We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS was what I had in mind on this vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osprey Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Osprey Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“THIS was what I had in mind on this vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

I just loved Grand Turk, especially after a few days in Provo. It is very low key, everyone is friendly and helpful, and the hotel is 1-2 minutes walking distance from 3 good restaurants and the 3 dive shops. The rooms overlook the water and you are right on the beach, which does have some shade too. All 3 dive shops pick you up right on the beach and drop you there too. The staff and owner of the Osprey Beach are just so genuinely friendly and helpful, it's just wonderful. No shops at all on the island, unless you come in by boat and are in the cruise center, at the other end of the island....Loved that. Nothing to buy. You ought to bring snacks and wine over in your luggage if you want that type of stuff. Narrow lanes with the original homes and buildings, now mostly restored, from 200 years ago, with plaques on each one telling you the entire history of that building or house...a pleasure to walk down the road from the Osprey Beach. Loved the room, the sunset view, and Wednesday bar be que (by the office staff and the restaurant staff together!!) and the total informal, friendly atmosphere. THIS was what I had in mind for the vacation!! Terrific!

  • Liked — The view and the room itself, but also the people that work there
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    100
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
125
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2007

Pros (Hotel): Wasn't crowded. Always had hot water when I took a shower. Live music at the bar a few times a week.

Cons (Hotel): Roaches and other assorted bugs in the room. Lock is the same one on my bedroom door at home (very unsecured). Went with a group of people and there were two thefts from rooms while we were there. Lock everything up at the hotel safe at the front desk (no safes in room). Dogs and cats roam freely and may be sitting with you at dinner. People feed them from the table so expect to get nudged. Noisy rooms that you frequently hear other guests through the walls or ceiling. Hotel is right on the road and every night without fail, a car would come by real slow and play something so loud that the things in the room would shake due to his big subwoofer vibrating everything. The group all heard it, every night, and all thought it was intentional to bother the guests. Felt like the slum right about then. Speaking of slums, everything there is repaired with duct tape, that is, if anyone even bothered to try to fix something. My outside light fixture was hanging by wires, obviously broken from the wall. It is so funny. Hotel looks and feels like it is in a state of disrepair.

Things to know. Not much to do on Grand Turk unless you scuba dive. Most places DO NOT take credit cards. A real bummer as you have to carry more cash. Keep it on you or in the hotel safe due to thieves. Lack of restaurants to choose from nearby unless you take a taxi. Then you add a choice or two but nowhere we ate would pass any health inspection by US standards. Including the hotel. Breakfast took an hour to come out everyday no matter where we ate. Same with lunch. Be prepared to wait for ANYTHING on this island. The common opinion of the group was that no one cared about anything. One taxi driver charged us $5 for our car of people to go a couple miles, another one charged us $6 a person to go the same distance. They charge what they want, so negotiate it up front.

At the airport, the porters grab your bags, drag them 30 to 40 feet to a waiting taxi and DEMAND that you pay them. Don't let them touch your bags. Between American Airlines and SkyKing, several bags were lost on different stages of our air trip. Took a couple days to catch up to the owners. Even a bag from Provo TC to Grand Turk was lost. A 15 minute flight on a pond hopper!

On a 10 scale, I would rate this hotel a 4. Scuba diving a 6, and the overall experience a 4. For an island that depends 100% on tourism, you would think there would be more effort to please tourists. Bottom-line: Spend your money elsewhere. If you read this and still go, don't say you weren't warned.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — State of disrepair
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank TX_3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

The island of Grand Turk does not have the same standards of service or quality of buildings as Provodenciales but it is more of a typical Caribbean feel to the place. The centre of town is on the west side of the island with most of the hotels and dive shops located in a half mile stretch of seafront. Everything is in an easy walking distance and there are miles of beach with virtually no tourists to trample it.

We were in the old original Osprey beach rooms which include a seafront veranda with chairs but there are more in the modern annex two storey building. The rooms are in a good state of repair but as noted above lack a quality finish. A TV is included along with a fridge. Our room had huge gaps in the door frames that allowed mosquitoes to enter at will and little need for them to find the holes in the window netting. The water is not potable on the island but the hotel supplies a gallon jug for drinking and teeth brushing.

The staff were friendly and helpful particularly providing bug spray and mosquito repellent, and the linen was clean and well tended each day. The hotel has a small pool alongside the bar and restaurant, with the latter having an excellent barbeque a couple of times a week.

We found the best breakfast at the Salt Raker Inn which is also a good place to meet some potted varieties of the local flora – the Turks Head Cactus. The Sandbar gets our recommendation for drinks, food and just chilling out after a dive.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Houston-Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

Had a great time at the Osprey Beach Hotel on Grand Turk. A walk away from Oasis divers which work edout well. Food is satisfactory as is the service. Charging to the room was easy as they all knew our room number quickly. Easy walking to other eat/drink places and to town. A reasonable walk to the grocery. Nothing but restaurants and diving open on Sundays. We had an upstairs room with 2 Queen beds and found it great. I went diving each day and the wife went to the beach. She had the beach to herself everyday. The view of the ocean was nice with some trees in the view as well. Hummingbirds buzzed by once in a while as did wild horses on the beach. The bike ride to the lighthouse was strenuous for those not on a bike in a very long time.

Would stay there again in a minute. Grand Turk was far better than Provo for us. Provo was too commercial - like staying at parts of florida with a better beach. Provo has lots its island flavor.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kcdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2006

Loren and Jenny have the best place on the island....

My third stay at the Osprey; again, the food was second to none!

When I travel to Grand Turk, I have to work. However, staying at the Osprey refreshes the mind, body, and spirit so thoroughly it makes me never want to leave.

God Bless you wonderful people!

  • Liked — The view, the room decor, the conversation, and the FOOD!!!
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring extra cash for the Tupper flamingo artwork....it is BEAUTIFUL!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolinaToothpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

Since Delta out of Atlanta started a direct route to Provo, we decided to try out Grand Turk with Oasis Divers and Osprey Hotel. I had read the reviews posted here and glad that we went.
Found the hotel and room a nice surprise. Our room was large with plenty of closet space for the two of us. Had a extra large king canopy type bed with ceiling fan, desk, night stands and drawers. Great balacony with table and chairs overlooking the beach. Good sized bathroom. Frig, coffee maker, a/c, and tv. Each entryway to the rooms has a foot rinse so as not to track sand into the rooms. Also, we had a gear rinse barrel and hose outside across form the entryway. Our friend, had the kitchenette suite, complete with a dining table and chairs, stove, sink and microwave. Plus, it had windows both front and back for cross ventilation if you choose. Rooms were cleaned daily and kept fresh. Grounds were kept clean and neat.
Food was excellent, and plentiful. Thought is was reasonablly priced, given the fact it has to borught in each week. Really liked the Ahi tuna salad as well as the smoked salmon salad. Could make a meal out of just that if I wanted. Sunday and Wednesday were BBQ night with live music. Choice of entre cooked on the grill and a buffet of salad, vegs and such. My grilfriend had the lobster and I had the tuna one night, steak the other. The potatoes cooked on the grill were great. You should make reservations for this as they did have a crowd. It apparently a very popular event. Ate breakfast either at Michaels across the street in the Osprey annex building or down the street at the Salt Raker Inns restaurant next to the dive shop.
Staff and owners at Osprey were very friendly and helpful. Our bags did not arrive with us over from Provo, but they made sure that we got them about 9:30 that same evening. Made my girlfriend very happy.
Dale with Oasis Divers handled all our hotel, inter-island flights, transfers and diving arrangements.She delivered all she said she would. Will book with her again in a heartbeat.
Dove with them the whole week and always saw something different, rays, sharks, dolphins, turtles, lots of fish, healthy reefs. Great dive staff. Will take care of your gear, set it up for your dives and rinse/store away in thier shop when done for the day. One of our divemaster,Sara, carried a small magnifing glass with her on the dives to point out some very small critters that you normally pass over Boats were not crowded, in fact, it was just us three and the divemaster most of the week. Night dives were fun, saw lobsters, otopus, squid, and other critters.
All in all, can not say enough good about this place, people, the accomadations and diving without writng a short book. Very pleased with what we received for what we paid. We made sure to tip our divemaster and hotel staffl for a job well done. We really appreciated all the attention. This definitely was a truly relaxing vacation. No hurries or worries, no hustle or bustle, just lay back and enjoy. Will go back, it is now a favorite spot for us. And my girlfriend who is hard to please, when it comes to dive vacations, is looking foward to our next trip back. She couldn't have been happier.
I know one of the reviewers was not too happy with island time, but when you go an vacation, you should relax and enjoy, instead of expecting the hurried life you left back home.I mean what's your rush, where are you going? Learn to chill, life is too short..

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Tips/Secrets — Be patient if your bags are slow arriving from Provo, slow down and relax, it's a vacation!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael_Diver-Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

Recently returned from a week long diving holiday to Grand Turk. Stayed at the Osprey and dove with Oasis. My room (#35) was clean and had a wonderful ocean front balcony. Dined at Osprey twice, once on Sunday for BBQ night and once during the week on non-BBQ night. Had a great piece of tuna on the grill on BBQ night and a fantastic seafood curry dish the other time. I thought the seafood curry was my best meal of the week. 2nd place goes to Michael's (across the street) Red Snapper "local style". Had morning b'fasts at the Courtyard (also across the street) and all were very good. Lunch's were all over the place and each good (the pizza at Mookie Pookie was not as good as the roti). Oasis was great and very professional. Had a great trip and would do lt again! Tell Indie at the Osprey Tom says hello!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Tommybuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Turk
0.3 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
24.2 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#1 of 4 in Cockburn Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Beach Hotel

Property: Osprey Beach Hotel
Address: Duke St. | PO Box 216, BWI, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osprey Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osprey Beach Hotel offers 27 beachfront rooms, and 10 atrium rooms. Enjoy the unhurried pace of island life, and relax at the beachside pool, hotel restaurant and bar. Osprey Beach Hotel books scuba-diving packages with all three dive shops on Grand Turk Island. The dive boat will pick you up on the beach in front of the Osprey Beach Hotel - mere steps from your room. No shuttle buses or long boat rides necessary; you are just minutes away from your dive.Osprey Beach Hotel's restaurant offers poolside dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the ocean. Menus change daily, and often feature fresh fish, the catch of the day, lobster in season, as well as steaks, lamb and chicken. Our famous BBQ nights happen twice a week on Wednesdays and Sundays. Listen and dance to live music entertainment from Mitch and The High Tide Band! Please contact us by phone or email to reserve your stay. We look forward to your stay here on Grand Turk, and hope we can make your Caribbean getaway vacation a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Osprey Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Beach Grand Turk
Hotel Osprey Beach
Osprey Beach Hotel Grand Turk, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing