind that a lot of reviews are from property owners who want you to stay here...I wish I had kept that in mind before we went. To sum it up...a lovely looking resort, great location, wonderful staff...without any real service of any kind, no great extras, no restaurant attached but one behind that you can order from your room (expensive), no pool or beach staff. For the money you will pay to stay here, you can find a much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lovethebeach023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I would highly recommend the Regent Grand for many reasons. Even before we arrived, Jona was very helpful in making reservations (golf and restaurants) for us. When we arrived we were welcomed by Jona and given a complimentary drink and shown to our room. We stayed in a beautiful 2 bedroom oceanfront room. It was gorgeous. We really liked the quiet atmosphere, location and wonderful service. My husband took advantage of the complimentary golf and found Provo Golf Course a good golf experience.
The breakfast worked out well for us as my husband took his "boxed" breakfast (consisted of a pastry, yogurt, fruit and a juice box) with him to the course and I was able to sit and open mine on the balcony and enjoy the view.
Calvin who is at the front desk in the afternoon/evening was very helpful and gave us advice on directions and taking care of anything we would need.
From the security guards to the beach and pool attendants and David at the bar, everyone was great.
Would highly recommend the Regent Grand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I just spent 7 days on our honeymoon at the Regent Grand. It truly is a magnificient property, centrally located with exquisitely attentive staff. It resides on a beautiful stretch of beach and has a fabulous pool and work out room. Ms. Beverly was gracious enough to upgrade us to a 2 bedroom oceanfront suite which we loved. I can't say enough good things about this resort. My only complaint, if you can call it that, is that for young honeymooners, it might be too quiet. It would be well served to add a couple of sunset cocktail hours (it already has one per week) and perhaps some live music. Other than that, we loved it and can't rave enough about it

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrizzle2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here for 5 days and loved the highly professional but warm service. It has a great location to both all parts of the beach and also to a nice grocery store, car/moped rental, and restaurants. The breakfast is simple but a nice plus to have it delivered. Our room (a studio which we were likely the first renters) was simple but very nice and a great view of the pool. The staff is amazing and definitely the best of any place I stayed at. The hotel is small enough to provide this level of service. Other pluses were bikes, a great pool, the spa. Only downsides were that the hot tub was out of service and no closet in the studio room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

My husband and I spent 5 days at The Regent Grand ( 3 days business / 2 days pleasure). It was a wonderful experience because the service was excellent, the property is beautiful and the water is GORGEOUS!! The spa, health club and daily breakfast is an added bonus.

The town of Grace Bay is very close and there are several good restaurants. Also, the airport is only 15 minutes away.

The Regent Grand is a perfect venue for business if the group is under 60 people ( one meeting room). Service is geared more towards a leisure traveler. However, the meeting room is adequate and the food was good.

Besides water sports, there is not much to do in Turks and Caicos but relax......BUT THAT IS A GOOD THING ONCE IN AWHILE!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danacaryindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Regent Grand. 2 adults and 3 kids (6,3,1). Trip was great and the Regent Grand is a good place to stay (depending on what you are looking for as described below). It was our first time in TCI and we will go back.

Hotel.

Labeling the RG as a resort is a bit of a misnomer, as it seems at least have of its residents own the units. It certainly functions like a hotel (maid service, attended pool, bar, etc.) but it does not feel like a resort. By that I mean that there is not an overwhelming amount of staff to attend to you (generally: 1 person at the open lobby, 1 person at a small bar near the pool, a couple of guys picking up towels/setting up and a security guard). The RG staff are very friendly and very helpful regardless, and it was a positive for the RG. For example, the security guard dropped off two conch shells for our kids as a gift on our last day. They will accommodate any request and are very helpful and they made our stay a very good one.

The RG is fairly new and the rooms are well appointed. We had a 2BR/2Bath unit on the ground floor. The kitchen is modern and well equipped (we found it to be lacking nothing). The rooms are large and the place was very clean. The RG provided us with a crib and a high chair. The living room and each bedroom had a flat screen and a dvd player. No stereo. The wireless internet worked well throughout. Best of all was the extra wide and screened sliding glass doors opening the beach area and wave sounds to the living area (LR, DR and Kitchen). The bedrooms face the pool in the front of the RG.

The pool is nice. It has a gradual walk in, rather than stairs, which served us well with young children. It was never crowded, even if it was a popular week, and we could always find chairs at any time of the day. Two Jacuzzi tubs anchor the pool (one is hot and one is just warm which again is helpful as the kids wanted to be in it all the time). All rooms face the pool and the beach (except for 4 rooms which only face the pool).

The beach is as described in the various posts. Great soft sand, nice water. The water is refreshing, 75-80 degrees (guess). RG stets up beach chairs and umbrellas but it is generally self-service. There were always enough chairs. The beach area in front of the RG is not wide, especially during high tide. At first that seemed to disappoint but once we sat down that was quickly forgotten. The beach was quiet even with constant traffic. You can walk up and down the beach and check out all of the resorts (and walk up and eat there too).

Other hotels seemed more lively and provided more of the resort type amenities. For example, Grace Bay Club seemed to have a person walking around the beach for drinks, set up your chair, etc. The had canopied beds on the beach. If you want that, RG is likely not the right place. If you want a quiet place to chill out, RG is good.

Hotel Food.

Every morning they would deliver the included breakfast: A croissant (sometimes stuffed, sometimes plain) or a bagel, fresh fruit, a yogurt and a juice for each of the five of us. The on site restaurant, Vixx, is OK. They were accommodating to the kids and you can go off menu. You have to remember, it’s an island and island food, even if described like a meal stateside, will have a certain weirdness to it. That does not mean it is not good – it is just a little different. If you want to go away for the food, then get a hotel in NYC or LA for a week.

Around the Hotel.

We found the hotel well located. There is a liquor store close by (not a great selection and funky hours, however). The RG bar sells beer and bottles of wine for a very slight markup to what you would pay at home and is your best and most convenient choice. There are several places to eat (see below) and shops if you need something (there is a surf shop, among other things, in the nearby Salt Mills). It is easy to get to other hotels and the Grace Bay restaurants.

There is an organic market within an 8-10 minute walk (or take a bike from hotel and do it in 2 mins). The market is a cross between Whole Foods and any US supermarket, offering up organic and non-organic products. Baby food, diapers, swimmers, wine, beer, cheese, chips, meats, medicine, etc. It is a full service store and they carry all US brands. It costs about 50% more than a comp product at home.

Where to Eat.

Plenty of choices in GB. Dinner for 2 adults and 3 small children ran about $200 - 250. Including drinks and the tip. Lunch was approx $100-140.

Lemon was our favorite. Moroccan/North African. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious. They made grilled chicken on sticks with rice for the kids (which they loved). Have the chickpea salad and hummus starters. We went twice and could have gone more.

Coco Bistro. The setting here was great. The food was good and they were helpful with the kids. I was told it was the best on the island but I did not think so (Lemon). It was #2 however, and you should try it.

The Grill at Grace Bay Club. This was solid and the setting was nice (overlooking the beach at GBC). Steaks, chicken, the usual American fare. Conch fritters were OK (there is a lot of conch on everyone’s menu.

Yoshi Japanese. Pretty good sushi and I saw plenty of local hotel staff having lunch in it. Good for take out to RG.

Thai Orchid. In Regent Village and food was pretty good. Again, we did take out as place is very small.

Vixx. We ate here a couple of times because it was convenient. It was OK, but doubtful you will crave going back. The kids paparadelle and the Rib Eye were the best things I had there. Salads are lacking.

Pizza Pizza. I never expected this to be good and it was not. Kids wanted pizza and its across the street from RG. It won’t kill you.

Irish Pub (can’t recall name but across from RG). Dirty and sub par pub food.

Hemmingways. Wow, was this place terrible. The place was empty and it took over an hour to get our meal. And when we got it, thankfully we had lots our appetite b/c it made the food on American Airlines taste like Bobby Flay made it. Do yourself a favor and stay away. Wait staff was there in body (barely) but not in spirit.

Other Food – there is a diner near the RG but we did not go. Others said it was OK/as expected. We did not go to the Italian place across from regent village. There are a few ice cream shops near by too (subpar) that kids enjoyed.

Things to do.

If you hate sitting around and relaxing, don’t go to TCI. There is not much to do and I could see how kids 10-16 could become bored at RG. There is parasailing and a boat will drag you around Grace bay on a float but I did not see much else. I am sure places like Beaches have lots of activities (they did an afternoon catamaran trip along the coast daily which looked fun). There is an underwater submarine to see coral reef but we never made it. Looked good.

Taxis. We found a guy we liked so we called him for every trip we took. He was on time, every time and would recommend you call him for the same. FYI – you take your own taxi from airport and to airport and RG pays driver. His name was Wayne and his number is [--].

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,552 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Grand

Property: The Regent Grand
Address: Regent Street | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Regent Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, boutique and beachfront property, continues to be highly regarded among the hotels in The Turks and Caicos Islands. During 2016 this hotel has been voted as Turks and Caicos Leading Boutique Hotel for the second year in succession by The World Travel Awards. It has also received the prestigious Travelers' Choice award and its 4 Diamond Status from AAA. 2015 saw The Regent Grand ranked (#1) property in the Turks and Caicos in Trip Advisor's category of Caribbean Luxury Hotels (#9 in the Caribbean), 2015 Turks and Caicos Leading Boutique Hotel by The World Travel Awards, AAA's 4-Diamond rating and voted #1 by US News Top Hotels. Facing 300ft of pristine Grace Bay Beach, The Regent Grand is where memories are made and traditions created! Our staff pride themselves on their personalized service and warm Caribbean hospitality. The Regent Grand is ideally situated in the heart of Grace Bay, adjacent to The Regent Village and seconds from shops, restaurants, bistro bars and duty free. All one, two and three large Ocean-front Suites boast private terraces and the luxury of unobstructed views while our more intimate Pool and Garden Suites overlook our mosaic infinity pool. Full rates include daily housekeeping, breakfast, welcome cocktail and WiFi. Amenities include heated mosaic pool, tennis, bikes, Nautilus gym, pool & beach service, pool bar, Teona Spa and fabulous Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Regent Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Grand Hotel Providenciales
Regent Hotel Grand
Regent Hotel Providenciales
Providenciales Regent
The Regent Grand Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing