We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good view, service ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingway's Restaurant

Hemingway's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 144 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food, good view, service ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

enjoyed dinner and love the beach front setup.

food is well priced and everything tasted great, id probably go back but too many good places to checkout in the area!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank speeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    803
    424
    118
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sunset central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hit hemis before 6pm and grab the lunch menu at half price that of dinner.watch the sunset in style. Ring the bell if you see jojo or just want to annoy diners.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacati0nnati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I had high hopes- this is where we stayed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I actually ate at Hemingway's twice. Once at dinner and once at lunch. We stayed at the Sands so it was convenient. I ate dinner with my husband one evening and we got starters and entrees and even fried ice cream for dessert recommended by our server. My food was mediocre- the crab cakes. My husband got the Creole Grouper- which was good but not great. He liked it well enough though. We had just eaten at Mango Reef the night before and their grouper is excellent so maybe we unfairly compared the 2. The service was pretty terrible though. We had a woman (a local looking woman) serve us. She jsut seemed to have an attitude from the start. I'm pregnant so I just ordered a water. Good luck getting water refills! Two days later I went back for lunch because my husband was on a fishing trip so I was alone and it was close. I got the fish tacos this time. They were ok. The fries that came with it were pretty bad and extra greasy. Service was again shotty. While there that time, servers were hanging out with each other and I got to listen to their banter. Turns out only 19 of the rooms were booked since we were there during low season. Seems all the workers were bitter about having to be at work and thought the Sands should have closed like other nearby resorts. DIsappointing- since we were still on vacation trying to enjoy our time. Kind of explained all the negative attitudes from the locals (seems as though none of them like working!) I had read great reviews on the food at Hemingways- but it was all so average to me. One of my least favorite spots on the island and I even tried it for lunch and dinner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harper D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good food, good value, right on the beach at The Sands Grace Bay. Service not-so-great. Entree was delivered, and waited 10 minutes for a fork to be replaced

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank labate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have to try the fish tacos and Turks Head beer. Follow that with Bacardi rum cake. Take a dip in the sea and go back for another beer. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Restaurant also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Hemingway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing