We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach for snorkeling ”
Review of Pillory Beach

Pillory Beach
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice beach for snorkeling ”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We rented a jeep and stopped several places. This was a nice beach away from the crowds with some beautiful water for snorkeling.

Helpful?
8 Thank Rantcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    28
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This beach is relatively far from the port. You'll have to take a taxi, and you'll drive through the quaint downtown area. There is a hotel in this area where you can rent snorkel equipment for $20 all day. The snorkelling is decent for being so close to the shore. I didn't see too many fish, but if you're willing to swim by the boats, you'll find a large drop off where you can see big fish like barracuda. The beach is covered in sand and grass, with some sea urchins and conchs. You'll also see building debris from Hurricane Ike damage in 2008.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank deschweizify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not many fish”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Can find sea bicuits and sea urchins, but there is not an abundance of fish. It is grassy, not coral.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, no crowds!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spend three or four hours here, while in port. The beach was clean and there enough shells to make beachcombing interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing water”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We got off the cruise ship and expected to head to Governor's Beach by private taxi, but the local at the taxi stand suggested that we try Pillory Beach instead. She stated that many tours drop off at Governor's Beach and it gets extremely busy in the afternoon.

While we enjoyed Pillory Beach for it's gorgeous waters and great sand, the $10 chair rental was very steep compared to nearby/similar islands. Even when nearby folks vacated the chairs they paid for, we were told we still could not use it. But to be honest, we spent 90% of the time in the water so we barely missed it.

The snorkeling was decent and I was able to venture quite far away by following some awesome rock formations. The fish sightings were few, but the formations held me captive for a good while. We walked all the way left down the beach for quite some time and we passed some wild horses, donkeys and dogs. It was interesting to say the least.

We did quickly get bored of our surroundings though and I'd never personally experienced that before. So we grabbed a taxi back to the port instead of spending the usual 4-5 hours on a beach. The taxi took us through the 'downtown' area and it did look quite neat, but we weren't in the mood. Lots of little vendors selling goodies!

I'll never forget the sheer number of stray dogs we saw throughout Grand Turk though. Wow.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pillory Beach also viewed

Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Pillory Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing