We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word...buonissimo!”

Ciao Cafe' Italian Gelato & Bar
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In a word...buonissimo!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Heard great things about Ciao from a friend before going to Tobago so we decided to search it out for a meal. The first time we went for dinner on a Monday evening and ordered pizza, of course. We enjoyed fantastic pizza on our trip to the Amalfi coast of Italy a couple of years ago, and often comment on how we miss it. So we were most pleasantly surprised when our pizzas came out and we took our first bite! On this tiny island in the Caribbean we had found the same great thin crust pizza as in Napoli! Buonissimo!
It was so good we went back for lunch before we hopped on the ferry back to Trinidad. Just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal in Scarborough, it's a perfect location not only for ferry goers and anyone else looking for a good meal in town, but also for the entertainment value of "people-watching" while relaxing out on the veranda of the bar or cafe, which is on the right side.
Then, there's the gelato! I've tried my fair share in various places around Italy and elsewhere in the world, and I can say that Ciao holds its own in that arena too!
What more is there to say, just try it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Triggersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    45
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great pizzas”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family and I went on old years night for pizzas as we always wanted to give a try after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed, the owners were very accommodating and found us a table and the pizzas came very shortly after, they were very tasty and the kids devoured them :-)
Nice view overlooking Scarborough and the port, we were sorry we did not get to try the ice cream though as they were already closed for the night. All in all we were very pleased and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vbs2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid quality”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a small oasis in the middle of the day. Very cool air compared to outside. If you sit on the veranda you'll see a great deal of the action that is in town. Really good Italian gelato and really good coffee. Other than that there are sandwiches and other snack food.

Helpful?
2 Thank HannaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“try it”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The entertaining view and the nice (especially the little lady Adre) staff. We just took a Carib but our friends took the ice cream that was the best ice cream they ever AIT.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank atribago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool reprieve!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was hot hot hot outside in Scarborough but the cool interior of Ciao and their ice cream, comfortable seats and newspapers, real espresso machine (oh so Italian) really did it for us! Bellesimo!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Imtiaz H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Cafe' Italian Gelato & Bar also viewed

 
Crown Point, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Ciao Cafe' Italian Gelato & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing