We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmospher”

Guanahani Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We went to their famous Friday night BBQ. The ribs were plentiful and tasty. The salad selection was great and the crab salad was exceptionally tasty.
It’s a beautiful island setting and the drinks are excellent but potent.
The band was fun and one of the best beaches on the island.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank YOropeza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohio, General Manager at Guanahani Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Thank you for joining us for our famous Rake & Scrape BBQ! Saturday nights are always popular with both visitors and locals alike to come and enjoy fresh food, a fun atmosphere and to connect with one another! We are delighted you enjoyed your evening!

We look forward to having you dine with us again on another evening to try out our regular menu as well!

Tropical Regards,

Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Ordered grouper and it was a bit tough. The salad bar had good Mac and cheese. The crab salad was a bit salty. For $200 it could have been better.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Scuffy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohio, General Manager at Guanahani Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

We always appreciate when our visitors help us to make our selections even better and we take the time to read each and every review! Grouper in general can be a bit meatier than the average fish , however not usually on the tough side and we have mentioned this to our Chef for improvement. Our Saturday night BBQ offering full salad bar selections, peas & rice, mac & cheese, scalloped potatoes and corn on the cob is a self serve buffet and guests are encouraged to bring their appetites with them!

We do hope you enjoy your time in Grand Turk and choose to come back to dine with us again.

Island Regards,
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Beautiful views and great food - steak was awesome, good desserts, and friendly bar tenders and wait staff. We just had one issue - flies. They were bad one night when we were eating. Everything else was lovely!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jano545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohio, General Manager at Guanahani Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Hi Jan,

Thank you for this great review! We work hard to meet diner's expectations and are delighted you enjoyed your steak dinner with us and still had room for dessert! Please come back again anytime!

Tropical Regards,
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

This makes only the 3rd review I’ve ever written on TripAdvisor in 11 years, with the last one being from 2012 where I reviewed Salt Cay , which is the closest neighboring island in TCI. I say that because this restaurant is worth it that much. This restaurant and Bohio are literally like our second home. We have visited here 6 times since 2012 and are already planning our next visit in 2019.

First of all, the scenery while dining here is indescribable. The colors of the ocean and the beach and the umbrellas and the food all make for sensory overload. It certainly has the ambience and feel of a high end restaurant which it is. We feel that Chef Jorika prepares some of the best meals we’ve had on any vacation. She’s also a hoot to hang with and talk to so make sure you say hello and ask for her. Although it’s not a complaint, be prepared for big meals, large portions, and leftovers. Some of our favorite items are the conch fritters, shrimp Mac and cheese, and the escargot. The rum cake is great too if you have room.

The Saturday night BBQ is our favorite night of the week to eat there and with the live music, it’s usually the most enjoyable evening of our stay. Now, there are times, not many, when the food doesn’t come out as fast as you expect it here in the States. Personally I am there to relax and we understand this, but the head chef is making your meal individually, from scratch, and if we get there a little later than everyone else on a busy night, we just grab a beer or a rum punch, and relax while we wait. Lastly, it’s not cheap to eat and drink here. It’s a luxury but worth it to us or else we wouldn’t come back as often as we do. All of the items we’ve had are either sourced locally (fish) or they have to be imported in which is not cheap. Again, it’s a luxury. Usually being friendly and patient with a smile gets us everything we need right on time. I am glad this restaurant is here waiting for us year and year and it’s a huge part of why we come back time and time again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dcpiano73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Guanahani Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

We truly appreciate it whenever a return guest takes the time to share their dining experience, particularly when it's such a delightful one! Thank you for the compliments about our talented and entertaining Chef , we cannot agree with you more!

Wishing you all the best and hope you can return to us before too long...

Ginny & Tom and all of us at Bohio Dive Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

This place has the best decor and layout of the few restaurants on GT, they have a nice open courtyard with an island bar area as well as indoor seating. I would rank all of those qualities pretty high but the food, service and cost bring it way down in my estimation. Keep in mind, there is very little to choose from in GT so this may be the best you will get. I would recommend one night of eating here and then explore other places. If drinking is your priority than I would recommend bouncing back and forth between here and Sandbar. They are both excellent spots to see the sunset also.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Guanahani Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time for this review! We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful decor and magnificent ocean views and are happy you consider us the best on Grand Turk! Supplies are limited on our tiny island and all items for our restaurant are subject to high duty and transportation costs. We do not cut any corners and only import the best quality of meats and produce for our distinguished guests. Our seafood is fresh caught - no frozen portions here! Our happy servers are consistent with getting to know all our diners and providing the best service possible although true with a very laid back feel. We do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Grand Turk !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guanahani Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Guanahani Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing