We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the real charm and tranquility of Tobago.”
Review of Moonlight Mountain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Mountain
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After another month of hot dusty boat repairs in Trinidad, two weary sailors took the ferry from Port of Spain to Scarborough in Tobago.
A ten minute drive from the bustling port, in a small rented Jeep, brought us to Moonlight Mountain, or should we say 'Paradise'.
Ginny , our host, was leaning over the balcony with a welcoming smile, from then on things only got better.
As we were staying for ten days, we opted for the self catering studio on the ground floor, ten steps from the lovely little pool and deck, with marvellous views over Scarborough and the sea in one direction , and the rain forest covered hills in the other.
This is a place where you experience the real charm and tranquility of Tobago.  
Simple but really comfortable furnishing, plenty of opening windows to allow the breeze to cool you , without the drone of AC.... We felt at home and relaxed.immediately.
Motmots appearing every breakfast time waiting to be fed pieces of cheese, and a glorious garden full of wonderful tropical plants and creatures.
The extra special ingredient was the regular yoga sessions with Ginny, who is an inspirational teacher. Classes in her own studio and also joining her for larger classes at other locations in Tobago.
Our last night there we had a dinner in the garden under the stars with Ginny and her husband Kelly feeling like we were new members of the family.
We will definitely be booking our next visit to this wonderful place at the first opportunity.
Jane and Rowan Francis

Room Tip: The self catering apartment was just perfect perfect perfectfor what we were looking for. Lots of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowan_n_francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

During our two-month stay on Tobago we had an opportunity to stay in 6 different accommodations. Out of the six, Moonlight Mountain had a very special disarming ambiance that we felt immediately upon arrival. Ginny and Kelly, the hosts, are very gracious and accommodating. They provided for our every need, especially photo opportunities of the friendly, colourful motmot birds at her kitchen window. Ginny has a wealth of information about the island and its services and activities. The location of this pretty hideaway with flowering gardens and huge trees on top of a high hill provided breathtaking views of Scarborough, its harbour and the southwest coast of Tobago. We found the pool cool and refreshing.

Room Tip: We truly enjoyed the large self-catering studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our stay at Moonlight Mountain was absolutely perfect. Ginny and Kelly, the hosts, are accommodating, helpful, friendly, informative, respectful and just plain sweet. The rooms were spacious with beautiful views and eating breakfast on the wrap around porch was luxurious. The whole house and property has the feel of being far far away from the "real world" where you can relax, unwind, re-energize and rejuvenate. I was especially impressed with the studio space they have available for yoga, or even the space on the porch and deck (by the little pool) is great for yoga too, which I did on a morning or two. Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to experience a true get away in beautiful tobago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our vacation choice. Ginny and Kelly are perfect hosts, giving us lots of information about Tobago, and booking us with taxi driver Brian whenever we needed (as Canadians, we weren't familiar with the English driving) and with the activity reservations. We were pleased to be able to do 5 yoga classes with Ginny (excellent yoga teacher !) during our 10-day trip.

Bring good running shoes and good walking sandals if you want to walk to Scarborough (a few kilometers up and down the hill) and to go in the rainforest to bathe in the falls. You will need a taxi (or car) ride to go to the beach. For a 10-day trip, renting a car would be ideal if you are confortable driving at left side of the road.

We recommend this place without hesitation.

Room Tip: We chose the studio, wich was perfect to bring back fresh fruits, vegetables and fish, and to cook f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ginny was very friendly and accomodating and made us feel very welcome. She is an amazing hostess; she has lots of experience with the island, so she was able to give us great advice. She was always available and willing to help us out when we needed her. By the end of the trip we felt like she was a member of our extended family.
The property is very nice and relaxing, but the location was a bit off the beaten path for us. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to be coming and going a lot. The rooms are just basic. We found we there were more bugs here than at other places we stayed at. It didn't have air conditioning, but we didn't really need it as there was a nice breeze through the room. Because we were up on a hill we had a very nice view of scarborough. We liked having the hammock to lounge in on the deck. The pool was only good for daytime use because of the temperature and is small (for sitting, not swimming). I think a hot tub, or at least a warm water pool, would be more suitable. Wireless internet would also be a good addition to the house. We really loved Kelly's fresh juice that he prepared every morning, however we unfortunately weren't crazy about the eggs and toast for breakfast. We did not try the yoga, so we can't speak to that.
We would stay here again as we really enjoyed Ginny's company and would recommend Moonlight Mountain to anyone wishing to find a relaxing hideaway for a reasonable price. We wish we could give them a 4.5 out of 5, but that is not an option, so we went with a 4,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Moonlight Mountain is the perfect place for a hideaway in an relaxing atmosphere. Ginny and Kelly are the perfect hosts, very cordial, they make you feel at home. My room (upstairs with large balcony) was beautiful with superb view over Scarborough, the breakfast served in the morning on the large veranda delicious. Moonlight Mountain is very much recommendable and definitively worth a visit. A stay at Moonlight Mountain is good combinable with a stay in Castara at Blue Mango Cottages with beautiful view over the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I can't speak highly enough for the hospitality and the welcome I received at the Moonlight Mountain. Ginny and Kelly are absolutely lovely, the property is well-located above Scarborough with terrific views and away from the busier areas with its own amazing rainforest garden, so there really is a feeling of peace and relaxation that envelops you as soon as you arrive. I had the self-catering studio, and was really comfortable and happy there, and Ginny made sure I wanted for nothing, and was a source of great advice about getting out and about and exploring the island. She helped with everything from jeep hire to booking for boat trips, and even organised a wonderful massage for me on my first day. If you want a real authentic and enhancing experience, the Moonlight Mountain is the place for you. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
3.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Tobago's Hibiscus Golf Villas & Apartments
0 mi away
No photo provided
Sanctuary
#1 of 11 in Scarborough
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ade's Domicil
Ade's Domicil
#7 of 10 in Scarborough
10 reviews
0 mi away
Sullivan's Court Apartments
Sullivan's Court Apartments
#8 of 10 in Scarborough
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Mountain

Address: Wilson Road, Scarborough, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Moonlight Mountain Tobago/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing