We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seahorse Inn

The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 132 Restaurants in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fabulous beach side dining with fresh seafood, premium ingredients, an awesome wine & cocktail list, and great personal and attentive service.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been using this restaurant for the last 14years and after raving about it to a group of friends that we had brought to the island were aghast at the service and attitude this visit. We couldn't all fit in the bar so said we would sit outside where we were left for an hour and a half. The bar service was painfully slow to say the least, we finally seated ourselves at the table after waiting far too long, the starter was cold. The food was ok, not up to previous visits, no bread and butter, it arrived after our starters, bizarre wine service etc. We decided not to tip for obvious reasons and I thought it only right to speak to the lady who owns it to say why. I needn't have bothered, she pointed out it was all our fault as we sat outside and if there had been any other problems we should have called her over, whatever.
Don't waste your time or money, go to the Fishpot instead, at least their waitresses are human and the proprietor is approachable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonic1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    123
    41
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fancy with no good taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This rest is hidden away close to grafton hotel. We reserved balcony and was seated where they felt to seat us even though reservation was made 1 week in advance. When I asked the waiter he was INSOLENT and with attitude and withOUT patience barked "with over 80 people here we did not even begin to entertain the thought becaus if it rains it would be hell for us". We waited an hour and a half for dinner no one checked on us. We had an issue with one of the meals and although that waiter was the most friendly and polite to us of ALL, in trying to resolve our issue he asked another waiter ... the other waiter who was tending to another table sharing out ice ....cream spoons.... did not acknowledge him any of the 5 plus times he asked him. So we were left there like insignificant fools. Behind us...another table was stating that they were waiting very long.. (not half the time we waited) and the same insolent waiter said in a scolding manner "you will get your food just now!" The food was pricey with lobster NOT AT ADVERTISED PRICE of 250.00 but instead 355.00 andTASTELESS....We also took our cake (we went for a 25th birthday dinner) and upon leaving we decided not to bother to cut our cake as we just wanted to leave. The same insolent waiter dropped our cake on the table next to us and left it there. ... we will NEVER return.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality Fayre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great location in Black Bay, enjoyed Happy Hour cocktails for 30% discount, between 5.30-6.30, and then onto dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed. Good meat and seafood options. Well trained and discreet staff, pleasant surroundings. All in all a very nice experience. Dinner on the high side for pricing we have encountered so far, but well worth it :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACKC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views ...food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The atmosphere and the views from the upper terrace is fantastic. The food is over-complicated. Lobster salad for started had too many potatoes and not enough lobster, tempura was too heavy; tuna was perfectly cooked (rear) but too heavy on sesame coating. Vegetables were a disgrace (over-cooked and re-heated). Wish they had a simple fresh grill fish with crevices and fresh salads to start. Dessert was good but no fruit option.
This place tries too hard to be too much. Cost about 120 for two with two glasses of wine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annabelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My family ate at the Seahorse last holiday once I had gone home and raved about this.

We went there first nigth back on Tobago.

This is the BEST restaurant on Tobago by a country mile. great food, great location, attentive service and superb personl touch from the rastaurant owner - a lady from Lancashire!

Really- - this is Tobago at its finest

thank you - we will keep coming back again and again.

Perfectly positioned overlooking the sea on a quiet bay - everything I could wish for.

30 years ago it was the Old Donkey Cart restaurant in Bacolet which was the "posh" spot for locals or tourists - long since gone. Now it is you, the Seahorse. Terrific! (And if you want a wine list this is the best on the island (albeit not cheap) - thougn personally I prefer a local slightly sour Mojito in this climate and province.... good bar man too!

So - the Seahorse, the place to be, and to be seen to be, and (most of all) to savour and enjoy...

thank you


PS the locally caught prawns and the lobster thermidor =... mmmmMMM!!
I am definitely coming back at Easter....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_the_Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seahorse Inn also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing