We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Parlatuvier”
Review of Gloucester Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northeast Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gloucester Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The island of Tobago is a most wonderful getaway with Parlatuvier Bay being one of our favorite bays on the island. The vacation gods must have overseen our choice of accommodations as we fell into the perfect location with a breathtaking view and amazingly hospitable hosts. Bea & Winn not only offered a home cooked dinner on our first night of arrival, but provided excellent hiking, snorkeling and sightseeing suggestions. They lent us snorkel gear, helped us exchange money and Bea personally escorted us to a local trail head, where their Wonderdog led us on a trek up waterfalls and through dense foliage. The modestly priced cottage at Gloucester Place offered a peaceful and breathtaking view of palms, banana trees, vivid flowering plants and the sea in the distance. Winn brought us fresh fruits in the morning from their property. We loved the open air kitchen and bedroom that provided just enough privacy. Downstairs was another more private bedroom for our friends, but most of our time “at home” was spent on the deck relaxing, reading and enjoying happy hour. The cottage stay is not for those who expect air conditioning , but then I would recommend staying at the main house. The dipping pool, available to all guests, was quite refreshing! The only pitfall with the open air cottage was the loud bus that rolled past around 7:30 am, but the birds were already singing for us at that hour. The Gloucester Place was perfect for our party of 4 who were more interested in exploring the beauty of the island and meeting the locals than frequenting the busy tourist spots near the airport. There were plenty of beautiful beaches nearby with excellent snorkeling and tasty local food. You could hike from Gloucester Place down steep stone steps to Parlatuvier Bay where we bought fresh fish when the fishing boats docked and enjoyed “liming” with the locals to calypso music. Castara offered fun beach dining with steel drums, limbo and a drum circle. We bought souveniers from our hosts, who display their gardener’s handiwork at the main guest house. Bea and Winn are active in the community tutoring the children; so at the mention of their names, the locals took care of us Our hosts were like having a personal friend/travel agent/tour guide all wrapped up in one. We so enjoyed their company, but they were careful to maintain their guests’ privacy. We highly recommend The Gloucester Place and cottage because it is a most lovely place to vacation, but it is so because Bea and Winn have the special gift of welcoming, caring for and enjoying their guests. Relax and take in Tobago!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

My wife, 21 month old daughter and I stayed in Essex Cottage for two weeks during our honeymoon in April and in a nutshell, we had the best possible time!

Essex Cottage is fantastic; it’s located in Parlatuvier which is a beautiful fishing village on the north-east part of the island. We travelled around the island for two weeks and this is the real Tobago! If you want resorts and busy beaches then you’re better off staying near the airport but if you want a bit of quiet, local walks in the rain forest, friendly locals, wildlife, amazing quiet beaches then this is simply the place to be. It’s also located not far from Castara if you want a bit more life but nothing too touristy.

Essex Cottage is great, well kitted out and furnished, clean, incredible views and Bea and Win are great hosts. They are very knowledge about the area and helped us organise car hire and various excursions. We had a meal cooked by Bea on a couple of occasions and the food was wonderful. We also used their grill to cook chicken and fish (purchased very cheaply from the local fisherman). We used the pool a lot which is great and has the best views. The landscaped gardens are amazing and very well looked after.

The negative reviews on here are total nonsense. This is an incredible place; I hope we can come back. Thanks so much Bea and Win for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JosephWilkesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Friendly hosts, lovely atmosphere and lots to do.
We throughly enjoyed our stay at gloucester place, though being tucked away in a quiet part of the island there was plenty to explore, experience and see for the intrepid traveller. Win and Bea were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble and wonder dog acted as a perfect hiking guide.
Tobago is a beautiful island and this is a fabulous base to explore it from

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helencatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Me and my husband visited this location in the end of January for our honeymoon, and had the most wonderful vacation. We searched the internet for places to stay, and chose Gloucester place because we wanted to stay away from the most ”touristy” areas and wanted a place that was less crowded and ”real” than a hotel.

Gloucester place lived up to our expectansies. We couldnt have been more lucky with our choice. The hosts are marvellous and tells you all you need to know about the area, where to go, how to get there etc. You live in a tropical paradise with an almost deserted (and beautiful) beach within walking distance. We also had some walks in the area to a waterfall nearby, in the rainforest and around the property. The sounds of the sea and the birds, the nice climate, the soothing smell of the tropical forest and the relaxed nature of the local people give you a great break from a hectic (and for our sake – freezing cold) citylife back home.

We were a bit nervous about how to get aroud the area without a rented car. It worked out good. Bea and Wyn arranged for a taxidriver to pick us up at the ferry terminal, and we even took the local bus to Castara one day. We were prepared for the bus scheduels to be a bit more slack than at home, so we managed. But it is easy to be a bit stressed when you are told that the bus leaves in ”about 30 to 45 minutes”. Just relax and have a beer, and the bus will come and pick you up at some point. Fortunately for us, we made friends with the other guests and went on trips around the north tip of the island with them. We were very lucky about that, and it added to our good experience getting to know other people staying at the house as well. So the no – car thing worked out good for us, but of course you have a bit more freedom renting a car if you dare to drive on the left side.

And I have to say – after driving to all the beautiful beaches northern Tobago has to offer, I came to the conclusion that the most beautiful ones were Englishmans bay (10 min. Drive from Gloucester) and Parlatuvier (10 min. Walk from Gloucester).

The food that Bea cooks is great. The breakfasts were very good, cooked in a typical american – continental way with toast, pancakes, eggs etc with a tropical twist of bananas, pineapples and papayas. We also had dinner there, and it was definately worth the extra cost.

The room was good too. Clean, customized and airy. We stayed at the carlisle room and had our own private balcony. However – the downstairs veranda is great too, with comfortable lounging chairs. So is the pool area with sunchairs and a fantastic view over the sea. The house itself is beautiful and have so much personality and history to it.

We would recommend this place to everybody who wants a more ”real feel” experience of the island, for people who are looking for a relaxed nature - and beach holiday and for people who like friendly and helpful hosts.
This is not the place to go if you want large resorts with no local interference, plastic palms, chain – restaurants nearby, blinking neon lights and ongoing loud party music all night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just back from a wonderful trip to Tobago, and staying and Bea and Win's made the whole trip. You know how it is when you travel, you need a haven to come back to at the end of the day (Or the middle for an extra nap). We could meander the island at our own pace, go bird watching, snorkeling, hiking, or out to a local eatery, and come back to a piece of paradise. We just felt so at home and well cared for! I will never forget this trip, thanks so much Bea and Win.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Our stay at Gloucester place was for 3 nights on our own which we added on at the end of a 9 night birding trip to Trinidad and Tobago. We were sooo glad we did this because it gave a perfectly wonderful end to our trip. Bea and Win Sargent were welcoming, delightful hosts. We were escorted to our room where there was plenty of space for our two large suitcases. The room had a very quiet air conditioning unit which we could use if we wished. We had our own balcony which looked out onto a spectacular view. The breakfast was always presented as a choice of several items including cereal, breads, toast and hot dishes like eggs or strata. If we wanted to pitch in (which we enjoy doing) and chat while breakfast was being prepared we could make our own toast or whatever we wished. We also chose to have some of our dinners there and they were also very good food - well prepared. There were many birds around the property which we enjoyed as well as a wonderful horizon pool looking out on the Caribean Sea. If you would like to see pictures of the place including the rooms, interior and exterior shots, views and birds, you may go to my website for the trip - "BirdingTrinidadAndTobago.shutterfly.com" and look for the picture folder named Gloucester Place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at Gloucester Place in February and what a good choice we made. Bea and Wyn could tnot have been more hospitable. Our room was comfortable, and we could lie in bed and watch the hummingbirds feeding. Breakfast was informal, where you sat at the breakfast bar and cooked your own toast and Bea and Wyn cooked breakfast for you, a favourite being Toad in the Hole.
The views from Gloucester Place are wonderful especially from the pool, and it was lovely to come home after a day out and about and have a dip in the pool and sit and watch the sun go down.
Tobago is a beautiful island with gorgeous beaches and lush rainforest filled with beautiful birds. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenandpaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northeast Coast
10.3 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
13.6 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
635 reviews
6.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
385 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Place

Address: Northside Road | Parlatuvier, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Northeast Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Northeast Coast
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester Place has three double air-conditioned rooms and a two bedroom self catering cottage. It is situated on a cliff overlooking the sea and the Forest Reserve. It is walking distance from Parlatuvier Bay on the northeast coast of the island. The property contains an infinity pool, gardens, nature trail and small river with a waterfall. It is a 5 minute drive from Englishman's Bay, and a 10 minute drive from the Forest Reserve entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gloucester Place Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing