We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hummingbird paradise”

Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dundas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hummingbird paradise”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Not the easiest place to find, but well worth the search. We got there about 5:00 when food had been put out for the hummingbirds (and other birds). There had to have been at least 60 hummingbirds of five or six different species as well as Blue-crowned Motmots and a few other species. As the sun set, bats started to come to the feeders to replace the hummingbirds. All in all, it was magical. In addition to that, the grounds are interesting to walk around and there are two villas on the property which would be fun to stay at. Maybe next trip to Tobago.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl3en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about this place, as the pictures did not really do it justice. I hope mine give the public a better idea. It was a delight to walk into the place, which is actually somebody's house, and be treated as guests rather than customers who have to pay for admission (30TT). We didn't pay until we left actually, into a donation box. We spent almost 2h there, just sitting and watching the dozens of hummingbirds fly and buzz around your head. We almost got hit once or twice - it's incredible how loud the sound from their wings are. We managed to see one Mot-Mot on the Mot-Mot trail, but didn't get a good picture of it. Beware of mosquitoes!! Even the spray was not enough, make sure you bring trousers and long sleeves while you are there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FazzersN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

One of the highlights of my trip. Can almost miss the sign off the road to this little taste of heaven. The family who own the place have worked hard to create a serene, tranquil setting for all the various species of beautiful hummingbirds that come right up to the feeders while you look on in awe and admiration. They whizz around and buzz past your ears rather like a remote control glider - a weird sensation. Took endless photos of my favourite bird. Walked the little trail and enjoyed a freshly blended fruit smoothie courtesy of the lovely owner. The are doing a great deal for conservation and protection of the birds and land here so definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The idyllic setting provided a vast array of bird life and one of the dogs was happy to guide us around the grounds with the rich amount of fruit trees sustaining a vast array birdsongs. We saw at lest 5 species of hummingbird in the frenzy of feeding time with the chance to get unbelievably close for pictures and the chance to be face to face with the amazing animals.

An excellent place for all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a great place for a visit with some of the best opportunities to see and photograph humming birds. You get a friendly welcome and are escorted on a walk round the grounds by the two retired guide dogs. We have sponsored a tree there so that is another good excuse to keep going back to Tobago

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Scarborough, Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing