We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we did this but....what a start....”
Review of Buccoo Reef

Buccoo Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Tobago Buccoo Reef Glass Bottom Boat Tour with Highlights
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Glass Bottom Boat Cruise at Buccoo Reef
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Tobago Buccoo Reef Glass Bottom Boat Tour
Ranked #16 of 101 things to do in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 10-acre coral reef and the tropical fish that inhabit it have long been popular among tourists, but have suffered in recent years from the many visitors.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Glad we did this but....what a start....”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Driving into Crown in order to park to get onto a boat was a bit of an ordeal. We already had arrangements with the hotel we were staying in and so were looking for a particular person. As I pulled into park we were stopped by a large group of young men tapping on the window. Expecting to receive information about parking and such I lowered the window. WHAT A MISTAKE! The young men were shouting prices and when I said no and drove away to park they followed us to our parking spot!. At this point my whole group was shouting and locking up the car and heading to the beach and looking for the Captain. There is a booth that will sell you tickets, so you don't have to do business before hand. I wish I would have know, we paid 70 TT which looks to be about 10 more then the booth from what I see here.
Once we got on board it was about a 20 minute wait as the captain worked the shore looking for other riders. The wait was worth it.
Enjoyed all of the ride. Wish we would have know to wear our swim suits under our clothes, take beverages and food, a hat, towels, and sunscreen. We brought too much of the wrong stuff and my bag was soaked.
Still worth it. Would go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank timbit_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    14
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Snorkel to die for”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The reef is all it is cracked up to be. Such a shame if you are unable to snorkel because the marine life - coral and the fish are beautiful beyond belief. The colours are fantastic. You can wear a life vest and hold on to a rope if need be. I must have been the oldest by years. Getting back on board was a tad of a stretch for this old guy - but hey I wouldn't have missed this for the world. Brilliant

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go from Buccoo village”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

After having seen the herds of boast with live music and packed with people which come from Store Bay and Pigeon point I can only advise you: go to Buccoo village, 11.30 am. There is only one glassbottom boat from Christopher, for 20 Dollars a full two hours tour. Christopher has a lot of knowledge and takes you to the places where the other boats are not, to avoid crowding. Snorkeling is fantastic, as is the Nylon Pool. The whole Bay is a natural beauty with hundreds of Pelicans. Perfect day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "Toutally " (totally)Disastrous Journey with Island Vibes and Frankie Tours.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In March 2014, a group of four family members and one friend visited Tobago. On Friday March 7, we ventured off to Store bay to access a boat to take us to Buccoo a Reef and Nylon Pool. Unaware of the official booth manned by the Trinidad and Tobago Tourist Authority, we headed to one of the many touts deceptively plying their trade. One of the men who solicited us informed us that his captain would take us to five stops and we would be provided with rum punch and snacks and would be taken to five stops for $100.00. So we decided to accept his offer and made our way to the boat ISLAND VIBES.
As we approached the boat we realized we were heading towards the worst looking boat in the water. Nearing the boat we noticed that together with the name Island Vibes the web site, www. frankietours.com was painted on the side of the boat. Frankie tours was also painted to the front of the boat.From the onset the captain said he knew nothing about the five stops but he did reiterate that we would be refreshed with rum punch and snacks. He then went upstairs to steer the boat. It was quite apparent that one of the engines was malfunctioning as the assistant had the engine cover off and was continuously tugging at the pull cord, as he splattered water on our party and others nearby. Throughout the trip, the smell of fuel unhealthily permeated the boat as it simultaneously polluted the air. Another source of un healthiness was the bathroom, the door of which was slightly ajar allowing a stench to intermittently greet our noses.
After looking at the fish and corrals through the glass bottom, we moved along to the area for snorkeling. My party did not participate as there was nothing sanitary looking about the snorkels nor was there any method of sanitation between usage.
We soon arrived at Nylon Pool where we were informed that we could not stay as long as expected since we overstayed doing the snorkeling. We were aware that we had left for our trip later than expected as the tout kept sending more and more people to the boat.
It was about near 2:pm when we began our return journey, and since his next trip from Store Bay was scheduled for 2 p.m, our intuitive captain took a short cut and grounded the boat. He finally got the boat started and after myriad efforts "un grounded" the boat and thankfully we were back in Store Bay, parched throat and all as the promise of drinks and snacks never materialized.
Paying $100.00 for a vessel, as I am not sure I can class that as a boat, that sputtered all the way to and from our destination was a debacle.
I must say the moral of this convoluted saga is "Beware of wolves (touts) in Sheep's clothing." Visitors ensure that you do what we should have done and that is ho directly to the Trinidad and Tobago Tourist Authority Booth, but then maybe if the booth was more central and not positioned in the direction of the wash area, visitors will gravitate to it more readily.
I do believe that tour companies such as Frankie Tours must endure that any boat they hire do meet the expectations of their company, if there are any. Additionally the Trinidad and Tobago Tourist Authority has a responsibility to ensure that these tour companies such as Frankie's are transparent and accountable. The Authority also needs to "Detout" these fiends if they wish to make Tobago the Tourist Haven it should be.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stopped here for some time to snorkel during a day out with Alibaba. Lots of things to see and for the first time ever we saw a family of cuttle fish all floating around together which was enchanting. The big ones were in a group and it was like the youngsters were all in a nursery!

Lots of other fish but no luck seeing turtles this time. Water so warm could have stayed in for hours and beware as we are experienced snorkelers and we still got sunburnt. Need to wear a tee shirt or rash vest and also protect tops of legs.

will hope to return when we next visit Tobago. Certainly worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccoo Reef also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Scarborough, Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 

Been to Buccoo Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing