We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”
Review of Hibiscus Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hibiscus Heights
Ranked #5 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After our wedding in Trinidad, we took all our guest to Tobago to unwind and experience the best of both islands. A group of 16 stayed here, it was a wonderful experience. The house was clean, fully furnished and contained all we needed for the stay. The house was big and spacious, which was great since it had do many of us.
The view also is amazing, as you can see the ocean from the top floor. It's a minute walk to the beach and close enough to the town area.
Glory, the owner is one of the sweetest persons we meet there. She is very kind and considerate to all her guest.
Would highly recommend here and will definitely visit again,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
55
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hibiscus Heights was amazing, my family had so much fun, there were clean rooms, excellent service, (Glory was so nice), and the pool was just the icing on the cake. The view, breathtaking, and the sunsets were glorious. The Stone Haven beach was just a minute drive away, from the house. All in all the three night stay, was perfect, the house is situated in just the right location, in between the nice calm hills and the busy nightlife (perfect for my family). This review was for the three apartments: the Warm breezes, artist studio and the corner view apartments, all lovely rooms very spacious and accommodating. Already planning my next trip. And how can i forget the huge book/novel collection in the Artist studio. This place truly offers something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arima, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We rented the entire compound, The owner was very accommodating with the kids which made our 3 day stay much easier, Walking distance to the beach made it easy for early morning and late afternoon swim. Excellent view of the sunset and sunrise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 433Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our stay at Sweet Nest at the beginning of June 2014 also included a stay within Warm Breezes which is reviewed separately.

Sweet Nest is a one bedroom cottage/villa within the grounds of Hibiscus Heights. Upon entering the cottage you will find a queen sized bed with side tables, a chest of drawers and a small wardrobe area. Just past the foot of the bed there is a latticed screen panel with a wicker convertible chair on the other side which opens up to a single bed. When not in use, it's a great place to cosy up and watch TV/read if you wish. There is a small four seater dining table and double patio doors which then lead out to a decked area complete with four seater patio set, two padded loungers, large sun parasol and a gas bbq. Part of the decked area is also afforded cover from any rain so you can still sit outside if the weather isn't so great.

The kitchen and bathroom are at the back of the cottage. The kitchen is small but functional with a fridge/freezer, gas cooker and work and storage space. There is also a blender, toaster and coffee percolator (the kettle is a good old fashioned gas stove type which whistles when the water boils), cool box and the usual cutlery, plates, bowls, glasses etc. The facilities are basic but we found we had everything that we needed and were able to cook up two different meals for a ''dinner party' with another couple.

The bathroom is spacious enough with a large tiled shower area and a small vanity unit.

The cottage has air conditioning, a flatscreen TV (we didn't make use of this) , safe and wifi access.

The only observation that I have is that the bathroom and kitchen could do with modernising. The bathroom in the shower area needs retiling and the kitchen work top and general work area could be slightly reconfigured to make better use of the space. The owners are fully aware of this and it is something that will happen over time. In the meantime it is totally functional/useable and is more about cosmetic appearance than anything so I wouldn't be put off renting Sweet Nest because of this. It's in a great area and although it doesn't have access to a pool (like Warm Breezes) you really are a few minutes stroll from nearby beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kooshkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in the Warm Breezes apartment at Hibiscus Heights from the 4th June until the 11th - with 2 days during this period staying at Sweet Nest - which is another apartment on site. These are entirely different properties and experiences so they will be treated as separate reviews.

Warm Breezes is the top floor apartment at Hibiscus Heights. It has an open plan kitchen and living area with 3 double bedrooms, one of which is en suite. There is a separate bathroom and shower room and a swimming pool at the rear, which is for the use of Warm Breezes guests only. The kitchen is moderately well equipped, with a gas stove and a capacious fridge/freezer.

Only my wife and I were staying at the property, so we occupied the main bedroom. There were significant advantages to this as the bedroom has several doors, which can be opened on to the main balcony. The balcony runs the length of the perimeter of the apartment and has an extensive view of the Caribbean sea, and looks down towards the small commercial centre that is Pleasant Prospect in Mount Irvine.

This part of the coast is on the Caribbean sea side of the island and benefits from having access to a few restaurants and bars, a basic grocery store and fruit and vegetable stand, and being only a short (7 to 10 minute) walk from Stonehaven Beach. This location is perfect to use as a base to explore the Island, with Scarborough being only a 10 minute drive away, and the coast road that encircles Tobago is the main road, which is just down from the apartment.

Mike and Glory, the owners, are able to recommend an excellent car hire service. We would recommend that, if you're going to stay in a villa in Tobago, hire a car. There's a lot to see, and the nearest supermarket is in Scarborough, so a car would seem to be essential!

It was a pleasure to wake up to that view every morning, whilst contemplating some more pool time, simple relaxation or a visit to Argyle Falls or Fort George. We visited Pigeon Point, which is a local 'secure' beach (with a minimal entry cost), and spent a couple of days down at Stonehaven. The seating on the balcony at Warm Breezes meant that we were equally happy just sitting out and sweltering in the 30+ degree heat. If you'd come from Britain, where the weather is mostly cold and wet, this was a simple pleasure.

Glory and Mike were helpful, friendly and informative. They live on site and were always willing to offer advice and the benefit of their local knowledge. They can offer airport transportation, but make sure to check that they're available when you need them - they have lives too! I don't think that they could have been more accommodating for us.

Understanding that if, like us, you would be coming from a country where the roaming charges for your phone can be excessive (O2 texted me to say that it would £1.40/minute to make a call and £1.25 to receive one - plus 40p per text sent!), Mike and Glory provide a local mobile telephone with credit on it for you to use. It's the little touches like this that make all the difference.

There's daily housekeeping, with Ingrid working hard to keep things in order. All rooms have internet access (I measured the speed at over 7 megabits per second in Warm Breezes) and a flatscreen TV with Netflix already installed, though we didn't make use of this at all as we were too busy enjoying being in Tobago!

All in all, this was a perfect little trip in a great location, with helpful and considerate hosts on hand to assist when needed. We would recommend to others and would return.

Room Tip: Warm Breezes is the most expensive apartment, but it can accommodate 8 people, with the main bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a wonderful time here with my friends. The hosts, Glory and Mike did their best to ensure we were comfortable. The apartment provided all amenities for a most enjoyable stay. We indulged in reading (an assortment of books provided on shelf), cooking(kitchen was well stocked with necessary utensils e.t.c.), movie watching (Netflix)...a very restful and relaxing stay. Mike offered to pick us up at the airport as we encountered a delay with our flight and arrived close to midnight. We are most grateful for Glory and Mike's hospitality. Thank you!

My friends all agreed that we will be staying here again in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms can entertain only certain numbers of guests. Visit the Hibiscus Heights website for informati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimmikaS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I found this place on the internet and I am happy to say that I am glad I did. I spent two nights at this place and although we were out most of the time, the spent here was comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the amenities were adequate for our brief stay. Yes, I would recommend this place to friends and family.
I will also return for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Corner suites with ocean view is refreshing on early mornings with loads of sunshine later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shazad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobago hotels
4.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Heights

Property: Hibiscus Heights
Address: Alefounder Drive, Pleasant Prospect | Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Heights has 4 rental units which can be booked together or as separate apartments. The three bedroom apartment is very spacious with views of the Caribbean Sea. The one bedroom cottage is called "Sweet Nest" and it has its own private deck and drive-up-to-the-door parking within property's gates. On the ground floor of the main house there are two adjoining apartments called "The Artist's Studio" and "Corner View", each capable of sleeping 3 persons comfortably. Child friendly swimming pool available to all apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hibiscus Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Heights Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing