We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem of GRAND TURK, Turks and Caisos Islands”

Turks & Caicos National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram
More Info
$99.99*
and up
Land and Sea Tour in Grand Turk
Ranked #10 of 37 things to do in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A look into the rich history of the Caribbean: museum featuring fragments of a wrecked Spanish sailing ship from the early 1500s.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of GRAND TURK, Turks and Caisos Islands”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a fabulous museum. It is smal but it is big it it's informationa dn presentation. It has all about John Glenns landing too for the USA and others. I haev been living part time in Providenciales and I return annually to the museum. Do make it your destination.

Also if you go during th ecruise ship times the Front Street has cute shopsss and best of al is the single shop with home made donut shpaed cookies by the pastor. Enjoy!!

OH BE SURE TO RENT YOUR GOLF CART FOR THE DAY "Smith Rentals 1-649-231-4856"

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Thonotosassa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A surprise in todays age and era...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A week ago (May 2013) I was in Grand Turk and chose to visit the National Museum. The Museum is located in a two store building that goes back many years to the British Colonial era. As we walked up to the entrance, a very charming woman met us and informed us of some of the viewing inside. There is a Five dollar fee for entry but was well worth it. Inside we viewed a short video on the ship wreck found on molassas cay, This site is believed to be from the early 1500s. The muesum also contained many local Native Indian and Age of Discovery items on display. To stand close to many of these 500 plus year old items did have a great pull to me. I also found that interfacing with the staff added greatly to the experence. The operatiors are from the current era of Grand Turk and had many observations of the recent times. The building is inside a small compound and has a seceond floor. The view from the second floor of the sea and surounding area could not be toped. The "blue wall" line could be clearly seen in the water. I could go into detail about the items on displya but I do not think there is enough space here for all of them. Lets say that this is one of the major stops that should be made when on this island. The downtown area where this museum is located is not a packed with tourist trap stores nor clip food places. No street hawkers for deals nor any of the glitz we normally see in tropical locations. AND the best part is that the kindness and niceness we saw is the normal way the people live on Grand Turk. Remember when times were like that?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank FloridaGreenFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great collection”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very friendly staff...Unique collection...1000 year old chair(only 3 known in the world, 1 in the Smithsonian), 500 year old oar....great way to support an INDEPENDANT museum....
MOST cruise ship passengers are informed there is nothing to see downtown Grand Turk....UNTRUE if your looking for a picturesque walk along Front Street, beautiful multi colored ocean on one side and historical building on the other....VERY safe & tranquil....I would suggest a taxi to see the museum first, then walk back along Front Street & ask your taxi driver to pick you up at Osprey Hotel... Have lunch at the Sand Bar or The Osprey(both are right on the ocean)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good museum”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very interesting museum in an old colonial building and gives a good introduction to the life of the T&C

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockstar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great island history”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a very well organized museum with interesting information very well presented. As good as you'll find anywhere, and I love museums.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seekayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turks & Caicos National Museum also viewed

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Turks & Caicos National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing