We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great vibe”

Chinson's Grill Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great vibe”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been to Provo many times, and always just driven past Chinsons, really because from the road it doesn't look like much. But this time we decided to give it a try, and are we glad we did! Luckily we went on a Thursday, when they were doing jerk. (They only do it Thursday through Saturday). We ordered a couple of beers, sat at one of the picnic tables and had one of the tastiest meals we had on the island. We both had the jerk chicken meal. Just the right amount of spice; jerk doesn't have to blow your head off, nor should it. The atmosphere was great. Very laid back, with both tourists and locals. The owner came over to chat with us, and he is the friendliest guy! He is originally from Newfoundland, so no big surprise there! (I've never met someone from Newfoundland who wasn't super friendly!). Anyway, great experience, in fact we went back again a couple of nights later, and it was just as good. Highly, highly recommend this great little place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    146
    44
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Over the top taste!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

They do brisket on Tuesday and Wednesday that is a life altering experience. Seriously. We ordered the brisket sandwich - it comes on a giant homemade bun. We are from Texas, and never tasted anything this good. Go Tuesday, because you are going to want to go back on Wednesday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth0wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BBQ in Turks & Caicos”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

After noticing the crowds at Chinson--we had to try it. Check their schedule--think they have BBQ on Tues, Wed, Thurs. Jerk on other days of the week. We had the BBQ and it was outstanding! I have lived in parts of the country where BBQ is king--but they have mastered BBQ. There were four of us- we order two plates of the BBQ Sampler--more than enough food. We are glad we stopped in!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman,okla
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

An unexpected gem in Provo. The bar-b-que dinner was wonderful. Get the combination platter so that you can taste several of the meats. Also, the Jamaican loaf bread was wonderful. Took a loaf back to our condo and made wonderful french toast. The view from the hilltop was beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Jerk Chicken/Pork!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is not a waterfront eatery, but what it lacks in location it makes up in spades in awesome food. Located on the main road (Leeward Highway), across the street from the building supply center. Seating is very casual on picnic benches. Went there two nights in a row. I'm a huge fan of jerk chicken and Chinson's is the best on the island. The second night (Friday) was their weekly local food special evening and they were serving mannish water, an authentic Jamaican goat stew. Top that off with some braised oxtail, fried plantains, and a Dragon stout from Jamaica... so tasty!! It is very popular with the locals for take out - you'll see the parking lot packed with cars.

The chef is very friendly and comes out to talk with the guests. Unlike the somewhat indifferent service found elsewhere on the island, the servers here are fast and friendly. DJ spins reggae from an outdoor shack which adds to the nice vibe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_007Style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinson's Grill Shack also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Chinson's Grill Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing