We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed all day!”

Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Could have stayed all day!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went here during an Island Tour with Peter Cox as I love hummingbirds and had specifically requested to drop in.

It was a fantastic experience and I think we saw all 6 types of hummingbirds on the feeders as well as a small green parrot, bananaquits and tanagers. Excellent place to film the birds because they are actually out in the open for long enough to catch. Marvellous to watch the hummingbirds in action.

The people who are running this are doing an excellent job!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fascinating couple of hours watching the hummingbirds”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We visited this place with our 8 year old daughter. The owner has turned his garden into
a santuary for the bird life of Tobago. He is not running a business, as such, more a conservation project.

He fills up his many feeders with sugar water and fruits and the birds come in their droves. It is a lovely way to spend 1 or 2 hours, sitting on his veranda, sipping a fruit drink that he has made from whatever fruits are in season when you visit. We saw 5 out of the 6 species of hummingbirds plus tanagers, woodpeckers and mot mots and antshrikes. The owner also has three lovely dogs, two of which are guidi dogs and we went on a lovely
walk with them leading the way. The cost was 30TT which is approx £3. Drinks are extra.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit here as you will be sure to take home some really lovely photos.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank balooPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adventure Farm - small but great to visit (and stay)”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the Ecovillas at the nature park which gave us a fair bit of time to wonder around. The villa was a lovely place to stay - effectively a tree-house with a high veranda overlooking the small woodland area with loads of different birds to see (and very friendly dogs). Helpful and friendly owner too.

The term "Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve" is over-selling it, as you may expect more based on the name (which would be a shame as what it does offer is definately worth while). It's a small estate with a nice range of trees that you can wonder around, but the real attraction is the humming-bird feeding station. This was teeming with several different species of humming birds (and other bird-life) and provides (I suspect) the best opportunity on Tobago to watch (and photograph) these amazing animals right up close .
As we were staying on site, we also had the opportunity to watch the bats that visit the feeding station at dusk - these were almost as amazing to watch as the humming birds.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald_Rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Misleading name but Hummingbirds spectacular!”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Was bowled over by being able to stand an arm's length away from the hummingbird feeders and watch 25 of them at a time buzzing to and fro. Saw about 5 varieties and they're absolutely stunning and fascinating. Bit underwhelmed by the 'Adventure Farm' in other ways tho - it's small and would be better described as a natural garden than a Nature Reserve.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank KTandPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nature Reserve & Bird Paradise”
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This nature reserve is located on the south west of the island on the outskirts of Plymouth on the Arnos Vale Road. There is an entrance fee of 4USD which is approx 25TTD. There are local fruit juices on sale and you are taken along the trail by two guide dogs who are very friendly, they even wait on you all the way in the case you a slow trekker. The farm is opened Mon to Sat from 7am to about 6pm. You can see a variety of birds, local fruit trees, vegetation and lots of butterflies and iguanas. You need to walk with insect repellant as there are quite a few mosquitos even in the day time and walk with proper footwear as the ground is quite moist and you won't want to get mud on you feet. All in all it was worth the visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Viddhisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Scarborough, Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Adventure Farm and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing