We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Cruise Center”
Review of Jack's Shack

Jack's Shack
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Grand Turk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the local flavor from our grille and tiki hut bar while relaxing on our deck overlooking the crystal blue sea and sandy beach. We are only open on cruise ship days except for special occasions (Call or email us.)
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Forget the Cruise Center”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Walk farther down the beach, past Margaritaville and the Cruise Center. Grab a chaise and an umbrella, tip the beach attendant and you can spend an afternoon to remember. The cruise center seating was taken up by the large ship that arrived before us. The beach was crowded forcing us to walk to Jack's Shack to find seating. Well worth the walk! Conch, burgers and other delights were on the menu. Drinks were flowing. The entertainment crew from our ship was here playing volleyball and enjoying the sun. I'm sure they know the places ashore that work well for them. The restaurant is manned by local cooks, so sometimes it takes a while to get food, but well worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegasonmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    207
    70
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Between dives, Smitty from Grand Turk Diving, suggested we take a break here. Spot on! The ladies at the bar were very nice. Drinks were tasty, though didn’t contain an “island pour”, and the jerk chicken was top notch. The view was awesome. The local seafaring business doc their boats here and it was neat watching them all come and go. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Easy walk from the cruise port. Beach is great, Turks Head beer was excellent. We sampled the local rum, and it was very good as well. Jack was most friendly and accommodating to our group. Made us feel very welcome. We ate the 'cracked conch', and it was delicious. Most of the food I saw looked good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawk1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while on a cruise. It's a short walk up the beach, just look for the volleyball net. They offer bar service, food and a quaint gift shop. The jerk chicken is delicious if you can get past the unorganized food service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, delicious food, cold drinks and great people a-plenty!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We came in on a cruise ship. This place is only a ten minute walk down the beach right off the pier. No issues with panhandlers and very few people trying to sell you stuff on the beach.

We got there early; as time wears on the beach gets more crowded, but no matter how many people are here, it's nothing compared to the way they've got people smooshed like sardines right next to the ship. Plus, well, they are great ships but I'd much rather look at the ocean than the Carnival logo all day.

The food was VERY good, but it took a long time to get it, so be prepared to wait. The bartenders however were very quick. I didn't find the little gift shop to be anything special but the restrooms were clean, so that's a plus.

If you don't have an excursion planned and a beach day is up your alley, this is the place for you. Volleyball net, great staff, gorgeous views and even Topher the crab diggin' dog to entertain you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mufasasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Shack also viewed

Cockburn Town, Grand Turk
 
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
Grand Turk, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Jack's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing