We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”

Tobago Forest Reserve
Ranked #8 of 101 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1763 to combat European deforestation of the island, this was the Western Hemisphere's first forest reserve.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I was touring Tobago and driving around the island. We took a turn and came through the Forest Reserve....it was cool and quiet drive. Driving through the mountains we could actually feel the coldness of the clouds... was an amazing experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    48
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birdwatching tour with Newton George”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was the highlight of my visit to Tobago and took in a large part of the island. Although birds are everywhere in Tobago, a tour with an expert like Newton George allows you to see so many more rare species and you learn such a lot from him whether you are a frequent birdwatcher or have birdwatching as an occasional interest. Newton George's tour is to be highly reconmmended from all points of view.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my home far away from home”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

just a very amazing place lot of people should make there holiday in tobago and the should be more advisitiment on forgine television i never there was a place like this until my friends from trinidad me there it is like the little heaven and very safe you could walk anywhere with you love ones and be happy

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful tour!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We recently hiked part of the Gilpin Trace on our trip to Tobago. We were accompanied by Junior Thomas, a local tour guide offering guided walks of the forest reserve. The hike was incredible! Junior is an extremely knowledgeable, charismatic guide who is very passionate about nature and living things. Our hike was informative and we felt that we could ask many questions - all of which Junior was able to answer. We saw many bird and plant species and really appreciated the time that Junior would take to stop and explain each element of nature. If you are considering doing a hike in the forest reserve I would highly recommend contacting Junior directly - you will not be disappointed! Sara and Ian from Canada, August 2012

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraCanada23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views at Every Turn!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We did a quick half-day self-guided driving tour, and have really only scratched the surface. We now realize we can spend an entire week in this part of Tobago alone, and appreciate the value of hiring one of the guides recommended by other TA members. We'll be back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobago Forest Reserve also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Tobago Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing