We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant musicians - but ignore the hype!”
Review of Sunday School

Ranked #1 of 7 Nightlife in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular nightclub features disco.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant musicians - but ignore the hype!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The event 'Sunday School' had been hyped as a big party experience with plenty of local food/craft stalls and a great party atmosphere. Disappointingly, the reality did not live up to expectations. Thus said I don't want to detract from the amazing, enthusiastic and talented musicians. Go to listen, watch and enjoy authentic music but ignore the hype!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    15
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Sunday School is a bit of a weird one. We were there just after Easter Sunday and the Goat Races on Easter Tuesday so it was quieter than I imagine it usually is. There were lot of tourists gawping at other tourists, all waiting for something to happen. There were a few stalls selling overpriced and frankly mediocre food, with tables and chairs should you want to sit down. There were craft stalls. If you want to see a steel band and this is your only opportunity, go. However it'll be hard to get a feel for the steel band as it is all mic-ed and so comes through speakers much much louder, meaning it's also a little wearing on the ears. You'd do better to see pan players elsewhere. Later on the evening takes a seedier turn as the white woman / young local guy thing takes over - we left before we had to witness what is basically another form of prostitution. Would I go again? Sure. Go without any great expectations and you'll be fine. We went to a bar a bit further up the road (as you walk away from the sea, on the right) and the highlight of the evening was watching youngsters practicing on the steel drums at the back of the bar while we limed at the front.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lange park, Chaguanas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best event to go to on a Sunday Night!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First thing this has nothing to do with Church - it is a street party!
This party has steelband music, dancing and drinking and having a goodtime.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Murada Orihuela, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor food and lack of tourists”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went twice, the first time late February, when it was busy bot not crowded. Food we thought was only mediocre. The second time was mid March, the food was cold and far too costly for the amount and quality. lack of atmosphere did not make up for it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruggles-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
1 review
“good company”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

to really enjoy sunday school you have to go with someone who loves to socialize and not a party pooper there is something for everyone

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sasany46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunday School also viewed

Bon Accord, Tobago
Castara, Tobago
 

Been to Sunday School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing