We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to drive through”

Tobago Forest Reserve
Ranked #8 of 98 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1763 to combat European deforestation of the island, this was the Western Hemisphere's first forest reserve.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great to drive through”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We drove over the pass from the North to Roxborough. Absolutely gorgeous. We did a great hike with Emile Serrette the day before through the forest to Pigeon Point.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    48
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We learnt so much with Hans Phillips”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took our tour of the rainforest with Hans Phillips of Hans Tours. We immediately connected - he had a great sense of what we were looking to see and how to talk to us. And what knowledge - seriously Hans knew so much about the flora, fauna, birds and wildlife, many times on the walk he would take us back because he's seen or heard a bird that we would enjoy seeing.

He was also on great terms with the other guides and we spent some time chatting with him and one other about the differences between our countries and about how life in Tobago has changed over the years - this was stuff you'd never find in any tourist book.

The rainforest was a great adventure and Hans a great tour guide.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience great guide”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took a trip to the islands rain forest with the fantastic guide Peter Cox. We started early from the hotel (0630) to see the forest at its best. We booked our trip with our virgin rep who promote Peter Cox and we were not disappointed - Peter took a slow walk along the Gilpin trail and showed us crabs, spiders, leaf cutter ants, sleeping bats and numerous birds. Having a good guide is essential and seeing other parties in the forest without the correct footwear (Peter ensured wellingtons are hired) and guides that were just waltzing past some of the amazing things Peter bought to our attention proved that fact. The forest itself is definately worth a visit - the trees and waterfall are beautiful alone but then with the amazing birds and other wildlife to admire I would recommend a visit to anyone if you like any sort of nature.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Floella-Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rain Forest tour”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

very nice day in the rain forest we saw many birds and hiked through streams and deep into the jungle.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leiladoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“An Island Treasure”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I took a tour with Peter Cox and one other guest for a morning birding visit to the Reserve. It was an informative and delightful walk through the rain forest. We saw several Sabrewings, and the highlight had to be the courtship dance of the Blue-backed Manikins. Fascinating watching the males dance up and down into the air showing off for the potential lady love. I can understand why one needs a guide in the Reserve. We took the Niplig Trail so as to see the Manikin dance, and it would be hard to know where to go or what to see in that see of green.

It was a thoroughly lovely outing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Quiltingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobago Forest Reserve also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Tobago Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing