We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Argyle Waterfall

Argyle Waterfall
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a nature reserve based around a series of waterfalls. After an interesting walk through the tropical rainforest we swam in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall. Well worth a trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    207
    71
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice waterfalls, silly and expensive entry”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went to the waterfalls, as it is one of the recommended places to see in Tobago. The people in the entry area were rude and unwelcoming. They told us we had to pay 40 TT to go with a guide. We said we did not need a guide for a 10 minute walk, but they still wanted 40 TT for the entry !
I know most people that come with a cruise, or that are staying in nice hotels for a short vacation would pay without thinking twice, and some would even think they got a good deal !
I believe that it is completely wrong to be charging to see a naturally created waterfall. In my country(Norway) there are thousands of waterfalls and other amazing natural sights, and nobody would dream of charging to see any of those.
40 TT(10$) is also extortionately expensive for being allowed to walk on a 10 minute trail to see a nice enough waterfall.
We did not pay, and we did not use their trail at any point. We exited the area of the official Argyle falls building, and we found the river and followed the riverbed to the falls. They might own the trail, but they don`t own the bloody river.
It was a much nicer experience as we did not have to tag along with a big group of tourist. We did however see them, as the trail went parallel with the beach many places.
We met the cranky female guide by the falls, and she threatened us. We did however not understand what the threat was, but she said someone would "get us".
We walked back along the riverbed and never walked on their trail.
The falls were very scenic, and some of the pools made for a nice and chilling swim, but the experience was diminished by these people making us feel like some sort of criminals for choosing our own way of getting to the falls.
(As a sidenote; I noticed some of the reviews complaining of a tough 10 minute hike because they had to climb some rocks.....come on....seriously !!?)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonar Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but busy”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The guided tour was very interesting and entertaining and worth-while waiting for if you arrive at the wrong time. The walk to the falls is easy and not too long.
The main pool is deep enough to jump into from two points, one next the the waterfall and the other on the near side of the pool.
You can take a short hike/climb to two more levels of the waterfall, though the rumours of sitting in the uppermost waterfall being like a 'massage' I find are not accurate. It's like being beaten up by water but good fun nonetheless. The views from the top are spectacular.
The only thing I would say that is negative is that it's quite busy but as a popular tourist spot, that can't be helped.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
That London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK, but dont pay the guy at the road junction”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

There was a guy who flagged us down at the road junction wanting money, he had a laminated tour guide badge. This is a con......
dont pay him.
go to the carpark and pay there. You don't need a guide, really!
we did climb to the top and it was a job. Did it bare foot, mistake!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RussPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wet and pleasant. Nice short hike (READ WARNING)”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

IMPORTANT WARNING: When you pull off the main road into Argyle Falls, you may be stopped by a "tour guide" badge, shirt and all. He offered a tour to the "private" falls for 50TT. I refused to pay saying it was expensive. After I got to the falls and paid the entry fee, i was offered a free tour guide to the falls, so avoid the scammers on the road and use the guides where you buy the tickets.

it is 40TT per adult and 20TT per child under 11. It is a short easy hike, but be prepared for a very muddy trail so don't wear flip flops or sandels. Boots are best. Recommended to bring a swimsuit so you can swim at the falls, but it may be hard to take a photo at the falls because there is a lot of moisture in the air that can be bad for a camera. The last 100 feet to the falls can be challenging, but there are ropes to help on the climb.

With a family of two adults and three teenagers, it was definitely expensive at 200TT for everyone to get in, but heck, we're on vacation and it did take up an hour of time and the tour guide was good.

If you want something to do when driving to this side of the island, it is worth stopping as there is not much else to do.

I recommend tipping the tour guide about 20TT.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argyle Waterfall also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 

Been to Argyle Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing