We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect yoga retreat !”
Review of Moonlight Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moonlight Mountain
Morin-Heights
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect yoga retreat !”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our vacation choice. Ginny and Kelly are perfect hosts, giving us lots of information about Tobago, and booking us with taxi driver Brian whenever we needed (as Canadians, we weren't familiar with the English driving) and with the activity reservations. We were pleased to be able to do 5 yoga classes with Ginny (excellent yoga teacher !) during our 10-day trip.

Bring good running shoes and good walking sandals if you want to walk to Scarborough (a few kilometers up and down the hill) and to go in the rainforest to bathe in the falls. You will need a taxi (or car) ride to go to the beach. For a 10-day trip, renting a car would be ideal if you are confortable driving at left side of the road.

We recommend this place without hesitation.

Room Tip: We chose the studio, wich was perfect to bring back fresh fruits, vegetables and fish, and to cook f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Ginny was very friendly and accomodating and made us feel very welcome. She is an amazing hostess; she has lots of experience with the island, so she was able to give us great advice. She was always available and willing to help us out when we needed her. By the end of the trip we felt like she was a member of our extended family.
The property is very nice and relaxing, but the location was a bit off the beaten path for us. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to be coming and going a lot. The rooms are just basic. We found we there were more bugs here than at other places we stayed at. It didn't have air conditioning, but we didn't really need it as there was a nice breeze through the room. Because we were up on a hill we had a very nice view of scarborough. We liked having the hammock to lounge in on the deck. The pool was only good for daytime use because of the temperature and is small (for sitting, not swimming). I think a hot tub, or at least a warm water pool, would be more suitable. Wireless internet would also be a good addition to the house. We really loved Kelly's fresh juice that he prepared every morning, however we unfortunately weren't crazy about the eggs and toast for breakfast. We did not try the yoga, so we can't speak to that.
We would stay here again as we really enjoyed Ginny's company and would recommend Moonlight Mountain to anyone wishing to find a relaxing hideaway for a reasonable price. We wish we could give them a 4.5 out of 5, but that is not an option, so we went with a 4,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Moonlight Mountain is the perfect place for a hideaway in an relaxing atmosphere. Ginny and Kelly are the perfect hosts, very cordial, they make you feel at home. My room (upstairs with large balcony) was beautiful with superb view over Scarborough, the breakfast served in the morning on the large veranda delicious. Moonlight Mountain is very much recommendable and definitively worth a visit. A stay at Moonlight Mountain is good combinable with a stay in Castara at Blue Mango Cottages with beautiful view over the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I can't speak highly enough for the hospitality and the welcome I received at the Moonlight Mountain. Ginny and Kelly are absolutely lovely, the property is well-located above Scarborough with terrific views and away from the busier areas with its own amazing rainforest garden, so there really is a feeling of peace and relaxation that envelops you as soon as you arrive. I had the self-catering studio, and was really comfortable and happy there, and Ginny made sure I wanted for nothing, and was a source of great advice about getting out and about and exploring the island. She helped with everything from jeep hire to booking for boat trips, and even organised a wonderful massage for me on my first day. If you want a real authentic and enhancing experience, the Moonlight Mountain is the place for you. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ginny and Kelly were so welcoming, that it was like a home away from home - but better! The morning yoga practice was a wonderful way to start the day. And Kelly cooked us some delicious and healthy breakfast every day too. The sea breeze, gorgeous views, and relaxing atmosphere combined to leave me feeling totally rejuvenated - both body and soul. I will definitely be visiting Moonlight Mountain again. I recommend it for anyone looking for a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: The best view is from the first room at the top of the stairs, but the fridge is in the last room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleymc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our stay at moonlight mountain was perfect. The owners were so welcoming it was like being at home. The place was very clean. Very comfortable beds. Quiet. Amazing view of Scarborough and the Atlantic. The breakfast was the best we had all trip. Definitely the best place we stayed on Tobago. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our final night in Tobago was spent at Moonlight Mountain and when we arrived we wished that we had stayed there for the duration of our time on the island! Ginny and Kelly are lovely and extremely warm and helpful. We asked lots of questions about the area and they gave us wonderful recommendations on where to eat and spend our time. We stayed in two apartments in the main house - both were very clean and beautifully decorated and both had balconies. When you step out on the balcony you see a breathtaking view of the sea along with a view of the town of Scarborough. The apartments are very comfortable and Ginny and Kelly instantly make you feel like you are at home. There is also a large deck with a pool and beautiful gardens surrounding the home. Another wonderful surprise was the lovely breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, fish, vegetables, juice, and tea. I can't say enough about our stay here. If you are traveling in Tobago and are planning on staying in Scarborough, don't miss an opportunity to stay at Moonlight Mountain. It is also a very central location - close to many interesting beaches, towns, and waterfalls. The warmth, comfort, and serenity of the house make your stay an unforgettable one. Sara and Ian from Canada - August 2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraCanada23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
7.5 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.3 mi away
Enchanted Waters Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Mountain

Property: Moonlight Mountain
Address: Wilson Road, Scarborough, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moonlight Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Mountain Tobago/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing