We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small place but a very enjoyable experience”

Genesis Nature Park & Art Gallery
Ranked #43 of 101 things to do in Tobago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Genesis Nature Park" is a home-based, family-owned and operated Petting Zoo set in a beautiful tropical garden with an in-house Art Gallery. Our focus is conservation and education related to nature and the environment. In existence for over 16 years, we have recently added five Guest Rooms to accommodate vacations and an Events Hall available for weddings, family events and other special occasions. Garden Weddings are a special feature.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A small place but a very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We love visiting zoos and nature parks whenever we have a chance, so this place was a must on our visit to Tobago. We were a bit disappointed when we arrived because it looked small, but we were in for a surprise!!! The owner takes you on a tour stopping by every animal, not only to tell you some things about them, but also to let you pet them and feed them - they even do some tricks! My daughter was so excited to make contact with the animals, as it is something you cannot do in a regular zoo. It was great family time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Petting Zoo”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Genesis Nature Park is located just after the coast line after Hopes Bay. It's a nice petting zoo and all the aminals are at the Home of the owner. The landscaping is really nice and very interesting with lots of local touches of history and art. The price for a tour is $30.00 TTD and it not that bad cause you get up close to the animals, some great local art work and sculpting by the owner and even a look at his international money collection. Even if you think the place is small dont worry the numerous persons that visit and even delegates from foreign that visit makes the place a privilige to see. The main scheme of things here is animal and plant preservation and the owner has won the Tobago House of Assembly Award on the Island for the great job done. So be sure and walk with your camera and enjoy!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Viddhisama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great reserve!”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We were driving around the island and saw a sign that said Petting Zoo, so we had to stop. It was well worth the stop. Michael, the owner, has turned his property into a reserve/information site for visitors and locals. He has a variety of local species of animals and plants that he has preserved and you can look closely at (including caimans and capuchin monkeys). Well worth the stop.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisStewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Unsung nature project - marvellous spot to visit”
Reviewed April 11, 2004

try and visit Genesis gardens whilst in tobago. It's on east coast road (claude noel highway) not far from Argyle falls. A private house and gardens, trying to preserve, breed and inform re. indiginous species with some success. Knowledgeable, friendly tour from father or son, plus small 'art gallery' with pics and carvings for sale by local artists (quality/talent variable!!). Well worth a visit, no funding given by government so entirely reliant on visitors.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenbeauty, Owner at Genesis Nature Park & Art Gallery, responded to this review, March 4, 2017
Thank you very much. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genesis Nature Park & Art Gallery also viewed

 
Mount Irvine, Tobago
 

Been to Genesis Nature Park & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing