We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location”
Review of Blue Mango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Mango
Ranked #58 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent 10 days at the Blue Mango in January 2012,staying in Lower Sweet Point apartment, clean , spacious, colourful and quirky. WE loved the waves on the rocks below our windows, the views of Castara little beach, the ocean beyond and beers on the balcony at sunset were the icing on the cake.
Rebekah is lovely, made us feel really welcome, picked us up from the airport and her cooking is amazing. She made us lots of interesting vegetarian dishes all with local ingredients and even gave away a few secret tips for us to try at home. Triniy, her daughter, always has a happy smile and makes you laugh.
We spent most of our days on Englishmans beach, an energetic 1 hours walk from Castara and we like being able to walk to the village and choose from lots of eateries in the evenings.
The relaxed atmosphere made for our perfect holiday, the Blue Mango is laid back, welcoming and we would recomend it to anyone looking for peace and quiet with a traditional, local feel.

Room Tip: All of the apartments looked great, we had a peek, Sea Steps is very close to the waves awesome.But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walcotwoollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked the three cottages at Sweet Point for five nights over New Year 2011 (or Old Year 2010 for Trinis!) for a group of five (two couples and a single traveller). The location is absolutely amazing, overlooking the Castara Bay on one side and Little Bay on the other. You fall asleep at night to the sound of the ocean and wake up to the sound of birds. The owner, Colin, a really nice and laid-back host, and Rebecca is the most incredible cook, surprising us with very generous local dishes (when you go, ask ahead of time for the crab and dumplings), and Trinity will always make you smile! The rooms are rustic but perfect for a relaxed vacation.
In the afternoon you buy fresh fish from the fishermen on the beach, you can walk to the little waterfall nearby, swim in the ocean or just relax in a hammock. There is some good snorkelling in Little Bay although you have to watch the surf.
Whilst Castara is a couple of hours drive from the airport, it's absolutely worth it to be able to get away from it all. Colin will also help to book tours of the rain forest and anything else that you might want.
We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had a marriage ceremony at Blue mango and it was amazing. Rebecca was really personable and friendly. Colin was very easy going and nice to chat with, and plays a great game of "scrabble".The kids are very friendly and are lovely by nature. We really enjoyed the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and relaxing us in a gentle return to nature. The time spent there was nothing less than amazing and much love goes out to the Blue mango crew.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinggabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This place is great, we’d go back in a heartbeat! Me and my wife spend two glorious weeks at Blue Mango in October 2010, 5 nights in one of the Sweet Point Cottage apartments and 9 nights in the Sea Steps cottage. Sweet Point Cottage is nice, the views from the balcony is amazing and the place have all the amenities you need.

However, Sea Steps is the star of Blue Mango. The bedroom is good size, the bed is large and comfortable and the bathroom has a good shower with warm water and plenty of room. And still it’s the living room space that makes this place. Kitchen area, table and sun beds open to the ocean.
There were days we didn’t even leave the cottage. The ever present soothing noise from the surf breaking a few meters below you, the private stair down to your own little beach, the birds. If you are looking for peace and quiet you can’t do better than this.

The rooms are kept nice and clean. They are also very open to the elements, making it impossible for them to get stuffy but also enabling birds and the odd insect to find its way inside. It never bothered us, indeed it’s fun to watch the bananaquits fly around.

Rebecca is a great hostess and a talented cook, her simple yet tasty local fare is amazing. Even the crab and dumpling, although messy to eat. And she mixes a mean rum punch.

So we give this place all thumbs up, and recommend anyone seeking peace and quiet to go there, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Very quirky - great views but probably better in the dry season as sea very close and very noisy - could do with some maintenance & cleaner only turned up once at the beginnining of stay. Owners not around very much but lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Most beautiful place, romantic and comforting. friendly staff. could not ask for anything more!! Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

BLUE MANGO CASTARA TOBAGO

We visited Colin, Rachel and Trinity at Blue Mango March 2010, our original idea for this holiday was to tour Tobago, having been twice before, staying a couple of nights at each destination, once we visited the website for Blue Mango we had to change our plans, we fell in love with this unique property straight away and just knew we had to stay there, as it turned out we decided to stay the whole two weeks and we are very glad we did. We appreciate the other units on site are very good but, if you get the chance stay in Sea Steps, this very special house has won us over with it’s quirky build it is certainly a one off, sitting above it’s own beach it is the envy of all who stay in Castara, true it has not got an easy access and if you have trouble of any kind in walking it may not be for you. The sound of the waves rushing against the rocks below your bedroom is wonderful, you soon get used to the noise, or you can do as my wife did and sleep under the stars in the hammock provided in the open lounge area ask for a mosquito net. We can not praise Colin & Rachel highly enough, nothing is to much trouble you only have to ask, as the old saying goes if you do not ask you do not get. For the first four days we did nothing but relax, swimming off the beach was easy just walk down the steps provided, access to the other two beaches is easy, either swim or walk. Going to the village for shopping is just as easy and the facilities in the village are very good, one large supermarket with numerous small shops that sell just about everything, if you have any trouble in getting anything go and see Mrs Walker in her shop/bar near the Coffee House. The eating houses are good in the main village you have the Coffee House, see Chevron as he can also help with fishing trips and tours, and just opposite Margurites and on a Friday night a must is Shirvans bar for the BBQ, there are other places like the Naturaluist, the Almond Tree and D Lime but we did not get to try them out so can not say if good or not, we enjoyed our meals in the Coffee House and Margurites, also The Coffee House has a BBQ on Saturday night. Of course we must not forget our very own Rachel with her Clay Oven which is now up and running providing local caribbean food every night with Friday night being dance night to live music when available, most enjoyable. If you want to go liming, the local of meeting up for a drink and a chat, just join the locals in the bar at the top of the hill near Blue Mango, you will be in for an interesting evening especially if the two ladies called Doris are in, get to know them as they have a wealth of information and one even runs a garden nursery which is very interesting. Take a walk to the waterfall along the river bed up past the football pitch for an early morning dip in the water below and swim with the many fish. The time will fly by, up at 6am to watch the Pelicans fishing, go for an early morning swim, breakfast and more bird watching, also by this time the fishermen will be going out to the boats, now time for another swim before going shopping, back for lunch time swim and eats, rest during the heat of the day, swimming/snorkelling during late afternoon, back for a quick cup of tea before going down to catch the sunset and a last swim around 6.30pm. Of out for the evening and a lime before and after your meal or cook in and just enjoy the real peace and quiet Sea Steps offers you as you will not hear any local noise except the sea.
The time may come when you want to explore the island as we did so just see Rachel or go down to Taylors on the small beach to arrange your car hire and you can get to all the local sandy bays plus a trip to the capital Scarborough can be enjoyed , whilst talking of the small beach, here you have The Boat House restaurant which is not run by locals, this becomes apparent when they have the Wednesday BBQ with live steel band and African band music with a meal included, the price for this is very expensive and to be honest we did not enjoy the meal as it was obviously cooked using cheap ingredients and was completely tasteless, the only good thing is if you can drink enough rum punch this is included in the price but, at 400tt$ against the very modest 80 – 100tt$ of the other BBQs you can see what we mean. By the way Chevron does include rum punch in the price of The Coffee House BBQ. If you want a holiday with all the trimmings do not go to Castara, if you want something completely individual, different and definitely quirky it can only be the Blue Mango and Sea Steps.

Well Colin & Rachel we sincerely it will not be to long before we are back in Castara and staying with you and Trinity, hopefully she will have quietened down by then, for another fabulous holiday, we can not thank you enough for the efforts you went to to ensure we had a great time and we promise you the hammock, (Colin provided us with a hammock to bring back to the UK) will be put up and used so that Sandy can lay back and think of Tobago, Castara and all the wonderful people we met on this trip, thank you all once again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bumbleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobago hotels
0 mi away
Greenhaven Cottage Bed And Breakfast
0 mi away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
656 reviews
0 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango

Address: Castara Postal Agency | St David Parish, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Tobago
Price Range: $75 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Blue Mango Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing