We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockburn Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crabtree Apartments
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My husband and I just returned from an awesome trip to Turks and Caicos and Grand Turk. We stayed the first few days on the Island of Providenciales, which was awesome too, but we really enjoyed the quiet, laid back pace of Grand Turk. We really enjoyed the Crabtree Apartments and the privacy they offered. We were in Unit 1, which is a corner unit. We were the only ones there which was definitely nice, but if the other units were occupied, I don't think it would matter. The apartments are right on the beach with French doors that open up onto the outdoor living room and the beach with the bluest waters I’ve ever seen. The outdoor living room was a great place to read and enjoy the beach, while staying out of the sun. The apartment was very well equipped with a fully stocked kitchen, Caribbean themed cd’s and wonderful linens and beach towels. The home provides wonderful cross ventilation and with the ceiling fans, we never needed to turn on the air conditioning, which was wonderful for listening to the crashing waves and enjoying the sea air. We made breakfast and lunch home most days and ate out in the evenings. The groceries on Grand Turk are limited and I wish I had followed the advice of other reviewers and brought more supplies from home or Provo. The grocery stores on Provo are nice, with most supplies you will need. You certainly won’t starve on Grand Turk, but you will need to get creative. Dutchy from White Man’s Taxi will tour you around the island and take you to the grocery store where you can get water and supplies you need. There were also some groceries to get us started when we arrived such as eggs, bread, coffee and milk, what a great touch. I wished we had brought a raft of something to float on in the water which is calm like a swimming pool.
The town is only a short walk along the beach or a 5 minute bike ride (bikes were provided). We brought a mask and snorkel with us and snorkeled right off of the beach at Crabtree. We rode the bikes to the stores every few days to get more water. It wasn’t a big deal to use bottled water, which we used for coffee, ice cubes, drinking and brushing our teeth. We went to the Sandbar almost every day to chat with the locals and other visitors and drink Richard’s fantastic Rum Punch. We also went to the BBQ at the Osprey Beach Hotel, not to be missed. The island of Grand Turk took quite a hit from Hurricane Ike, which is evident throughout the island, but they are rebuilding and the locals are very happy to have tourists back on the island. There is a cruise ship center on the island, where large cruise ships come and dock every few days. We ventured down there one afternoon and we’re overwhelmed by the place, but luckily, we were able to retreat back to Crabtree. In regards to activities, we rented a golf cart from Nathan Smith (Maria told us where to find him) and toured the island and went out to the lighthouse. We went snorkeling with Oasis Divers one afternoon out to the wall and to Governors Beach. The highlight of the trip was an afternoon with Smitty of Grand Turk Divers where we went to Gibbs Caye for an afternoon of snorkeling and swimming with Sting Rays, followed by a beach bbq and Rum Punch. We hope to go back to Grand Turk someday and if we do, we will definitely stay at Crabtree Apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpelisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week on Grand Turk, and were very, very happy with Crabtree Apartments. The owner made the whole booking process extremely easy, cheerfully and quickly answering every possible question I could think of. The property manager was there when we arrived to give us keys, instructions, advice and more answers to questions.

The apartments are three units snuggled up against the beach. They are right on the water and about a five to ten minute walk from restaurants and a little convenience store. We lived on the spacious veranda, roomy enough for wicker lounge furniture and a patio dining set. We hardly ever saw or heard our neighbors in the adjoining units unless we wanted to - the apartments are very private and quiet.

The apartment is very comfortable - nicely furnished. We especially appreciated the good mattress and thick towels, and the well-equipped kitchen. We made our own breakfast and lunches, and could have done more cooking if we'd been so inclined - everything necessary is there. They even provide start up supplies - eggs, bread, butter and milk as well as coffee, sugar, etc. so you don't have to go shopping right away. There are bikes to explore the island and easy access to dive and snorkel trips.

It is a perfect place to rest and recharge - well managed, comfortable, private and the most beautiful setting imaginable.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank clarefd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My wife, son, and I had an amazing and peaceful experience at Crabtree. The home had recently received some damage due to Hurricane Ike but that has all been repaired. This place is amazing, It's peaceful, the water is mere feet away, and you have completely escaped the world. Snorkeling is great along with the swimming. Except for your home neighbors the beach truly is yours. I usually can express in great detail my experiences at hotels or other vacation events. Crabtree though was just so amazing that it was an emotional event and it is difficult to express how special this place is. I still hear the waves and the picture from my bedroom is still burned into my brain.

The island is terrific. The people are friendly and thankful that you are there considering the repairs they are doing from Hurricane Ike.

You will not be disappointed with Crabtree. I know I'll be back - wishful it would be forever.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BeachTvlr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We just returned from 8 nights at the Crabtree (June 2 to June 10). It was just what we wanted. The location is, I think, the best on the island. The beach is a few steps out the back door and you are within easy walking distance of the restaurants and dive shops in town. The kitchen is stocked with anything you would need to cook at the apartment. There were even a few groceries there for us when we arrived (eggs, bread, milk, butter).

For diving, we went with Smitty of Grand Turk Diving and would definitely recommend him to all levels of divers. Don't miss the trip to Gibbs Gay! We biked to Governors Beach and the beach at the Bohio and both were nice. But our best beach time was spent right outside the Crabtree.

Also, for those wondering, we cooked, made coffee, and brushed our teeth with tap water, but drank bottled water and used bottled water to make ice for mixed drinks and we did not have any problems. As far as restaurants, we only tried the Sandbar and the Osprey (Captain Zhengs was closed the week we were there) and both were pretty good. Make sure to go to the Osprey on Wednesday or Sunday since that is when they have the bbq/cookout. We did get takeout chicken from the Poop Deck, and it was as good as we expected, and the pieces were huge. All in all, a great trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveCaribbean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

What a delightful bungalow and right on the the Caribbean Sea. Very comfortable and cozy! The kitchen facilities are more than adequate and the bedrooms were air-conditioned. And location just couldn't be better. We snorkeled right out of our back door.

As stated in another post, please keep in mind that drinkable water must be purchased. Because of our adventurous spirit, we rode bikes (supplied by the bungalow) to a near by water station.

A great place to stay on a great island!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rowing_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

As all the other reviews have said, the Crabtree Apts. is a delightful place in the perfect location. It was clean, beautifully decorated, right on a spectacular beach. There was also a pair of bikes supplied for getting around the island, and the manager Maria was great about getting a tire fixed when we found one flat.

They even stocked the fridge with some groceries! One thing to keep in mind is that the water at the apartments isn't potable, so folks there for a long stay might want to rent a car one day for a trip to the store to buy water. All the information you need to arrange activities or transportation is in a handy binder in the rooms.

Everyone we met and interacted with was incredibly friendly, and the location made dining (and diving!) a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleverpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

A wonderful place to unwind and relax. Bright and cheery and nicely decorated. Sitting on the porch with the ocean just steps away was a real treat.

I will go back again and recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jano8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
0.4 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
32 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
93 reviews
0 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree Apartments

Address: Close Haul Road, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cockburn Town
Price Range: $210 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Quaint - 2 bedroom, 1 bath, apartment units, in a single story building, nestled on a sandy beach overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Each unit has gorgeous views from almost every room and a comfortable covered veranda where you can listen to the gentle lapping of the sea and view the beautiful sunsets. Come enjoy our wonderful swimming and snorkeling beach, the best of both worlds. Walking distance to town and restaurants Google us on the web - Crabtree Apartments Grand Turk. We have been renting on Grand Turk for 13 years and have received high praise from all our guests! Find our contact information right here on TripAdvisor - Search "Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos" and then click on the "Vacation Rental" Tab. You may have to click on "View all 12 rentals" just above the pictures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crabtree Apartments Grand Turk/Cockburn Town, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing