We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and snorkeling”
Review of Bohio Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bohio Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great resort and snorkeling”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Yes loved the resort it was a true diving resort. Friendly comfortable staff very helpful. True island paradise loved it. Great food prompt service definitely will return to this island one of a kind. Wild horse running around no crime good education truly paradise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    91
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
75
191
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vieques
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My group was lodged at the Osprey Beach hotel, but several of us cabbed up to Bohio on three separate evenings for dinner. Chef Jerika (spelling?) is world-class, with a diverse and interesting menu served in sizable portions. She herself is a delight, as well. It's worth staying at this lovely property for the restaurant alone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall, we had a great time! The view and location in Grand Turk is priceless! If you just want to lounge at the beach...sip a rum punch at the bar...or go for a 2-tank dive, this is the place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

rooms are adequate, you are only in them for short periods of time. The management and staff are GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the food was excellent and huge portions. Diving was wonderful and our dive guide was knowledgeable and he knew we were exp..divers and left us do our kind of diving. Will return to Bohio !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Go there if you enjoy a more secluded get-away and you like to scuba dive. Do not go to Bohio if you need a vibrant night life and like to party until dawn. Grand Turk is not that kind of place.

The resort is right on the beach, on the leeward side of the island. The setting is gorgeous. You will enjoy taking your meals on the deck and staring at the ocean.

The diving is very good. The sites are all close to shore so there is no worry about long voyages and seasickness. Species around the reef include grouper, nurse sharks, sea turtles, sting rays, parrot fish, etc. The water temp was about 80 degrees. You may want to consider diving there in Jan-Feb when whales migrate through the waters.

The food at Bohio is excellent. There is none better on the island. All-inclusive packages include breakfast and lunch. Expect to pay about $50 per person for dinner with a drink.

The rooms are basic so you will be disappointed if you want something like a Ritz-Carlton. The rooms are air-conditioned and have refrigerators and microwaves.

The staff is very attentive, and the resort is kept very tidy. Hosts Ginny and Tom make you feel like a member of their extended family.

Mosquitoes are active in the morning and evening so either bring bug repellant or wear long pants and shirts when you eat your meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pulpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Will start by saying that the new managers are delightful and seem very committed to making this an even better enterprise. They are outgoing, pleasant, helpful in every way and with the dive crowd there is a very good vibe around the place The resort, however, has its challenges. Mostly, it's just very dated and at best it's a two-star kind of place. To start with, it is well known (in TCI) that water quality is a challenge on Grand Turk. Whether it was the standing water in the bathroom commode or water used in cleaning the room/floors, the place generally stunk. Bad. If you stay here, bring your scented candles. Bed and bath linens were clean, as was the room, but there was just an ever-present odor. ( Was in Room 4 on the first floor, good location as it's at the very end of the complex so probably quieter than most rooms. Television in room good A/C, refrigerator, equipped kitchen, etc.) I never did get hot water in the shower, but perhaps it would have come had I let the water run another five or ten minutes. Some mold present in the bathroom, but not unusual in a high heat and high humidity country. Bar was nice, restaurant was good with good food for both dinner and breakfast. Food in TCI is expensive, and this was no exception, just be prepared for that. Bottled water is available in the restaurant or bar, for a fee. Do NOT drink the water on Grand Turk! View is great, is right on the beach. Note that the restaurant is all open, even inside the building. On the non-beach side is a very large body of standing water that seems to generate a massive volume of mosquitoes. Dengue Fever is not uncommon on the island, so please wear your DEET insect repellant at all times at this place, especially in the morning and in the evening. Don't be surprised by braying donkeys in the morning - that is a fact of life all over the island!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohioResort, Owner at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort’s amenities and friendly atmosphere, and of course the food. We would just like to clarify that Dengue Fever is not a problem in the Turks & Caicos Islands. All over the Caribbean and South America there is always a chance, however we have not had an issue with this at Bohio.
Happy and Safe Travels!
The Bohio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smartsville, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Can't add much to what others have said already (including a couple of the people we met when we were there, hi FrancescaF and Sidney64!), Bohio was a wonderful place for us - one diver and one non-diver - to spend an unforgettable ten days. True, the room was basic, but we spent so little time there it really didn't matter! My husband did 16 dives with Divemaster Ollie and took hundreds of spectacular underwater photos with his new camera. I had quiet mornings to play with beadwork - heaven on earth for me! - and most afternoons we spent quietly on the beach, splashing in the water or taking the HobieCat for a spin. Around 5pm we'd get cleaned up and go have a silly cocktail, then on to whatever wondrous foodstuffs Chef Jorika had dreamt up for us. We happened to be there at a time when very few guests were at the resort, so it felt almost like a world that belonged only to the very few of us.

As others have mentioned, there are a few things to be aware of - the salt-water toilets and their "aroma," the leisurely service in the restaurant, the dogs - but none of those presented any particular problem for us. It was a little wild when the cruisers came in, completely changing the character of the place, but that was fleeting and soon enough they were all off to continue on their journeys and leave us to our beautiful quiet beach.

Tom & Ginny are warm and welcoming, happy to help make your stay the best it can be. Onyx, Emma, Savage, Foxy, Amigo, and Bob (the dogs) will happily keep you company on the beach, camping out under your beach chair if you let them. Miss Mittens the cat will also happily share whatever you might be served in the restaurant, but if you steel yourself against her advances she will eventually leave you alone. At least, that's the theory, we were unable to resist her and she scored several tasty morsels from us. The staff is helpful and courteous - one of the restaurant servers carefully explained to my husband how to make his favorite breakfast dish that they served, Island Fish & Grits, and I have a feeling he'll be serving it for us at home pretty soon.

Oh - and the food. My WORD, the food. Homey and comforting with a transcontinental flair. There were so few people in the resort that Chef Jorika didn't do her usual "international night" but when asked, she made us a special meal from her home country, South Africa, including the national dish, bobotie - we savored every bite and couldn't stop eating! Another time, she made a Thai feast, which was also outstanding. Breakfasts (including the aforementioned Island Fish and Grits, usually snapper or grouper) and lunches are also freshly prepared, plentiful, and delicious. I don't eat much fried food at home, partly because it's not so good for me, and partly because so many places don't keep their oil adequately hot or fresh. Not so here, Jorika knows her stuff. Her cracked conch was absolutely delectable, crisply fried with not a hint of greasiness, the breading seasoned lightly so as not to overpower the delicate flavor of the conch. Magnifique!

If you want a feeling of being in your own little world with nothing to do but whatever seems right in the moment - along with truly memorable food and drink - give Bohio a shot.

Room Tip: Unless you plan to cook, my advice would be to take a standard room and save a few bucks. All the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMindyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BohioResort, Owner at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am absolutely delighted when guests 'get' Bohio and Grand Turk. And I know what you mean when you describe it as a world belonging to just you! Best regards, Kelly & The Bohio Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
1.5 mi away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
24.1 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohio Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohio Dive Resort

Property: Bohio Dive Resort
Address: Cockburn Town | Turks and Caicos Islands, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohio Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bohio Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohio Dive Hotel Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Resort Grand Turk/Cockburn Town, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing