We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Historic House”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Fort Cottage

Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom
Living Room
Bedroom 1 - 2 full sized beds
Beautiful blooms
Fully equipped kitchen
Hammocks
Breakfast nook
Cozy reading nook
View of Scarborough from the back porch.
Sunset view from historic Fort King George - just a short stroll away...
Holiday lights
View of side deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scarborough, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Historic House ”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at this guest house for 6 days. I must say we had a great time and felt very comfortable. The kitchen we used a lot to cook, all utensils included, with a big refrigerator and stove. There was also a new washer and dryer which came in very useful for us. The view is overlooking Scarborough and the Fort King George is 1 minute walk away. We had a great time there, we took some pictures and gain some knowledge about the island. We will definitely return to this place for our Tobago vacation. I would like to thank Chris and Glenn for keeping available anytime we needed them. God bless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2016
Thank you so much for the review and for the tips you gave us in person.

We look forward to your return.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valanddav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic house”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fort Cottage is in a wonderful position with sea views over Scarborough and within easy walking distance of Fort King George. It is spacious and has a lovely verandah at the back overlooking the garden which has a lot of flowering trees attracting many birds and butterflies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden outlook
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael B
Scarborough, Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Over the Christmas holiday, my family came to Tobago for a Tobago Christmas and stayed at the Fort Cottage. The biggest regret was not staying longer! They loved everything about the cottage. The house has been refurbished with modern touches to meet your everyday needs, yet still retains its historic character. My family was able to cook a full traditional Christmas dinner without having to go out and purchase anything but the food to cook! The home was also tastefully decorated for the Christmas holiday which was a thoughtful touch, so much so that my family felt right at home.
The cottage is cozy and can comfortably accommodate six people. The view from the lovely back veranda is stunning both day and night. You can also relax in the hammocks under the house and take a nap during the day. There are many cozy nooks in the cottage where you can sit and read a book (you don’t have to bring any because they have an eclectic collection at the cottage) or just relax and enjoy the cool breeze that comes through the well ventilated home.
The beaches in the main tourist areas are a short car ride away. Fort George, one of the main tourist attractions in Tobago, is in walking distance of the cottage and access to Pennysavers in Scarborough (one of the main supermarkets in Tobago) is easy.
If you are looking to have a true Tobagonian experience in a setting that is a home away from home, the Fort Cottage is the ideal spot for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, coziness of the cottage, how well stocked it is and the juxtaposition of historic features with modern ammenities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarlatie...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Exactly what I was looking for, tranquility. This well equipped house provided us with everything we could possibly need. Prior to arriving, the owner constantly enquired what he can do to assist in making our stay a memorable one. Just a short stroll to the Fort. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaMBAs...
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Just spent seven nights at the Fort Cottage from December 29 into the New Year, and it was simply divine. It's a beautiful old home with all of the modern amenities, which made for a stress free vacation. The fully equipped kitchen, with quality utensils inclusive of a coffee maker, was fully appreciated, as was the coffee which was provided. The owners are easy to interact with and were truly committed to ensuring that I had a great experience from the outset. I loved the very tasteful and natural Christmas decorations and lights which added to the ambience of the home and the at home feel of the Cottage. The view from the back porch is phenomenal both in the day and night, which made for plenty relaxation and reflection. It is truly a wonderful spot to be in by yourself or with friends, and this is further enhanced by the short walk up to the magnificent Fort or down to scenic Scarborough. In addition to this, there is an interesting selection of books and magazines to be read. A wonderful vacation space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the back porch, the quiet, the books available for reading.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
It was a pleasure having you! Thanks for staying at the Fort Cottage! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camille B
Tunapuna
1 review
“Well appointed historic cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Spent Christmas at this beautiful and well kept cottage with my family. The cottage is a combination of the old and the new. The historic integrity of the cottage has been maintained while providing all modern conveniences.
The back porch which overlooks the well maintained grounds where chickens freely roam and forage as well as Scarborough, was my favourite area of this charming house.
The owners' attention to detail as well as the extra touches such as the decorated tree branch Christmas tree were much appreciated.
I have been recommending Fort Cottage to all and sundry since my return from Tobago. My only complaint is I got no eggs from the chickens!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
We are really glad you enjoyed your time in the house, especially over Christmas. We hope you have a great 2016. Please come again. If you do and find out where the chickens nest, please let us know!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trully wonderful place to create beautifu lifetime memories!”
Reviewed December 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I, with our good friend, came to this lovely home for a wedding in Tobago. All in all this place went above and beyond our expectations. We would HIGHLY recomend a stay here to anyone looking!

To begin with the home itself is a historic colonial home that is incredibly well maintained. It is also stoocked full of any and all amenities/supplies you could hope for. If you have any trouble the grounds keeper Chris is so helpful and attentive! A great guy!

Also great to note that there is both a market and produce stand minutes from the house and tourist destination "Fort King Goerge" just up the street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful large patio with its lovely view.
Liked least: Mosquitos - but this is a given most everwhere on the island.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Christopher,
We are really happy you enjoyed your time in the house. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We look forward to hosting you again

Happy new year to you.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing