We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down resort with potential”
Review of Osprey Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osprey Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Run down resort with potential”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at the Osprey Beach Hotel for 2 weeks in Nov 2009. Rooms were OK. But you need bug spray to use inside your room. No se-ems and occassionally cock roaches. But once we used bug spray it was under control. Food was very good compare to the rest of the island. Honestly the resort needs alot of work. They had 2 hurricanes back to back last year and they still did not recover from that. Lanscaping is very much over grown and the hotel does not look pretty because of that. We paid to have an ocean front room with a beach view. But did not get it because the landscaping was so over grown we could not see the beach from our room and we were on the beach. We had to ask for them to clean the beach after a very windy day. And it took 2 days to clean. Lot's of debris on the beach.
The bar area is nice, but i had asked if they had music, so they put on a CD which was nice but the owner sat with us at the bar and she told the bar tender to turn it down. She didn't like it on. She was there every night and we had to sit in peace and quiet. They should pay attention to our needs and not the owners. Not good. The resort is run down and in need of repairs and severe cleaning mostly on the outside.
again they need to hire a landscaper. The staff was excellant but the owners really need to pay attention to the looks of their resort and keep up with the repairs. Do not trust the pictures on the internet for any of the resorts, except White Sands Resort. You will be sorry. Dive operation with Blue Waters was the best. Mitch and the gang could not do enough to please us. Our bottom time was up to us. Plus they were very safe in every way. We were not forced to surface and get back for the next group. The boat was ours for the day. Hats off to Blue Divers great job.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipper62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    101
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
133
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

The Osprey Beach Hotel is a great hideaway. As previous reviewers have pointed out, Grand Turk is not for those who are looking for extensive nightlife and entertainment: this island's beauty lies in its tranquility and relaxed pace. The OBH has tastefully furnished rooms with great views over the ocean, a good restaurant (excellent BBQ), a friendly bar and excellent staff. Jenny and Loren, the owners, always take time to chat with their guests and do all they can to ensure you have an excellent stay. This is not a budget place to visit but you get good value and you'll meet some lovely people. If you dive, (I always go with Blue Water Divers, I think Mitch runs the best/friendliest operation on the island) the boat picks you up from the OBH beach so that couldnt be any easier...Oh, and Mitch's musical evenings are pretty good too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphingirl_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently spent 9 days at the Osprey and loved our stay! Grand Turk is an absolutely beautiful island with remote beaches, amazingly friendly people, and just a great place to let work go and totally relax. If you're planning to visit, you should definitely note that this place is REMOTE. If you're looking for poolside bars, tons of activities, and booming nightlife, this is not your place. If you're looking for great beaches, awesome diving, laidback people, and just total relaxation, this IS your place.
We originally opted for Grand Turk because we're both divers (we dove with Blue Water Divers - a small shop across the street from the Osprey and loved them too). We weren't disappointed whatsoever - from beautiful and colorful plant life to exciting and plentiful sealife, it definitely rivals places like Bonaire and Little Cayman. We even saw dolphins, rays, and nurse sharks. Great wall diving, with awesome dives from 40 feet through 110 feet.
Back to the hotel though. Getting there was tough, as there is only one airline that flies to Grand Turk - Air Turks and Caicos - which is a pricey flight from Provo ($160US roundtrip per person for a 30 minute flight!). Once we arrived at the TINY airport (which is typical in the Caribbean), no cabs were waiting, so we had to have airport staff call one - took about 15 minutes to get there. Note: Cabs charge per person on Grand Turk, so it was $7US per person ($14 total) to go the 2-3 miles to the Osprey. Everywhere else on the island was $5US per person. We had a pleasant cab driver, who is one of very few on the island.
Upon check-in at the Osprey, we were very delighted. The hotel's entrance is through a very lovely oceanside pool/restaurant area. The check-in staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Being that the place is so small, they knew our names before we even told them who we were. We were shown to our room (an upgrade to an oceanfront king since it was low season) and again were very pleasantly surprised. The room had a breathtaking view of the crystal clear, turquoise waters. The decor of the room was very tasteful, with a four-poster bed with white linens, curtains, etc - it all seemed very airy and perfect for the beach. The room itself was also very clean and comfortable.
We arrived on a Saturday evening, so after checking in and unloading, we went down to the hotel's restaurant - the Birdcage. We ate here most nights, as the food is excellent and the views are gorgeous. The menu has a nice selection of food as well from steak to seafood to pretty much anything - three meals a day. Definitely try the spicy conch (pronounced conk) salad - it was our favorite. One thing to note though that the food is a bit pricey, as is most everything on the island, because everything automatically has a 33% import tax built into it, then there's an 11% government sales tax on top of that. So a meal for two, with a glass of wine, was running us about $80-100US per night at the Birdcage.
There are other restaurants on the island, but Birdcage was definitely our favorite. Nearby the Osprey (within a block) is a cute, laidback beach bar/restaurant that's great for lunch and post-dinner "nightlife" on certain nights of the week. It's fittingly called Sandbar and overlooks the water as well - very laidback and friendly people. The specialty at Sandbar is the fried conch. Across the street is Saltraker, which a hotel, but it has a cute little "Garden Bar" in the back that serves three meals per day as well. Food was average here, but it definitely had a cute bar. Other restaurants we'd recommend require a taxi - there's Bohio, which has the same great quality food (and prices) as the Osprey and also overlooks the ocean. There's also Pirate's Choice - a more typical tourist destination with burgers, pizzas, etc and is located down by the Cruise Center. Other than that, we didn't come across a lot of other options for restaurants, unless cruise ships were in.
Back to the Osprey though... It pretty much had everything we needed: free Wi-fi (although we tried not to use it since we were on vacation), TVs (although we didn't use it), clean beach towels daily, beach chairs, etc. Some of the rooms have a kitchenette (ours did) and I'd highly recommending going to the liquor store, which is about 2-3 blocks from the hotel, and buy beer/liquor if you're going to be drinking steadily. :) The prices are half of what the hotel charges at the bar. A little further down from the liquor store is a grocery store, where we got snacks and such - although we mostly ate at the Birdcage. Also note: do not drink the water. Osprey provides a free gallon upon arrival, then charges $4US per gallon if you need to replenish.
Overall, we loved our stay at the Osprey and it was definitely the best place on the island. Jenny and Loren - the owners - were amazingly hospitable and genuinely seemed to love what they do. The entire staff - Jerome, Karen, Dafney (and everyone else) was so nice and attended to whatever you needed. Honestly, aside from the hotel being so beautiful and right on the beach, the staff is what made this trip exceptional.
I also want to give a shout out to Blue Water Divers again, because they were amazing - Mitch, Audrey, Jesse, and Dan - it was like we basically had private dive guides all week. We also befriended them, so we met up with them some evenings for drinks and live music (which Mitch plays on Wednesdays and Sundays at Osprey). Great, great staff and very knowledgeable divers. The island only has three dive shops - Blue Water, Grand Turk Divers, and Oasis. I'd rate them in that order too. Blue Water is fantastic for more individualized attention. Grand Turk is similar. Oasis caters to the cruise ship crowd, so their dives typically have about 10-14 divers, as opposed to Blue Water having between 4-6. Note: Grand Turk Divers also rents bikes for $25US per day, which I highly recommend so you can take a trip around the small island.
We would definitely go back to this place, as it had everything we were looking for. A huge thanks to the Osprey for a much needed break from the real world! We will definitely recommend to friends...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fusfus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Great place to stay. Very clean and steps onto the beach. Staff very friendly. Food on site and bar.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siennadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Osprey. There were four of us, and we were there to DIVE. We stayed in two queen suites, which were large, airy, and well appointed, with high ceilings and casually equipped kitchens. The enormous toaster oven in one kitchen was brand new and perfect for baking/broiling large chicken legs. The beach is gorgeous, as is the lobby/bar/dining/pool area. I wouldn't call this place fancy, but it's still lovely. Wireless Internet was a plus, since I had to bring a bit of work with me. We liked the location very much--close to the Sand Bar, which is the best option for reasonably priced lunches and dinners and beers, and close enough to walk to town and groceries. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaGirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomzom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I spent a week in Grand Turk, it was a wonderful experience again. This is my third time there and I'm planning to be back next year. The Osprey has the best location on the island and from what I've heard from other guests, it's also the best hotel to be at. The rooms are always super clean and very comfortable. The most noteworthy thing about the staff is that they are so honest, I left a valuable item under the bed last year, it was handed to me at the front desk, I would never have known it was gone. I dove with Blue Water Divers and had great dives with dive master Dan. BBQ night was awesome, I love listening to High Tide Band led by Mitch. I also had a great massage at Spa Anani, it's one of the hotel shops. Overall great time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomzom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I had to write a review after reading the last very negative one. I have been to Grand Turk 3 times over the past 5 years, and Provo once. The only place I've stayed on Grand Turk is The Osprey, and that's the only hotel I'd consider. The Grand Turk Inn is a beautiful, Inn but it wouldn't be as convenient for diving and I'd hate to drag in dripping wet scuba geat over their beautiful hard wood floors. If you expect to go to Grand Turk to be pampered, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, you'll be disappointed. If you are going to Grand Turk for great diving, and a relaxing quiet island, you'll be thrilled. I went for the diving, and the small quiet genuine Carribean Island atmosphere. I did NOT care for Provo at all....built up with huge mega condo resorts, one after another, all along the beach. Might be great for some, but , It's not what I look for in a Carribean vacation. The Osprey is a small two story, hotel, right on the beach. It's not fancy at all, but it's clean, and we've met great people there. Not much options at all for dining on Grand Turk, but that doesn't bother me. The food and prices at the Osprey are fine. I've had some good meals there. You can't beat the view from the outdoor restaurant on the water front. Sand Bar on the beach is very casual with good food. We had lunch there most days. Service is slow at the Sand Bar, but you're on Island Time, so enjoy your friends and the view. The diving on Grand Turk is fantastic with great visibility in the water, and beautiful reefs. Dove with Mitch from Blue Water Divers all three times, and wouldn't dive with anyone else. His boats are small, which I look for, and I've never been with more than 4-8 other divers on the boat at one time. He picks you up in his boat right at the hotel. Super friendly guy, and had us and other divers over to his home for drinks one night. I've never had a problem with theft in the Osprey, and never felt unsafe on the Island. I do know that someone's laptop was stolen out of their room at the Osprey, but that can happen anywhere, including here in the U.S. One thing I wish the Osprey had that they don't have, is rinse tanks for your dive gear. You go to Grand Turk to dive, so hotels should be set up with rinse tanks. They did have a large trash barrel and a hose outside to rinse your gear, so that was fine for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Turk
0.3 mi away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
31 reviews
24.2 mi away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
440 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Beach Hotel

Property: Osprey Beach Hotel
Address: Duke St. | PO Box 216, BWI, Grand Turk
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Turk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Osprey Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osprey Beach Hotel offers 27 beachfront rooms, and 10 atrium rooms. Enjoy the unhurried pace of island life, and relax at the beachside pool, hotel restaurant and bar. Osprey Beach Hotel books scuba-diving packages with all three dive shops on Grand Turk Island. The dive boat will pick you up on the beach in front of the Osprey Beach Hotel - mere steps from your room. No shuttle buses or long boat rides necessary; you are just minutes away from your dive.Osprey Beach Hotel's restaurant offers poolside dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the ocean. Menus change daily, and often feature fresh fish, the catch of the day, lobster in season, as well as steaks, lamb and chicken. Our famous BBQ nights happen twice a week on Wednesdays and Sundays. Listen and dance to live music entertainment from Mitch and The High Tide Band! Please contact us by phone or email to reserve your stay. We look forward to your stay here on Grand Turk, and hope we can make your Caribbean getaway vacation a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Osprey Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Beach Grand Turk
Hotel Osprey Beach
Osprey Beach Hotel Grand Turk, Turks And Caicos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing