We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Milanese Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tartaruga

La Tartaruga
Ranked #18 of 133 Restaurants in Tobago
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Milanese Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Greeted by the owner himself, a Milanese chef (and his wife), we 'toured' Milan with a broad assortment of authentic culinary delights: antipasti, meatballs, lasagna and cannelloni, pate and tapenade ... just ask for an assorted experience and you won't be disappointed!
The pasta (and every else) is made on sight. The ambience and the staff are excellent. This place is not open every night, but it is a MUST DO.
There is a specialty wine shop on premise (wines are hard to find affordably and enjoyable in Tobago).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    51
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Typical Italian with average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Normal italian food. Sort of average. Heavy on pasts with very limited options for main plates. I had grilled fish. Which was fine, husband had past which he loved (but he is a guy who loves pasta). Atmosphere OK. Service great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annabelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Finest Italian food I've had outside of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We sampled many of their offerings. The meatballs were truly delectable and the baked eggplant parm was spectacular. It is the finest Italian food I've had outside of Italy. The staff was very friendly and down to earth. Special custom meals were quickly brought out for the kids. I highly recommend stopping here on your vacation to Tobago.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aji00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super italian restaurant in Buccoo village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were super excited to discover this italian restaurant within walking distance of our guest house on our day of arrival, namely Christmas day. The chef is a true italian cook, has fantastic recipes and wines, and we had a fantastic unexpected christmas diner. We went back 3 days later and had again a great meal. I highly recommend this place.
Martine

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have made 6 visits to Tobago and never miss dining at La Tartaruga. Gabriela is a very gracious host, he always finds time to visit our table and explain what's on the menu, and always brings unique appetizers to sample. I always order the fresh liver Pate, Its a great way to start the meal, he also offers calamari which is superb.For the main course I love the seafood pasta, and like to finish off the meal with one of his many great desserts. He has lived in Tobago for quite a long time but has not lost his Italian accent, a very charismatic individual.
I find ambiance to be in keeping with this unique Island experience.
And last but not least his wait staff are very attentive they are very professional. Its a visit no one should miss if visiting Toagao

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barryw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tartaruga also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Crown Point, Tobago
 

Been to La Tartaruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing