We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from the name”
Review of Pirate's Bay

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although one of Tobago's more pristine and less crowded beaches, Pirate's Bay has the rougher waters typical of most northeastern beaches on the island.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Everything you expect from the name”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ended up on this secluded beach after our hike to Pigeon Peak and Flagstaff hill. Our guide, who was amazing Emile Serrette (http://www.naturetrektnt.com/). You can only reach the bay on foot or by boat. Bring your own food/drink as there are no facillities. But therefore it is nice and quiet

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stop in Charlottesville and walk up the hill, very difficult to reverse in a car! Stunning Robinson cruse beach

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tbent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Apart from one fisherman the beach was deserted when we were there. Good snorkelling to the left. Don't drive up the track, leave your car in Charlotsville and walk or one of the fishermen offered to give us a lift.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mmhhdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“total escape”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

you have to really want to get there - its not a big beach but it is beautiful, secluded. worth the visit

Helpful?
1 Thank maggie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Beach in Tobago but DO NOT DRIVE!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I wish I had read The reviews before We went, as The guide book fails To mention The treturous drive up a bendy, steep, pot holed, muddy track. I was freaked out by The shear drop next To me, but unable To go up nor down, would have been stuck had it not been for a local lad who drove us The rest of The way up!! I had To get out with The kids whilst He turned The car around. The wheels nearly went off The edge!!
It was, however, worth it To see The glorious beach below. Warm, calm shallow water, Powdery sand, Perfect for The Children. It was ashame I was still trembling from The drive. The Local lad waited while we had a short swim, so He could drive us down. It was ashame We couldn't have stayed longer And gone for a Proper snorkel, as it had To be The best beach in Tobago!!

Helpful?
Thank PaulMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Bay also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 

Been to Pirate's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing