We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Windy Dinner”
Review of Bay Bistro

Bay Bistro
Ranked #25 of 144 Restaurants in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Windy Dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I ate at Bay Bistro Sunday evening, February 17th. For those of you on Provo that night you know how windy it was. The staff at Bay Bistro did a great job keeping the guests comfortable. We shared an order of the conch wontons and were not disappointed. Often when a menu states that a dish is "award winning" I am skeptical. However, this was a delicious starter. We both ordered the tuna special served with a mango chutney and coconut curry sauce. The fish was fresh, cooked medium rare as we ordered and plentiful. Do not skip dessert. Again we ordered from the special menu, strawberry cheesecake. We were expecting a typical New York style, but was pleasantly pleased with a cake with a more curd like texture. Full of flavor and great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachteach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    703
    257
    65
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal though service was only So-So”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were staying a few resorts down, so we were able to walk along the beach to have dinner at Bay Bistro. When we first arrived, we didn't get a super warm welcome. The staff seemed okay, but not as friendly as others we've encountered on our trip thus far. We arrived a lot earlier than our original reservation time, but they were able to seat us in the interior part of the restaurant. We sat down, but decided quickly that we should wait for an outdoor table since the indoor/roofed area was very stuffy in terms of air quality. We flagged down a waitress to make this request and she wasn't the most accommodating. Regardless, we were able to return to the bar area to have a couple drinks while waiting for an outdoor table. Once we were seated (outdoors) and started our dining experience, the meal went rather quickly. While everything we ate was absolutely delicious (best meal I had in Providenciales and with slightly lower prices than other dinner venues), the plates came out rather fast, and the overall experience felt a bit rushed. Service wasn't great - our server was not very attentive and barely noticed when we needed refills.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DowntownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a must try !”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife had the largest lobster tail of her life.As good as it was she
couldn't eat it all.I tried the grouper and found it wonderful.We
dined on the patio by the beach,it was a little dark with tiki torches
for light.Large wine list to chose from.The conch wontons were a
bland for me but not bad .Good dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1bartender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“consistently delightful.......great view”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

lobster dinner is my favorite
my wife always gets the specials.....rib-eye was the best ever!!
service is fine to excellent....prices are the same as most of the other beachside dining.
breakfasts have all the basics and no problems there.
remember the view is a plus, no matter the meal time
be sure to order the bottled water with your meal, the tap water is nasty . on many nights the owner clive will stop by to render greetings and a quick conversation, which is plus in my book.
reservations a must on weekends

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank norita06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Right on the beautiful beach”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a 7 hour layer on Provo between flights from Salt Cay to Dallas. We took a taxi to Sibonne and had a wonderful brunch on the beach at Bay Bistro. The food was good as well as the drinks. After eating we chose to sit out front at one of their patio tables and just take in the beautiful view, beach and cold drinks. It was a wonderful way to spend our time. This restaurant was recommended to us by a lady on Salt Cay-thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wrinkldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Bistro also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Grace Bay, Providenciales
 

Been to Bay Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing