We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant

Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent food in a unique and unusual setting. Go by taxi to make sure of finding it. Ian and Paula are very hospitable and welcoming. Not to be missed in a visit to Scarborough.
PS Be aware of an after dinner rum or three with Ian which are very pleasant but not good for the next morning head ache. We look forward to returning. Carole and Geoff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salsa Kitchen - Tobago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent our last night in Tobago here, really wish we'd been before. Quite bizarre as this is the front of Ian & Paula's home. But the minute Ian greets you, you feel like you are going to Dinner with friends. The smell of Paula's cooking is entrancing. Ian just makes you feel so much at home & welcome. We were a table of 2, on the same night another table of 6 English (previous customers) & 2 French. By the end of the evening all chatting & exchanging email addresses. If all Restaurants were like this how happy we would all be. We don't usually tend to be that social, but with Paula's devine food & Ian creating the perfect happy atmosphere you really can't go wrong. The glasses don't match, the table might be a bit wobbly(who cares?), but please when you go to Tobago, if you do nothing else, go here, as also their prices are very, very reasonable. All the best to Ian & Paula, one place to never forget xxxx

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Food consists of various tapas dishes,salad. Garlic bread was recommended as no other carbs included. Food is cooked fresh and is full of good flavours.

We got a taxi, dont know if we would have found it otherwise. Is located in the front terrace of their home basically.

We were made very welcome, enjoyed the food and would be happy to visit again.
Note bookings are required as they don't open if no tables booked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank likeluxuryBoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Some of the best food on Tobago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We're leaving Tobago today after 11 days. We dined at Salsa Kitchen twice. Both times the food and service was excellent. It is a tiny restaurant - with only 6 tables - so make reservations! The food was delicious and imaginative. We pretty much had everything on the menu and all of the dishes was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Tobago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed on Tobago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and this was helped immensely by discovering Salsa Kitchen on Pump Mill Road. Perched just off Wilson Road, one of the main roads into Scarborough, the restaurant may be a little tricky to find, but well worth the effort because Paula's cooking is sublime and Ian is the perfect host.
All the dishes are freshly made from the best local ingredients and represent a brilliant blend of Caribbean spices, fish, seafood and meat that are just delicious.
They are the only restaurant on the island that do not charge the earth for wine and the value and hospitality are legendary.
Please take note of other notices about booking early because they are quite rightly busy most nights and do not have a lot of tables or covers, which is another big plus.
Perched on their varanda enjoying superb food and not being ripped off is an absolute joy and one you should not miss on your next visit to the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank billyt777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing