We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the Sands Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingway's Restaurant

Hemingway's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 144 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“At the Sands Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Walked here for our hotel along the beach, had the coconut shrimp which was awesome. This restaurant seemed to be a little more reasonably priced than some of the others, Also has live music several nights a week.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    803
    425
    118
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner out, superb service and surrounding, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

One night I was struggling to decide where to eat dinner for a nice but casual dinner on the water. Had checked out a couple spots on a long walk of Grace Bay earlier in the day and reviewed tripadvisor reviews and couldn’t decide. Ended up going to Hemingway's at the Sands Resort. Recent reviews had questioned the quality of the service but the restaurant atmosphere, the service, the food, exceeded our expectations – all excellent. The setting was lovely as well described in the previous post. The furniture was nicer, less beach bar, more beach lounge, than I expected. We (four of us) ended up ordering 4 or 5 drinks, a couple appetizers, 4 entrees and 4 desserts (that what always gets you, no matter where you go, is the $8-9 desserts.) Total bill, with tip was $250. The service was the best we had an the island that has overall good service, the most attentive and very friendly. We loved our dinner at Hemingway's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited Hemingway's in early January 2013. We generally go for dinner though we have been there for lunch on a number of occasions. You will ask for deck seating as long as the weather outlook is positive. The deck is surrounded by Tiki torches and on one side by the ocean chief can hear the waves as you are dining. The menu is very good and the food matches the menu. Perhaps the only thing better is the service. Perhaps my only complaint is the relatively small and very expensive wine list. We've seen a definite escalation in the wine list prices over the past several years.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kahuna2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Attractive spot, solid food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

An attractive restaurant with outdoor seating on the beach. The food and service were good, but probably not memorable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoVaWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food was awful and service extremely rude and slow. We had to send the food back twice. The beer was warm. The server was just rude!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Restaurant also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Hemingway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing