We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & affordable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hummingbird Heights
Ranked #5 of 13 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and i stayed for 4 nights at this lovely establishment in January 2014. Ms.Voke a very lovely lady accommodated our early arrival. The rooms were very clean and so was the pool. The area was very quiet and the location was great as we had a vehicle. The hotel is close to Scarborough and there are two mini groceries 5 mins away. If you're looking for a cheap, clean and quiet place with a pool, this is definitely it!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the ground floor, the hotel is very high.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Hummingbird Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

The new owners Leslie and Voke are great people.They are very helping andopen minded to any comments regarding your stay.

We stayed seven days in this apartment. It has two good size bedrooms, one bathroom, kitchen with enough pots and pans, large sitting area and a dining table. You can view Caribbean sea from the balcony and also enjoy the pool. Although washing facility is not on the premises, you can get your clothes washed same day. Leslie also provides pickup service from airport. Two grocery stores are very close too.

Only concern is the stairs to go to third floor and parking your car can be very tricky.

Thanks Voke and Leslie for giving us such a good service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here once the first time we went to Tobago and it was really wonderful. the price is really good and Shirley, who managed the place back then was a gem. Management has changed since then so I dont know how it is now. I know the last time we were in Tobago they were doing some renovations and we could not stay there. I'm sure it is even better now but will miss Shirley alot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

my partner and I stayed here for four days. The apartment is very spacious and clean.Shirley is a very friendly and informative host and "sings" very well.. I would definitely recommend this guest house for value in tobago.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galleonsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

I stayed with Shirley for 4 weeks during my medical student elective. The apartment was in a very convenient location for me, and I could easily travel to pigeon point to spend time at the more popular beaches. There is a nice little shop, fruit & veg stall and taxi rank approx 3 minutes walk from the apartment. The apartment itself is very clean and spacious, and the swimming pool is well tended to. Shirley is extremely friendly and keen to make sure your trip goes well. It is very helpful having local knowledge at hand and Shirley treats you more like a guest than a paying customer. My stay was enjoyable and definitely good value, and I would return in an instant. Keep up the good work Shirley!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlycat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

My wife and I spent 11 days at Hummingbird Heights and loved every minute of it. We stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment, which included a full kitchen, 2 spacious bedrooms, a large sitting area, and a wonderful balcony with a great view of the Caribbean Sea. We had a nice large pool as well. We paid a heck of a lot less than we would have paid if we'd gone to a hotel, and we had much more space than even the largest hotel suite. When we return to Tobago, we will certainly stay at Hummingbird Heights again.

The property itself is set on a lushly-forested hillside above Scarborough. It's a 5-minute drive away from the downtown area. The airport at Crown Point, plus all the dive shops in the Store Bay area, is approximately a 20-minute drive. We rented a Jeep through Shirley, and this was a great way for us to get around the island.

Shirley, our host, met us at the airport, arranged our rental car, and served us tasty rum punches and a chicken pasta lunch when we arrived. She was always on hand to answer any questions and make our stay very comfortable. Her dog, Violet, was a very welcome presence. Hollis, her chicken, provided tasty eggs that we cooked for breakfast.

If you are looking for quiet, spacious, beautifully-located accomodations at a fraction of the price you'd pay at a large hotel, then Hummingbird Heights is for you. I can't recommend it strongly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
0.5 mi away
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Half Moon Blue Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Heights

Address: Glen Road No. 1, Scarborough 123456, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $26 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hummingbird Heights offers spacious, relaxing ocean-view accommodations perched on a lushly-forested hillside above Tobago’s capital, Scarborough. After your complimentary airport transfer, savor the tropical sunshine in our private pool area. Enjoy the stunning views from your balcony. Restaurants, shops, and beaches are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Heights Tobago/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing