We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We want to go back already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gloucester Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloucester Place
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We want to go back already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We had a lovely 4-night stay at Bea and Win's Gloucester Place. Less like a hotel or even a bed and breakfast, it was more like being a much-welcomed and appreciated guest in someone's home. Quiet location, extremely comfortable king-sized bed, fantastic breakfasts, washer and dryer that guests can use. The first night we arrived (hungry and tired), we were invited to take part in a lovely fresh fish dinner -- our good luck that the visitors in the Essex Cottage had just gone fishing that day and had extra! Also, Bea and Win freely shared beach towels and snorkel equipment, as well as loads of info about where to go, what to visit, restaurants, beaches, etc. Topped off by the great location, well-suited for visiting any part of the north section of the island, we were sorry to leave after only 4 days. Highly recommended, and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemotmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at Gloucester Place tremendously! The house is ideally sandwiched between lush rainforest and the sparkling Caribbean Sea, affording spectacular views and constant bird action. Although we stayed in the one bedroom without a view of the water, there were hummingbirds galore hovering over the flowers outside our windows so we hardly felt deprived. Wyn and Bea made us feel right at home, giving us access to the fridge and grill, and providing us with all the tips we needed to explore the island. The most gorgeous beach on Tobago, Englishman's Bay, is only a five minute drive away, and the village of Castara, where we picked up groceries and enjoyed our best meal on the island (at Marguerite's) is just another five minutes down the road from there. Gloucester Place is a real gem. For anyone looking to relax off the beaten track and away from the throngs of civilizations, this is where you want ot stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigocat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Bea and Wyn have one rule 'make yourself at home' . This upmarket guest house offers a high standard of accommodation and a warm friendly welcome -it is more like staying with friends than being in a hotel. Wyn and Bea are interesting people and they run a good place. The bedrooms are roomy and modern with good facs. There is a great pool with wonderful views. Most nights Bea cooks dinner for those who want it but if she is having a night off there is a great fish restaurant down in the vilage. You could manage here without a car as the bus goes by the door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norfolkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Great B&B in a quiet area of Tobago. Admittedly, Tobago in early December is a very quiet place, and we enjoyed it that way. the room was superb (Concord) and the views exceptional. Much nicer area than Crown Point.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GSTToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. You will find paradise at Gloucester Place if you want to relax in a quiet, remote, beautiful location with interesting people.

The proprieters, Bea and Win, are amazing hosts. They are warm, engaging, interesting people who could not be more helpful.

The location of the house in Parlatuvier is ideal to escape from it all. You can walk to Parlatuvier beach in about 10 minutes (the walk back up the hill may take longer!) and drive to Englishmans Bay (another beautiful beach with a lunch restaurant and souveniers) in about 10 minutes. There is a small store within walking distance, however, you will need a car to really explore and to get most lunches and dinners (unless you arrange with Bea to cook for you). Bea makes a great breakfast.

Highlights of our short stay included watching the birds from the veranda, walking to and swimming in a cool, freshwater waterfall, eating an amazing lunch at Englishmans Bay before battling with the surf, and chatting with our hosts and fellow guests about anything/everything.

We can't wait to return to this amazing paradise!!

(Note: The drive to the house from the airport is about an hour, on windy, narrow roads that are especially thrilling if it's your first time driving with the steering wheel on the right! It's completely worth it once you get there, though!!)

  • Liked — quiet, beautiful location; amazing hosts
  • Disliked — somewhat treacherous drive to get there (if you're not used to driving 'Bristish' style)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ_DC_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

We found Gloucester Place to be one of the best places we stayed in Tobago, Win and Bea, the owners, were very welcoming and great hosts, we felt like part of the family, and we were only there 3 nights! We felt we had known them for years!

The bedroom was great, with fabulous sea views and private balcony. The infinity pool was great for a refreshing dip with a great view!

Bea and Win could not do enough for us, we loved the laid back feel of the place and great music win played!

We had a couple of excellant meals cooked by Bea and sat out on the balcony at night drinking beer and chatting like we lived there!

We thoroughly recommend this place!!

  • Liked — Felt like home!
  • Disliked — Going home!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsVHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynes Park, London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

From K,S,M&R SW London & S.Wales.

We could not believe how lucky we were to stumble upon Bea & Wyn's paradise home on the net. Being fortunate enough to spend 2 weeks on Tobago we toured the island and can honestly say there was no other place we would rather have stayed - and Tobago has some fantastic places!

FAR from being overbearing, Bea & Wyn have got the balance exactly right, always around for help, advice, beer and food when needed, and giving guests space and privacy when not. They were especially kind to our 2 children, who are still missing them one year on!

We were always torn between the beaches of Parlatuvier and Englishman's bay - what a choice. Gloucester place is a fair old drive from the airport, but worth every mile as it is being a bit off the beaten track that gives it its unspoilt character.

After a couple of days stay we felt that in Bea & Wyn we had made friends for life and intend returning as soon as funds allow. If you are considering a trip to Tobago you can't go wrong staying here - do it now before the rest of the world realises what it's missing!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank penybontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Coast
3.5 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
13.6 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castara Retreats
Castara Retreats
#1 of 11 in Castara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Place

Property: Gloucester Place
Address: Northside Road | Parlatuvier, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Northeast Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester Place has three double air-conditioned rooms and a two bedroom self catering cottage. It is situated on a cliff overlooking the sea and the Forest Reserve. It is walking distance from Parlatuvier Bay on the northeast coast of the island. The property contains an infinity pool, gardens, nature trail and small river with a waterfall. It is a 5 minute drive from Englishman's Bay, and a 10 minute drive from the Forest Reserve entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gloucester Place Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing