We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best snorkeling we found on the island”
Review of Smith's Reef

Smith's Reef
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling we found on the island”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were just in Caicos and spent 12 days and out of those days we did 10 days of snorkeling on Smith's reef. We loved it. You do need to check the swells and we found the mornings were really good, about 11 or so for the sun to hit it perfect, We saw turtles, rays, tons of fish and the beautiful coral and sea fans. Can easliy be in the water for over 1.5 hours and not be tired and keep seeing more and more that is beautiful. Take the path by house 68 down to save the walk from the parking lot area. You can park on off the road and no problem. This was our favorite snorkeling in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    43
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great free Snorkling spot”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This spot is a little outside the area where tourists like to stay. Being far from Grace Bay you may want to rent a car or a bike. It is located just outside the canal where boats come and go to the marina by Turtle cove. A beautiful nature spot. The access to the water from shore is a little slippery with shallow rock formation, but not a big deal if you like exploring. We saw several kinds of reef fish. Not a crowded place, it makes a great spot for a day on your "private beach'. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CARCAMANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling for free”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The snorkeling was very good. We saw some of the same fish that we saw on the boat trip we took. Just be aware that to get in the water it is rocky and slippery. I would say that was the only drawback. If you want to snorkel without paying for a boat trip go here.

Helpful?
2 Thank DHG309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling right off the beach!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great snorkeling right off the beach… saw lots of the expected; parrot fish, tangs, sergeant majors, etc… also saw a queen triggerfish, lionfish, and turtle… was so nice we made two trips out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fvez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible Snorkeling Near Shore”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Snorkeling here is so much better than Coral Gardens. With its proximity to Turtle Cove Marina, it's very easy to get to even though it's not very noticeable. You need to look at this on a map ahead of time or you won't have a clue where to go. If you follow these directions, you will find it easily.

Coming from Turtle Cove Marina starting at Tiki Hut, take a right on Bridge Road at the restaurant there (coffee shop). Then once you cross the bridge on Bridge Road, turn left when you get to the end at the T-intersection. There's a dirt road off to the right, stay left. Go up to house #68 and park there. Just before house #68 is an unmarked trail through the "jungle". Don't worry, it's easy to see where the trail begins and in less than a couple minutes you'll be at the beach.

When you get out to the beach, you're at the middle of Smith's Reef. We found the best snorkeling to be at the right and left of the white buoy. Don't go beyond the green buoys to the left..there's nothing there except boats coming through. This is a much bigger reef than Coral Gardens. The current is stronger, but my kids did fine. Don't touch the coral in shallow areas. There is a TON of wildlife and beautiful coral structures. Some are as shallow as 5 feet and others are probably 20 feet deep. Be prepared to see stingrays, sea turtles, shark, and tons of beautiful fish. There were other people swimming further to the right, but we only saw sea grass there...not worth going there if you ask me.

This was one of the single biggest highlights of our trip. We came back twice because it was so incredible. It is so easily accessible, free, and fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank Jimm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith's Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Smith's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing